We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this accomondation!”
Review of Alison Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alison Lodge
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Positive: Just a 20 min drive from the airport (35 Dollar).
Negative:
The manager is unbelievable unfriendly and unprofessional. She was everytime very rude. After 4 months of traveling this is our first accomondation where we did not feel us welcome. Here it is not allowed to use a deo or other aero sprays (otherwise 100 dollar penalty) because of the fire alarm, and 250 dollar extra if the fire alarm goes on. In the home rules stands, that the manager has got the right to come in the room anytime and if she finds a deo you will have to pay ... In the shared bathroom was a sign that it is not allowed to take a shower longer then 10 minutes and you should take it in the morning or afternoon. Everywhere are crazy penalties and rules like this. We just want to make nice holidays in sydney. This accomondation is definitly the wrong place for holidays. The room smells and unfortunately it is not allowed to use a room spray. Only the manager is unfriendly the other staff seems to be friendly

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Alison Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

There are places you rent and then, there are experiences you can't replace. I showed up in Sydney with an awful cold and just wanted a place to rest my head. Got this place off a typical hotel search but this place is anything but that. Super clean, excellent location and did I mention the Saint Joanna (the manager) is there to make any and everything accommodation for you.. She could see that I was in no shape to site see and took care of me accordingly. Lemon and honey teas, fresh blueberries and the sweetest nurturing care. I couldn't have made it without her. On my final day, my flight to NZ wasn't until the afternoon and she allowed me to rest with a warm blanket on the lobby couch until depature... Extremely thoughtful and one of kind.....So I guess what I'm saying is that, you can go rent a hostel or a high end hotel room and get away with it, but you would never receive the hospitality and concern for customers that the Alison Lodge offers and follows through with... Thank you again Alison Lodge and a special thanks to Joanna the Saint on Church St.... 5 stars no matter how you look at it. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Myself and my partner are currently in Australia on a WHV and we were tired of sharing a room with other people in hostels so we thought we would try out this lodge. We were firstly put into room 14 - which every morning we were woke up by pigeons, okay if you are heading off to work, not so good if wanting a lie in. Other than that good value. Small room - short term stay I would recommend, perfect for a weekend. Staff were very helpful. Clean and tidy, quiet. Close to shops and buses into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brownie4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I came to Sydney for a conference at the UNSW for a few days and was highly recommended for a friend who regularly come to Sydney ... , well was a really nice place to be very affordable, clean the staff very helpful & friendly and the bed was so comfortable., definitely I recommend this charming Lodge 110%
Cheers

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucky453-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank fumfumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markust85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
139 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
173 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Marks Lodge
#4 of 11 in Randwick
207 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 11 in Randwick
244 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#14 of 19 in Randwick
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Lodge

Address: 136 - 138 Alison Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range: $78 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alison Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alison Lodge offers clean and comfortable accommodation in the heart of Randwick. Rooms feature a TV, small bar fridge, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are available with both ensuite bathrooms and shared bathroom facilities. Alison Lodge is surrounded by numerous cafes and restaurants and is serviced by public transport. The property is close to Randwick Racecourse, The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children's Hospital and the University of NSW (UNSW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing