We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Review”
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Why is there no rating between average and very good? makes review skewed as while not very good I would have rated good if it was an option - was told no off street parking, I ride a motor bike, would have been much more positive about the hotel if I had been allowed to park out of the way in the courtyard. other than that hotel fine for the money except maybe the bathroom in the room I had was too small. Location good, not particularly noisy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frillyknickers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website, the more affordable and easiest way to book!

We're happy to hear you found St Marks Lodge good value and comfortable. I'm sorry you found the bathrooms a little small, you're right, they are not the most spacious. I'm also sorry to hear you had issues parking your motorbike. Parking is a challenge in Sydney, us locals battle it everyday, sounds like you had a little taste of what it's like. I'm sorry to hear that, it must have been unpleasant if you're used to parking easily back home.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much value your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This lodge is an absolute diamond in a beautiful part of the eastern suburbs, close walking distance to amenities as well as the beach, it's hard not to come back here when in Sydney. The city is a 10 minute bus ride too. The staff are fantastic, so helpful and accommodating making your stay a pleasure. Our room was spotless with more than enough room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had five days at SAINTS and found it to be quite relaxing,quiet and handy to local venues.We would stay again for sure. One small difficulty however was the lack of suitable lighting to read under in the nightime. Probably better voltage on the bed lamps would suffice.

JF-SE M 23/12----27/12 ROOM 1

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for your comments about the lighting, I've handed this on to the Hotel Manager.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is located at a very convenient position that is close to UNSW, Sydney CBD and Coogee beach. The hotel staff, Antion, was very kind and helpful. We had a problem with our payment initially, he kindly reserved a room for us and also arranged a late check-out. The heritage-style building didn’t let us feel hot in summer. We will stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y_H2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 4 days here in late October and found it entirely adequate for our needs. In the first place accessibility was good. Express bus 400 from the airport for $4.50 took us to within 10 minutes walk of the Lodge with a 30 minute journey time - a fantastic thing rather than the very expensive journey via the City. And lots of buses into the City from nearby. All easy.
Lodge is set in quiet street (except for the birds!) with trees all around and only 5 minutes from great selection of restaurants and 10 minutes from the Randwick mall with supermarkets and other facilities. Again all easy.
The lodge isn't posh but is entirely adequate. Our room was large and although it lacked wardrobe space there was so much floor space it did not really matter. It was clean and had all we needed with food making/eating facilities close by down the corridor. The staff were not around much but were friendly and helpful when we did see them (a couple of minor housekeeping issues were swiftly dealt with).
All told this was a comfortable and good place to be for a short stay visiting Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room - preferably on the first floor. The birds will probably wake you early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a night before we were hitting central sydney for 7 nights.

We got the bus from central station to st marks which takes about 10 minutes.

The lodge itself is set in a lovely quiet road and looks like a grand old Victorian house.

On checking in the gentleman was friendly and he had advised us we had a free upgrade to a family room which was really nice after staying in some hostels so a real bonus!

Room was massive and shower lovely and hot,
bed comfy and clean along with tv and all the essentials I.e iron, fridge, kettle etc.

It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the restaurants, shops and mall/food court but just two roads so very easy.

Really enjoyed staying here as its was like staying in a leafy suburb which was really quiet and with it being 10 minutes from the centre it was ideal.

I would stay here again should I come back to aus.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Decent Comparative Value with other hotels - cost-wise. We came during end of winter, 2012. The Lodge looked to be a very large house once. We came in and left at off-hours, so the service was fine in setting that up. The room had high ceilings, but heating was not optimum. The birds/animals outside make quite a racket too, if disturbed. It is only about 12 min or so from Sydney airport which was convenient for time. Paid approx $107 AUSD

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pec95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Sorry about the noise from the birds, we'll tell them to keep it down. Sorry to hear you were on the cold side, we always have more blankets and heaters at reception.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Comments from our guests help us to improve ourselves as well as help future travellers to make travel decisions.

We hope you took a Guests with Benefits card with you when you checked out so that if you book directly with us again through our Sydney Lodges website, you'll receive a discounted rate, free WiFi and free late check-out.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Veriu Randwick
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alison Lodge
Alison Lodge
#8 of 19 in Randwick
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blenheim Randwick
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 11 in Randwick
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perouse Lodge
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing