We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent park, possibly one of the best we've seen. Great setting with lots of native wildlife, camp kitchen is huge and well appointed, facilities very good and clean.

Our en suite site was very clean and nestled in trees, we really did not want to leave.

Looks like there's canoe hire in peak time, lots for kids with free putt putt etc. walking distance to the country club for good meals and Arakoon national park is great.

SWR is one of NSWs best kept secrets, lots to see and do, just a magic place. Highly recommended. 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    92
    24
    12
    16
See reviews for
242
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I went here on a coupon deal with Groupon, We had a a coupon for a family cabin but seen as it was just the two of us we were allowed to get the honeymoon cabin. This cabin was a well apointed for couples and had a spa and private surrounds. I feel we had the best cabin in the complex. The resort had canoes bikes, and more activities however being a romantic getaway we didnt get do much more than the bikes canoes, and our own private spa bath. The staff were helpful and although the complex was large and had plenty of people there we felt like our cabin was quiet, private and a world away from Sydney. It was a great escape from the rat race and we enjoyed our 3 nights there.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and you are using a groupon voucher , try and book your accomodation midweek and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place was quiet eery, but interesting. This gaol is full of Australian History, that was not taught at school. The view from the guards tower is amazing. There is also a camping area here, so you can spend the night, and swim at the local beach.

Room Tip: This place is camping only, so you need to bring your own tent. There is no where nearby to purchas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJames828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

pool is great camp kitchen is good, the jumping pillow was a hit. the garbage bins straight opposite the powered sites next to the amenity were not pleasant. Overall the park is OK especially if you love sharing with mozzies and sand flies and having long walks to and from the beach and sharing the track with dog droppings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekargaradad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBguestrelations, Manager at BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we were pleased you loved our pool and camp kitchen and our great facilities, the company certainly has invested in its product to serve the family market.

We are reviewing location of our bins so thank you your suggestions on that, it is only through positive and constructive feedback that we can grow and improve our product.

The dog poo you refer to is actually not dog poo but kangaroo poo. We are surrounded by National Park and our friendly natives are home to kangaroo's so the droppings you would have seen from time to time would have been from our native animals.

With all the rain of late the mozzies have been around not unlike any coastal bush places. We have had extremes of temperature both sun and rain over the last couple of months, as you would know and has brought out the critters.

Once again thanks for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the park for 5 nights in September and really enjoyed it. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They put all the footy matches on in the cinema when we asked them, gave advice on the best paces to go and were really cheerful. The site is family friendly and quiet in the evenings. There are some really good beaches close by, we saw dolphins and whales whilst we were there. The fantastic local sports club provides a free taxi service to and from the park. Brilliant, I would certainly go back if I ever revisit OZ.

Room Tip: We camped, all pitches are large with free kangaroos !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calderhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Don't bother staying if you want to sit up with mates and have a few drinks. The fun police roam the park and make sure everyone is tucked in by 10:30. Unacceptable. Even on NYE, what a joke. You'd think for the price you be left alone.
Roads are not sealed so small kids can't ride bikes/scooters etc.
Pool surrounds are quite high so small kids can't climb in and out.
Cabins are fine but lacking some kitchen utensils

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madda079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBguestrelations, Manager at BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your comments we always love feedback, it fuels us to dig deeper into improving the experience we offer and is it only through feedback, because without it we wouldn’t grow, learn and improve. We would have loved the opportunity to hear from you whilst you were here as we would have worked to hard to look after you, our primary role is to make your time with us as care free and relaxing as you need.

Yes, we are a family business and pride ourselves to allow the quiet enjoyment of everyone in our care. Our policy is we don't have an issue if the noise is not disturbing the quiet enjoyment of others after 10.30pm we ask guests that they are respectful of other guests staying who are also on holidays and looking for a peaceful getaway too. As you can imagine at peak time we are trying to please a large number of people and our policies are set to cater for the majority of our guests. We do have a 10.30 pm curfew on all nights EXCEPT news years day and christmas eve. Our night caretaker and maintenance team were under instruction to allow guests the enjoyment of staying up to 1 pm and didn't quiet guests down on NYE until that time. Today, I have clarified that with the night caretaker and the maintenance team who advised that they started to quieten down cabins who were a little noisey at 1.30 pm, sometimes time gets away and maybe it felt like 10.30 pm.

If you popped up to Reception and had a chat to our Guest Relations team we could have helped you out with an amazing array of extra utensils depending on your requirements. We have a heap of utensils from our commercial cafe from serving trays, graters to electric beaters, whisks etc that we loan out to guests on request. We have provided a compliment of utensils that guests require and when we get feedback on specific utensils that are a must we integrate that into our plan for inclusion, it is impractical to supply a fully loaded kitchen in each cabin as we cannot predict what guests want to cook. If you have some ideas about what we should provide flick us an email at info@trialbay.com.au and you will be heard, and if you need something when you are here with us “just ask”, we get that everyone is different.....we are here to look after you.


Thanks also for your feedback on our roads, guests often tell us how they love the rustic bush charm we offer which includes our gravel roads, this year it is exceptionally dry in country Australia and it does get a bit dusty and for that we do apologise, although we are preying for rain.

We are currently working on our management plan for 2103, along with expansion of facilities and services to guests which we are extremely excited about which will knock your socks off!

Once again thank you for your feedback it is invaluable to us and like always, if you have any questions, we would love to chat with you.


Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning.

Enjoy your day and keep on smiling, life's too short. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Big 4 South West Rocks in Nov 2012 for 4 nights....then extended for a further 2 nights.
What a fantastic park. When we checked in we were offered an upgrade to an ensuite site for not too much more than we paid and we took up the offer.
We had a slab site which I miust admit was not level and we didnt have any chocks or levelling gear for the van however the maintainence man was so helpful he went off to find some timber, raised our van and then levelled it for us. What great service.
The park itself is very very good. One of the best actually.
Soooooo much for kids to do. Undercover jumping pillow and playground, great games room, a cinema (never seen that before but ity was fantastic and very cute), pools, indoor play centre. The list is endless.
Whilst the park is not on the beach as such, its access is very easy.
Fantastic bike riding paths to many beaches and into the township. Maybe 15 minutes with the young kids.
Overall this park is fantastic and the area is amazing with so much history.
Do yourself a favour and visit the area and stay at this amazing park
Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South West Rocks
1.5 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays South West Rocks
Ingenia Holidays South West Rock...
#1 of 5 in South West Rocks
354 reviews
18.4 mi away
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
BIG4 Nambucca Beach Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rockpool Motor Inn
Rockpool Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in South West Rocks
262 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
Ingenia Holidays White Albatross
#1 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smoky Cape Retreat
Smoky Cape Retreat
#1 of 1 in Arakoon
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park
Address: 161 Phillip Dr, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia (Formerly Trial Bay Eco Tourist Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > South West Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in South West Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks Holiday Park. Wake up to the gentle sounds of nature with the kangaroos at your door step, the call of native birds, the whisper of the breeze through the National Park and the hushed roll of the distant surf. Re-discover "life" with an extensive range of fulfilling possibilities whilst enjoying award-winning accommodation nestled amongst a truly eco-friendly retreat environment. Relax, recharge, rejuvenate and above all, experience good nature. Your kids will not want to go home after playing on our amazing facilities; Shipwreck Island Water Park, where the center piece is an actual boat with slides, a tipping bucket and Skull Cave near by..let their pirate imaginations run wild! We also have a games room, movie theatre, an undercover jumping pillow, two playgrounds, mini putt putt, half court tennis and go-karts. Happy kids = happy families! Our extensive and varied cottage, cabin, ensuite and site accommodation means that we have something for everyone. Multi-award winning property and Hall of Fame Recipient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing