We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for quick stay”
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
“OK for quick stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this lodge and we found that it was what we would expect for the price. The carpets could do with a good vacuum or better still replacing as they are quite old and grubby, the bed was clean and the bathroom was clean without being sparkling. Pretty basic but for the price we got can't complain.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a queen size as the double is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPogsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge good value! At Sydney Lodges we try to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in great locations for all travel budgets. It looks like we've done the job here!

We hope you were able to take a 'Guests with Benefits' card with you when you checked out so you can receive great benefits and discounted rates when you book directly with us next time on our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
41
74
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A refurbished Victorian-era lodge - like a small private hotel really - in a good spot in Randwick - 10-15 minute walk to restaurants, buses, supermarket etc. Room was nicely fitted out with modern ensuite, and small sink and crockery cutlery. (tho microwave and toaster are down corridor in shared kitchenette) so fine for doing breakfast. Helpful staff with important things like a bottle opener and wineglass! The carpets could do with renewing at some stage soon.

Room Tip: Double is yes a double bed - choose a queen if there are 2 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor to help future travellers with their travel plans and decisions.

We hope you were able to take a 'Guests with Benefits' card with you when you checked out so you can receive great benefits and discounted rates when you book directly with us next time on our Sydney Lodges website.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sydney Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found this to be a very comfortable place, nice clean room, good location with close public transport and nice restaurants. It was a great price, and the staff were friendly. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlibarli_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

We're very happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us during your visit to Randwick.

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Another fantastic stay - this time in a lovely courtyard room so we were able to eat our dinner under the stars. It's always quiet and the rooms are well presented and clean. Our favourite place to stay when we're in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges again at St Marks Lodge.

There really is no better compliment from a guest than a return visit. We're so happy you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at St Markls lodge. I was pleasently surprised with my huge single bed! I had all the necessities such as kettle, fridge, cuttlery ....
very quite street and nice area.
the staff are very helpful and friendly.
very close to aeroport (40 min bus trip of$ 4.50, from belmore rd.), very close to shops,restaurants,parks...
I would stay again however since they have no air con probably would avoid the really hot summer days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloryVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course, we do have properties in Randwick that are also part of Sydney Lodges that do have air-conditoning if you prefer this as an extra on your next visit. However, St Marks Lodge is definitely one of the most affordable accommodation options in Randwick.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you at one of the 6 Sydney Lodges properties in Randwick on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here and chose a master room for more space, as it came with kitchenette,(with fridge, kettle and microwave, cutlery and plates and tea and coffee making facilities) bathroom and single bed, sofa and table and 2 chairs, clock radio with ipod dock and flat screen TV, average cost A$120PN. They have singles, twins/doubles, family and master rooms and you can book online or by phone.
St Marks Lodge is the equivalent of a motel but in a lovely old two storey well renovated building. There are steps to reception and the second floor so not for wheel chair or mobility impaired clientele.
You are right in the middle of several bus lines with links to lots of local hospitals, Eastgardens Shopping Centre, the airport, central (for trains) and Circular Quay for ferries. Then you have a fantastic arrange of restaurants within walking distance. shopping centre with great green grocery for supplies, a movie theatre, grog shops, so handy.
There is a laundry and kitchen for rooms without kitchen facilities, and wifi is available for a cost $5 for 1 hour by memory, as we didn't use it. Checkin and out was easy and efficient.
Would highly recommend St Marks Lodge for long or short stays, as it's quiet, well located and has everything a visitor needs within walking or bus distance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

Thank you for taking the time to review St Marks Lodge on Tripadvisor. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. St Marks Lodge really is a fantastically great value lodge in a really convenient location.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for booking with Sydney Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

very conveniently located close to UNSW which is where we had to be for the week end, quite streets good size room, on second floor there were access to microwave & toaster so we can have food in the rooms which were just from up the road, all sorts of really nice cafe/restaurant, would really go back again thanks St Marks.

Room Tip: for family room we had a double bed, single roll away and a double sofa bed in a room that can fit 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at St Marks Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at St Marks Lodge.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return to St Marks Lodge. This lodge really is the quietest lodge of our 6 lodges in Randwick being in a bit more of a back street, which also makes parking a little easier here too.

Our lodges are excellent for those visiting UNSW, we're glad you found St Marks Lodge convenient to the campus.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you at Sydney Lodges again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
162 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
265 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 18 in Randwick
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Property: St Marks Lodge
Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing