We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Cross Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Cross Park Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Bundanoon
1 review
“Extremely convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was an inpatient at Prince of Wales Private hospital and High Cross Park Lodge was so convenient and comfortable for my husband. The walk to the hospital only took about 5 mins and the double room had everything he needed. The bathrooms have been very nicely renovated. It's in a nice and well placed situation and would also be very suitable for people to stay and take the short bus trip to Central to enjoy Sydney especially for overseas travellers who also want to be close enough to travel to the Airport. Compared to lots of other Lodges, Hotels etc., the cost is really reasonable. I would have rated 5 stars instead of 4 except for the little refrigerator which did not keep very cold so the freezer section was really the only cold section suitable... If this was fixed I would have given 5 stars for sure... Would definately recommend High Cross Park Lodge to all.

Room Tip: Had no experience of other rooms but the upstairs double room we had was great with no noise at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney lodges at High Cross Park Lodge and thanks for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website!

We're happy to hear your husband found High Cross Park Lodge comfortable and conveniently located to the Prince of Wales Hospital. You're absolutely right, High Cross Park Lodge is also great for people visiting Sydney for vacation, as it's really close to the beach and only a short bus ride from the city centre.

Nooo the fridge! Can't believe it let us down from a 5 to a 4 haha. Nonetheless, we've noted the comments and are having it looked at. Thank you for letting us know!

We look forward to seeing you someday soon under different circumstances. We hope you and your husband had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
33
31
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

A solo visit to Sydney as a guardian for an inpatient at Prince of Wales Hospital ... stayed 10 days a found this lodge to be clean, reasonably priced, very convenient to hospital, uni NSW and public transport. Would recommend to friends etc.

Room Tip: Would advise a double room as single rooms are very small, but again price comes in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHportmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge. And thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, where we have the best rates on the web and no booking fees!

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you under different circumstances one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This property is worth considering for its price range. It is easy access to/from airport with the 400 route stop nearby and only $4.60 fare. My twin room was fine but the washroom with shower stall was recently redone and the best part of the room. Balcony access was also nice but the street in front is quite noisy with usual traffic especially lots of buses. The building is quite old and so pretty disjointed with lots of stairs up and down - but that is to be expected in a property like this.

My biggest issue was with their WiFi internet access which is free as a repeat guest ... the signal strength was on the low end of high-speed, but most importantly all free access accounts became unuseable as all the allowance for data volume was used up ... so I couldn't get any access just when I really needed it to confirm my flight reservation details before I headed to the airport and get seat assignment, etc. Apparently, with all 5 accounts locked out, there was nothing the hotel desk could do except wait for the ISP to reset the accounts. This was unacceptable to me as a way of providing internet access ... each room should have its own account and separated volume limits so that 1 or 2 greedy guests can't hog it all. I was very disappointed and will not return to this property for that reason.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask to not have a room facing the street ... unless you like the idea of hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at The Bayswater Sydney. We'd also like to thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

I'm very sorry to hear about your internet problems. We've rectified this issue, it was a problem with the way the internet was distributed to our area of Sydney by the server used by the company we employ to provide access. I understand how frustrating this must have been, I do hope the reception team were able to check your flight for you so that you were on time.

I'm very sorry you experienced such a frustrating technical issue. I'm also sorry to hear it detracted from your stay so much that you will not be returning as a result.

We do hope you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a cosy lodge. The room is clean and tidy.

The air-conditioner needs repair as it was not functioning and the remote controller for the air cond was defective too. When I arrived, there was a sign saying 'receptionist will be back in 20 minutes' on the closed counter. That '20 minutes' seemed ages. It would be nice, if 20 minutes really mean 20 minutes.

There were only three car parks at the rear of the lodge. They were all occupided! The receptionist was not keen to show where the 'extra car park' was but she simply said: "there was an extra car park somewhere there with a sign saying 'no parking' but you could still park there." I drove there and found "no parking - tow away zone!" Anyone dare to take the risk to park there? I didn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

I'm sorry to hear about the air-conditioning, I have passed this on to the manager to have it looked at. Sorry about the long wait you had at reception, the receptionist must have been delayed while they were away from the desk. I apologise for this.

High Cross Park Lodge is in a beautiful heritage building however, one of the downsides to this is that when the building was built, there were no cars! So, there are only 3 bays at the rear of the building which are not able to be reserved because they're not in a locked garage. The pub parking next door is a great alternative, the parking there is meant to be for patrons but just go and have a beer there and you're set!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonville Coffs harbour 2450
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well worth looking into.........depending on your need........easy if you are in need to be close to a relative in POW hospital!

Your own small quite cute little room..........clean .........good beds.........no luxury, but all you need..........

Room Tip: ask for downstairs at the back...........very noisy traffic up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amaroosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

It sounds like you found Perouse Lodge very convenient being so close to the Prince of Wales Hospital and Sydney Children's Hospital. I'm glad you found the rooms comfortable. Sorry about the noise, I hope it didn't disturb you too much!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed one night for work-related trip. The place was clean and tidy with friendly staff at the counter. Towels, blankets and soap are provided along with pay-for-access to Foxtel and wireless internet if desired.

As I was driving with a hire car, parking around the area had a lot to be desired but given the circumstances of Sydney's population density around that area, it is certainly understandable. Watch out for the parking signs and their variable time limits. It did take about 10 minutes of circling before I found a place to park; albeit it was a Friday night and there is a great intersection of restaurants just 2 minutes' walk on Perouse Rd / St Pauls St.

Situated right next to Avoca St, noise levels could certainly be a potential issue, however as I was situated in the centre of the building, I did not experience this until the morning when nearby construction work unfortunately commenced (on a Saturday!?)

Room Tip: Room 212 is in the centre; parking's a little hit and miss if you are getting around in a hire c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arknepillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

You're right about the parking and trust me, it's even more fun for us locals! I hope it wasn't too much of a trouble for you. They say that a good parking spot in Sydney can move you to tears.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very close to the University of New South Wales. It was only a 5 minute walk to the conference I was attending at UNSW. The price per night was better than a hotel and the quality of the room was just as good as a more expensive hotel room. However, being a student, I had hoped to find cheaper accommodation. It was really great to have tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge, in case I bought any food that needed to be kept cool. Nevertheless, great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liptob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing] clean and comfortable rooms at a low rate is what we do best at Sydney Lodges.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We hope you took a 'Guests with Benefits' card so when you book with through our own website next time, you can receive some great benefits and discounted rates.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avoca Lodge
#12 of 19 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#7 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 19 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cross Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Property: High Cross Park Lodge
Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing