We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation at a reasonable price”
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Rooms very clean and tidy. Staff very helpful. Bed and pillows quite hard. Missed having a face washer supplied. Very noisy at night caused by other inconsiderate guests. There does not seem to be anyone in the evening to control such issues. Room serviced every 2 days. Would stay again simply due to locality and in walking distance to most.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was probably my 5th or 6th stay at St Marks Lodge. It's my venue of choice when I visit Sydney. The room was clean and well presented. Staff were courteous and helpful. Only challenge was parking on the other side of the road outside St Marks - not something St Marks have any control over - however be warned the bats in the fig tree just let it drop (needed to visit a car wash). Notwithstanding will stay again.

Room Tip: Always check the web site - the double room was cheaper than the single room I was contemplating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice exterior presentation. Decent location and quiet streets. Clean and comfortable room. Only complaint is that the tv is wall mounted and one was mounted on the other side of the wall above our heads. Was just very unlucky that the neighbouring guest had the tv on till all hours of the morning and our first nights stay it was so loud I could hear every word of what was on. Just unlucky really! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0aminggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

2nd time staying at St Marks Lodge. Great rooms and facilites at a really reasonable price. Close to Coogee Beach, Randwick shops and restaurants and cinema at The Spot. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Value for money, location is not the best due to the steep hills and would be difficult for older people. Also the plumbing is loud and kept me awake some nights. After here we stayed at Randwick Lodge as it is a better location, but due to horrendous traffic noise wish we had stayed at St Marks again. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Even though the official sydney airport concierge said there wasn't a shuttle that went to the suburbs..we found one that drove us right to the Lodge's doorstep for 13dollars each.
Be sure to ask the drivers at the shuttle area instead of the concierge.

We were surprised at the prettiness of the lodge on the outside. Staff were helpful with information needed on how to get to the city/beach.
Rooms were lovely,beds extremely comfortable. Awesome place to sleep in and wake to birds singing

Downside: Busstops to e city were up & down slopes might be difficult for elderly or people with luggage. It was really dark at night and quiet if one is walking alone.
Hailing a cab with luggage was difficult due to the slopes leading to main road.

Very cheap and yummy Italian restaurant Isabella's 10mins walk from the lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobochachaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in St Marks Lodge whilst working at a local hospital. When I asked to transfer to closer accommodation sites, this request was fulfilled with no hassle at all. The location otherwise was quite good, with a 10-15 min walk to Avoca St which has many options for shopping and food.

The room itself is not huge but it's clean. Also, I would definitely recommend booking in advance. The value for money is decent considering it is in Sydney, but could be better. For those staying longer, note that cleaning here occurs every 5 days.

Room Tip: If you are wanting to visit Prince of Wales, Sydney Children's or the Royal Hospital for Women t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki201392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
0.4 mi away
Veriu Randwick
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Bondi Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alison Lodge
Alison Lodge
#8 of 19 in Randwick
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
High Cross Park Lodge
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 11 in Randwick
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing