We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Mark's Lodge was just comfortable. Could do with some upgrading.”
Review of St Marks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Marks Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“St Mark's Lodge was just comfortable. Could do with some upgrading.”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were disappointed with the Hot Water Service. Hot water was not available until after 9.00am. and we are told the best time to have a shower is in the evening. Most travelers like to get up early and get moving with a Hot Shower and breakfast. There is nothing worse than a cold shower first thing in the morning!!!! Not impressed!!!!
Also would like to point out that the bathroom in our room was very dirty and smelly.
Quite a lot of mould in the shower cubicle and around the floor skirting. Also there was NO place to hang a towel etc. No towel rack, no hooks, no anything! Had to hang our wet towels over the cupboards next to our bed!
Some maintenance is long overdue in St Mark's Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
41
74
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Booking was OK. the room was well laid out. I was impressed with the amenities i.e. comfortable bed and good bathtowels, iron & ironing board, microwave and dishes etc.
However, I purposely phoned ahead of my arrival to ask if there was an electric blanket and hair dryer in the roon. I was told yes, there was. There was a hair dryer, but no electric blanket on the bed and the room was very cold on arrival and freezing before long, especially as there was no heater and the weather was very cold that night (July 14th). As I had arrived after 8pm (as notified on the phone) there was no-one to ask, no 'out of hours' telephone number! It was a long cold night and morning! I thought a good hot shower would help when I got up - but the water was barely tepid!
When I spoke with Katie at Reception at 8.20am the following morning, she apologised, and said there should have been a heater in the wardrobe - she looked and saw there was none, and apologised. I realise it is not her 'fault'...but I was very unhappy and angry. I also find it unacceptable that "it is not allowed" (her words) to have electric blankets. She didn't seem to surprised or shocked when I spoke of the lack of hot water either.
I realise it is not 5 star accommodation and I think the place would have been perfectly adequate as it was clean and comfortable, but having one's basic need for warmth met should be a priority!
If the hotel management wishes to contact me, please do, I was the guest in Room 7 on July 14th.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kitty255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This lodge is average. Clean bed and clean toilet. One thing I liked most about the room is the high ceiling. The building is really nice too with different room types such as courtyard rooms. Though we got the room just opposite the reception. But however, it didn't really matter because we were out the entire day. There isn't any heater too so it could get quite cold during winter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaaalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We found the room musty smelling. As I have a lung condition that made it very uncomfortable. Also there was no heating which meant we had to have shower and go to bed at 7pm. The bathroom was'nt the cleanest. We were pleased with the sheets and towels as they were nice and comforable to use.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank flossfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our stay was short and sweet and Katie our Russian receptionist was great too. The kids loved the old building and told friends that we stayed in a castle. The accommodation was comfortable but definitely ‘no frills’. We were able to leave our car on the street as there were no restrictions. The kids were able to walk too and from the hospital as it was not too far.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MummyMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

second time we have used randwick lodges. love the location. easy to get free parking, room was soooooooo quiet. no noise to disturb us. quality linen.
location was great. walking to cafes, main street, etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyvisitor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Room was fine. Lady at the front desk was helpful. Location between airport and CBD. Would recommend this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jota-a-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
166 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#2 of 10 in Randwick
267 reviews
Alison Lodge
#8 of 18 in Randwick
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Lodge

Property: St Marks Lodge
Address: 37 Rae St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at St Marks Lodge, a boutique guest house close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 15 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a 5 minute bus ride from the lodge.The hotel offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and kitchenettes in every room. St Marks Lodge is also close to UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. St Marks Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Marks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing