We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTED, APPALLED AND OUTRAGED”
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DISGUSTED, APPALLED AND OUTRAGED”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Reading the previous review, I have a feeling the reviewer was talking about myself and husband... (The couple that arrived early in the morning)

I have never been so outraged to write a bad review about anything, or anyone for that matter, but the service (or lack of) at St Mark's had us so outraged we cancelled our booking for 3 nights ON THE SPOT- without even stepping foot into our room.

We arrived at St Mark's early morning after a 10 hour drive from Melbourne- needless to say, we were exhausted! As we were entering the lodge, we greeted the woman that ran the place (the one that all the other disgruntled reviewers are talking about), only to be met by a grunt. Ignoring this, we proceeded to find our keys- which, according to the confirmation e-mail, were going to be left on the front counter in an envelope. There was no mention of what time this would be. When we realised that there were no keys, we set about finding out who to speak to..it was then we ran into the woman again.. who rudely told me that it was private property and I shouldn't be walking past her room (which had the door wide open)...when I informed her that we had in fact made a booking for 3 nights and were looking for our room keys, she was indifferent to the fact we were customers, and instead, set about repeating herself about it being 'private property'... The situation escalated from there to the point where I was compelled to cancel our booking on the spot and threatened further action if she dared charged us a cent..

I have worked in customer service in the retail industry for 9 years and have never come across anyone so rude and obnoxious in my life.. if you're looking for accommodation with service, ST MARK's IS NOT THE PLACE

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shakz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    95
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
41
75
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Likes: Pricing, friendly staff, homely feel, sash windows and old features, street parking, quiet location but 10 mins drive from CBD and 5 mins from Coogee.

Dislikes: mattresses too spongey, no air con makes this hard to sleep in summer.

I use this in preference to city based hotels cos much easier to get to, good locale, free street parking, half the price. Don't go if you crave 4 to 5 star living though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidSeedhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were given a small room on the first floor and after the first night trying to sleep in hot weather realised that the celing fan did not work correctly. Spoke to owner/manager who was very rude and unhelpful. She eventually agreed to change our room. This room was much bigger and everything worked. It was only now that we realised that this room was a superior double room which is what we had paid for. The previous room that they tried to fob us off with was a standard double and cheaper than the premium room. We have travelled all over Australia on a month long holiday and this was by far the worst accommodation we have had. The rudeness we experienced was not a one off - we heard the same woman being extremely rude to another couple who had turned up too early to check in even though the hotel advertises that ifyou arrive early you can leave your luggage with them and enjoy your day sightseeing until check in time. The management at this hotel should take a course in customer care!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pburton58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Brissie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Not the Hilton but definitely excellent if you are just using lodge for sleeping.
Rooms neat and tidy and clean. Ceiling fan made sleep very easy. But if you are looking for a flash inner city suite then you will be a little disappointed. There are tea and coffee facilities and also a communal food heating area. Not bad for $113 per night.
Budget accommodation and I find in Sydney you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellonBrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The lodge was suggested by friends who had stayed there previously. The place was clean but the fridge was leaking and there was a large wet patch on the carpet. There was no power point close to the bathroom for a hairdryer and this made it difficult to dress for our function. There was no parking when we returned from our function late at night, so we probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticjusticiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We were lucky to have one of the rooms on the first floor. the room was spacious, including a very comforable kitchenette. there was no room service, so you can enjoy your stay all day long in the room without being disturbed by staff. the staff was more or less friendly and helpful. the lodge is located in randwick, 15 minutes walking distance from the beach, within a very nice and cool neighbourhood (many bars, restaurants, shops!). neighbourhood is quiet. there are about 3 public buses up to randwick, so no problem to get to down town and back. you can do your washing - the clothelines not the very best ones. if you are looking for party-backpacker: st. mark's lodge is NOT the place to find that!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SibylleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Nice quiet part of Randwick, free on-street parking, easy access to buses. The Lodge is a good option if you don't want to spend lots but don't want a backpacker hostel. There's a kitchen with microwaves, also toaster in room. Our only problem was that the 2 nights we stayed were very cold, and the room had no heating. Apparently heaters could be hired, but the reception was closed when we arrived Sat afternoon, and not open at all on Sunday, so there was no way of arranging one. But I'd happily stay there again, or would try out one of the other Lodges in the group.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
168 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#2 of 10 in Randwick
268 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 18 in Randwick
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Property: St Marks Lodge
Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing