We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable lodging”
Review of Randwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Randwick Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked the 'standard double' room, and basically this is what you get.

The linen & towels were clean but you were not sure when you would get your room cleaned. We initially thought that you only get fresh towels once for your duration but then our room was cleaned the day before we left, with fresh towels. The room was OK but could do with a thorough clean, there were stains on the doors that had been there for some time & needed a good clean.

The air conditioning did not work & despite from day 1 asking for this to be repaired (or the correct remote control) as this was blowing out warm air. Despite raising this after the second day they didn't mention the remote & we just used the fan. If the temperature was warmer this would have been an issue.

Tea & coffee making facilities were provided.
Fridge, plates & cutlery provided, this was a plus as we could then purchase from the supermarket to save a few pennies!!

The reception staff were really nice & did accommodate us in checking into our room earlier, without charge.

Room Tip: don't go for a low floor. as the floors are tiled you can hear everything from the room above!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndaBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 250 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staff are helpful and friendly, only issue was a weak wireless signal in the heritage room (which they were aware of, but due to the heritage listing of half the building, there was little they could do).

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are part of the heritage listed section of the building and nice, other non-heritage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Randwick Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. Although it is a distance to the City there are good public transport options and it is so close to Coogee beach. The Staff are always helpful and attentive and the rooms provide everything needed at very competitive rates. I will use this accomodation again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights when visiting UNSW which is just a short walk away. The location was very convenient for me and the staff helpful. First I had a quiet room towards the courtyard but then there was a problem with the toilet. So the staff gave me another room, not as quiet but bigger and on the upper floor, so less noise from above. The house is very old and charming, that has the disadvantage that noise is coming through the walls from above or neighbouring rooms. I would ask for a quiet room towards the back or courtyard if I would stay another time, since the road at the front is busy. The rooms have everything you need, but it is not luxurious.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The room was nice and clean, but the picture we saw when booking made it look MUCH better than it actually was. TV reception was poor (not a big deal, but we did expect better), we weren't told about parking constraints or the cost of parking, and no one came to clean our room even when we put the "Please make up our room" sign on the door early in the morning. Still a good place, perhaps we just expected a bit too much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Randwick Lodge. we were given a small room at the back o the property which was thankfully quiet, however it was a connecting room and the door was locked but on the last night we had a part of drunks in that adjoining room that pretty much kept us awake most of the night - the adjoining door made it seem like they were sitting in our room with us getting drunk - not a nice call!!

The room was adequate with a queen sized bed and a single - they only clean the rooms every 3 days so we ran out of dry towels by then . The bathroom was designed by a blind man I think as it was totally dysfunctional - the toilet faced the wrong way and the shower leaked all over the room (thus the wet towels) and the basin was ridiculous.

however it was convenient for us as we needed to be a couple streets away and it seems much of their clientele is from hospital visits which is on the doorstep.

All in all it was adequate - I chose this room as the most expensive they had, so I wonder what the cheaper ones were like but it certainly did the job

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Early appoinment at PWH necessitated an overnight stay close to Prince of Wales Hospital. We found our Executive room ideal. The room was clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable There were a number of restaurants close by offerring a variety of food choices.
Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
146 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 11 in Randwick
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randwick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randwick Lodge offers accommodation in a beautifully restored, Heritage Listed building, in the center of Randwick, Sydney. Whether you are here for business or leisure, you will appreciate the central location, moments to The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Royal Women’s Hospital and the Nelune Cancer Centre. The property is also close to UNSW, Randwick Racecourse, Allianz Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, the Hordern Pavilion, the Entertainment Centre and Coogee Beach. Make yourself at home in the stylishly restored Heritage, Heritage Deluxe and Studio Rooms. Designed with your comfort in mind, the rooms are full of character and offer the convenience of modern technology and amenities including flat screen TV’s and free high-speed wireless internet. The property also offers a shared guest kitchen and laundry, conference room seating up to 14, a large open courtyard, and on-site parking for up to 8 cars. Breakfast lunch and dinner packages are also available. Randwick Lodge is conveniently located near public transport, travel to or from the airport or city via bus or taxi. Local restaurants, supermarkets and shopping are within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing