We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Cross Park Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Cross Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Armidale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High Cross Park Lodge”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location, near Randwick Racecourse, Prince of Wales Hospital and Coogee Beach.
Rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was little on the small side but had a great shower and clean.
The lodge is located nextdoor to a pub with good meals.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Moth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge. Thank you also for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website, the most secure way to book.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    44
    14
    16
See reviews for
33
32
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KSA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The lodge is a coonected 2 old victorian houses joined and renovated to be the Hotel. It is stragically situated near prince of Wales Hospital and less than 2 km from cogee beach. A lot of public busses take you to Central, circular quay and Pondi Junction. Stop of the 400 for the airport is a pit further (Suitable if you have small hand bag or carry bag). Nearby Coles is a blessing for day to day shopping.
You have to struggle the stairs and corridors to your room (alone).
Rooms are on the small size and gets jammed if you have a big bag or sharing your double.
Rooms are equibbed with a kettle, toaster and a fridge. There are plates, mugs and knife,spoon and fork. Fridge has got no door and gets thick ice (not only in my room, but in 3 different rooms) Thawing the ice in between guests may help.
Beds are very comfortable. Rooms especially facing the street are very noisy from the frequent buses and noise from the pubs. Inside rooms are not that noisy but depends on your neigbours as the walls are very thin (and has ears). All door squeeks; room doors, bathroom doors and cupboards even 2 rooms away can be very noisy at night or early morning.
Rooms are only serviced once a week!!! Extra cleaning costs extra S20.00 So, get ready to collect your garbage, clean your room and preserve your towels for the week. If you don't clear the garbage daily, it attracts a lot of nasty insects and organic residue gets smelly.
Internet is miserable, you are better off getting a broadband from Vodaphone (After Coles supermarket), for 49 $ the SIM, the flash and 3 Giga for one month.
There is a common kitchen, microwave , washing machine (3 $ / run) dryer 3$/run, washing powder 2$/run.
My urgent issue was to find plug adaptor as I was from overseas. I was told they were all lent out though I did not see Foreigners in the lodge, this lasted for 2 weeks. I had to buy adaptor from outside.
For breakfast, I found it comfortable to get the toast or bread, cheese etc from Coles rather than to spend 8-12$ in nearby cafes.
There is no receptionist after 7 pm.
I did not have a chance or experience to compare other nearby properties regarding service or prices.

Room Tip: Whatever your request, they can guarantee the type of the room not the location. Rooms upstair and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge

We don't provide staff members to walk with you down the halls so you are not alone, as you have mentioned. Unfortunately if you're travelling alone there is nothing we can do to rectify this problem.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Bundanoon
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was an inpatient at Prince of Wales Private hospital and High Cross Park Lodge was so convenient and comfortable for my husband. The walk to the hospital only took about 5 mins and the double room had everything he needed. The bathrooms have been very nicely renovated. It's in a nice and well placed situation and would also be very suitable for people to stay and take the short bus trip to Central to enjoy Sydney especially for overseas travellers who also want to be close enough to travel to the Airport. Compared to lots of other Lodges, Hotels etc., the cost is really reasonable. I would have rated 5 stars instead of 4 except for the little refrigerator which did not keep very cold so the freezer section was really the only cold section suitable... If this was fixed I would have given 5 stars for sure... Would definately recommend High Cross Park Lodge to all.

Room Tip: Had no experience of other rooms but the upstairs double room we had was great with no noise at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney lodges at High Cross Park Lodge and thanks for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website!

We're happy to hear your husband found High Cross Park Lodge comfortable and conveniently located to the Prince of Wales Hospital. You're absolutely right, High Cross Park Lodge is also great for people visiting Sydney for vacation, as it's really close to the beach and only a short bus ride from the city centre.

Nooo the fridge! Can't believe it let us down from a 5 to a 4 haha. Nonetheless, we've noted the comments and are having it looked at. Thank you for letting us know!

We look forward to seeing you someday soon under different circumstances. We hope you and your husband had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A solo visit to Sydney as a guardian for an inpatient at Prince of Wales Hospital ... stayed 10 days a found this lodge to be clean, reasonably priced, very convenient to hospital, uni NSW and public transport. Would recommend to friends etc.

Room Tip: Would advise a double room as single rooms are very small, but again price comes in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHportmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge. And thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, where we have the best rates on the web and no booking fees!

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you under different circumstances one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This property is worth considering for its price range. It is easy access to/from airport with the 400 route stop nearby and only $4.60 fare. My twin room was fine but the washroom with shower stall was recently redone and the best part of the room. Balcony access was also nice but the street in front is quite noisy with usual traffic especially lots of buses. The building is quite old and so pretty disjointed with lots of stairs up and down - but that is to be expected in a property like this.

My biggest issue was with their WiFi internet access which is free as a repeat guest ... the signal strength was on the low end of high-speed, but most importantly all free access accounts became unuseable as all the allowance for data volume was used up ... so I couldn't get any access just when I really needed it to confirm my flight reservation details before I headed to the airport and get seat assignment, etc. Apparently, with all 5 accounts locked out, there was nothing the hotel desk could do except wait for the ISP to reset the accounts. This was unacceptable to me as a way of providing internet access ... each room should have its own account and separated volume limits so that 1 or 2 greedy guests can't hog it all. I was very disappointed and will not return to this property for that reason.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask to not have a room facing the street ... unless you like the idea of hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We'd also like to thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

I'm very sorry to hear about your internet problems. We've rectified this issue, it was a problem with the way the internet was distributed to our area of Sydney by the server used by the company we employ to provide access. I understand how frustrating this must have been, I do hope the reception team were able to check your flight for you so that you were on time.

I'm very sorry you experienced such a frustrating technical issue. I'm also sorry to hear it detracted from your stay so much that you will not be returning as a result.

We do hope you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a cosy lodge. The room is clean and tidy.

The air-conditioner needs repair as it was not functioning and the remote controller for the air cond was defective too. When I arrived, there was a sign saying 'receptionist will be back in 20 minutes' on the closed counter. That '20 minutes' seemed ages. It would be nice, if 20 minutes really mean 20 minutes.

There were only three car parks at the rear of the lodge. They were all occupided! The receptionist was not keen to show where the 'extra car park' was but she simply said: "there was an extra car park somewhere there with a sign saying 'no parking' but you could still park there." I drove there and found "no parking - tow away zone!" Anyone dare to take the risk to park there? I didn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

I'm sorry to hear about the air-conditioning, I have passed this on to the manager to have it looked at. Sorry about the long wait you had at reception, the receptionist must have been delayed while they were away from the desk. I apologise for this.

High Cross Park Lodge is in a beautiful heritage building however, one of the downsides to this is that when the building was built, there were no cars! So, there are only 3 bays at the rear of the building which are not able to be reserved because they're not in a locked garage. The pub parking next door is a great alternative, the parking there is meant to be for patrons but just go and have a beer there and you're set!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonville Coffs harbour 2450
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well worth looking into.........depending on your need........easy if you are in need to be close to a relative in POW hospital!

Your own small quite cute little room..........clean .........good beds.........no luxury, but all you need..........

Room Tip: ask for downstairs at the back...........very noisy traffic up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amaroosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

It sounds like you found Perouse Lodge very convenient being so close to the Prince of Wales Hospital and Sydney Children's Hospital. I'm glad you found the rooms comfortable. Sorry about the noise, I hope it didn't disturb you too much!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
136 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
162 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avoca Lodge
#11 of 18 in Randwick
124 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
265 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 10 in Randwick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cross Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Property: High Cross Park Lodge
Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing