We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel but probably wouldn't come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Cross Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel but probably wouldn't come back”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wasn't impressed with this place but can't really complain since it was cheap as chips. The location is perfect for the Eastern Suburbs.. close to Coogee and the main strip of Randwick. The rooms were standard.. came with a TV, fridge, air con.. etc. But they were pretty tiny and not much room to move around. We didn't spend much time in the hotel other than sleeping because of this. Our bathroom window didn't lock either which was worrying. As i said.. it is what you pay for so i can't complain too much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.

I'm sorry to hear you did not find the size of the room suitable for your needs. Of course, we do have rooms such as the Grand Master Room which are larger than the Double Room you had booked, however this room type is quite popular and may have been booked out when you made your booking, I apologise if this option was not available to you.

I'm sorry the bathroom window had an issue. Actually, I know it appears that it didn't lock, however the windows (being sliding windows) can slide slightly out of place which makes it appear to not lock. I'm sorry if reception were not able to help you with this. It happens occasionally.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    44
    14
    16
See reviews for
33
32
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights this week and like an earlier reviewer said, 'You get what you pay for'. My twin room was clean and quite adequate - a good match for the price; the staff were friendly; the location very convenient for the hospital visiting I was there for; fairly quiet at night (renovation work during the day was sometimes noisy but that will end); I do prefer to be able to open a window but the reverse cycle aircon was good. I walked down to Coogee Beach once which took 1/2 hour, shops are 5-10 minutes walk, buses go into the city around the corner. Negatives: meal prices close by, kitchen with microwave was downstairs, be aware that most rooms will be up the staircase. My bathroom had just been retiled (nice) but was still smelly, I just left the extractor fan on while in there.

Room Tip: I liked having a room opening to the upstairs outside verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casual_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in High Cross Park lodge for the Easter weekend as my son is working in Randwick. The location is excellent,close to good eating places, buses & very safe.
My room on the ground floor was dark & in need of a makeover & a clean/new carpet.
The bathroom was fine & the bed comfortable.
It was reasonably priced & a good location especially if you are a solo traveller as it is so close to all amenities.
As I was travelling around Australia for a month, the Laundry facilities were most welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our room was on the ground floor - acceptably clean with a sweet cheery elderly lady tidying up in the morning; loved chatting with her the three days there. If you are there for the weekend, and waiting for the occasional rain to ease off before going out, stand by the reception and start up a conversation with Anton, I enjoyed it, and hope you do too.
Kitchen facilities - microwave, toaster (in the room too)- convenient.
Even better - walked to Coogee Beach, from Lodge, slow stroll, 30 minutes. If you are visiting your son who is studying in UNSW, it's easy to meet up (that's the reason we were there *wink).
Coles is a stone throw away for your grocery needs.
We took the bus to the city and Bondi; clockwork precision; check the schedule at the bus-stop.
Walked to The Spot, at Parouse Street junction, corner shop 'Ambrois', for $12.50 had a satisfying meal of grilled barramundi (fresh, really) with a choice Greek salad. The coffee was good, too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambleants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Yes the High Cross Park Lodge is not the Hilton but for what you are paying what do you expect Room was small Double bed not queen
Rooms need a good make over ...
Towels need replacing as I think they have had a few to many washes
Location for us was great as attending a wedding with in 2 minutes walk and was only for 1 night... Staff Friendly
To sum it up you only get what you pay for

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LASTANZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Sorry to hear you had some less than perfect towels. We use a linen company so we will definitely pass this on to them. Thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I didn't expect too much for a hotel room at this price in a very expensive city, and was grateful to find somewhere in my price range close to the venue I needed to attend.
I had a ground floor room which was poky and dark (window opens to next building which blocks out any light) BUT it was clean and well maintained. There was an unpleasant smell in the corridor and slightly in my room (used cat litter smell but could have just been dampness??) which really detracted; during the day the back door was opened which helped to air it but in the evenings it could be quite overpowering.
Despite the smell (which I don't know if it's permanent or I was just unlucky) and the small dark room, it's not bad value as far as Sydney accommodation goes. I was expecting a microwave in the 'kitchenette' but there was just a toaster and kettle which doesn't really enable self-catering.
Oh and it would be better if the TV was wall-mounted rather than sitting on the cupboard as it was very high up and difficult to watch.
Julie at reception was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozzywuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We've rectified the problem smell in the corridor, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We're very sorry that this detracted from your stay.

We've also replaced all our TV's with wall mounted LCD screens, so on your next visit you'll notice the room layout is a bit more comfortable.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed at Randwick Lodge, another Sydney Lodges property, several times. This time it was booked out, and we stayed at the nearby High Cross Park Lodge. We liked this better. There is a very useable kitchen with a stove, equipment, and somewhere to sit. The rooms seem to vary a lot. We were upstairs at the front, which was great. Roomy with a pleasant verandah and view. Being regulars, we took advantage of free Wi-Fi and late checkout. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_barcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

It sounds like you're a Guests with Benefits member, because you've stayed with us more than once. We're so glad you got to take advantage of the great benefits we offer to returning guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avoca Lodge
#12 of 18 in Randwick
124 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
266 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 10 in Randwick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cross Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Property: High Cross Park Lodge
Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing