We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good low budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good low budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

A nice little place to spend a few days away from the city. Easy to get a bus into town (20 mins) and plenty of decent shops/restaurants nearby. Our double room upstairs was good with cooking facilities, fridge,wardrobe, nice bathroom and ceiling fan. We were there when it was very hot and we had the window open and fan on and it kept room cooler, slept fine.
Could do with safety deposit boxes or a room safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloryhornetboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    40
    16
    15
See reviews for
40
74
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Recently stayed here, bit out of town but reasonably priced.
Room was ok but bit dated. Short walk into town you will find a variety of shops and a pub.
Smoking area out the back was rarely cleaned with overflowing ashtrays and empty bottles left there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brielks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Smallish single room with ensuite. Neat, clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Room got a bit hot though and didn't have A/C only a fan (which I didn't use as was a bit noisy for me). Bar fridge in room made a buzzing noise the whole time, apart from that was good.
Stayed one night, was good for that but not for more nights.

St. Marks Lodge very kindly posted my dental plate and luggage tag that I had left behind in my room.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has A/C in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff are friendly, the rooms are neat and clean. The Lodge is situated in a quiet street, away from the heavy traffic at Randwick.

For the price you generally pay in Sydney, this Lodge is a pretty nice comfy place and offers good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days early December by myself and the price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the surrounding area. The room was tight but had enough in there for my stay - kitchenette, table and chairs, wardrobe, ensuite, TV. Everything was clean and met my requirements. I was slightly put off when I arrived at 7:30pm and Reception was already closed up as I was expecting them to be open at 8pm and then had to fend for myself and figure out where to go for buses and restaurants etc. When I did speak to the guy on Reception the following day he wasn't very forthcoming or interested in how my stay was, but luckily I didn't have issues I needed solving. I agree with other reviewers that the ceiling fan is a bit annoying -either whizzes round noisily or goes round so slowly that it makes no difference to the temperature, so not ideal for sleeping. The hotel is in a good location, about a mile from Coogee Beach and 20 mins on the bus to Sydney Harbour so I felt I had the best of both worlds for my flying visit, If I had stayed there longer I would have made use of the kitchen bit upstairs (with microwave, toaster etc.) and the courtyard out the back. When booking, consider what you get for your money and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on January 4 2013. Budget accommodation with a smile. The lady was super friendly, checked me in and showed me to my room. Just a basic room with an ensuite, double bed, kitchenette, tv and fan. Parked on the street, close to the lodge, which was safe. Lodge was also an easy walk to nearby Randwick shops, restaurants, and public transport.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent a night at St Marks in early January. At around 2am a noisy group of guests who were obviously in Sydney to drink themselves into the ground returned from the bars and started having loud drunken conversations in the courtyard. The walls are very thin and sound carries throughout the complex. The noise continued for a several hours -- needless to say we got almost no sleep. In the morning I went to the front desk to check out. A neighbour and another guest were there complaining about the noise. The management's response was to be extremely defensive and argumentative -- it was not their fault, they had done everything they could to stop the noise, these kinds of noise problems happen every summer, there was nothing more they could do, etc., etc. There was not even a sign posted in the courtyard. The management's response to the complaining guests and neighbour troubled me as much as the noise itself. I have never encountered noise this bad, even in backpackers and youth hostels, and I have stayed in many.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 19 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Property: St Marks Lodge
Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing