We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and good located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Randwick Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Randwick Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Wallisellen, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and good located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights when visiting UNSW which is just a short walk away. The location was very convenient for me and the staff helpful. First I had a quiet room towards the courtyard but then there was a problem with the toilet. So the staff gave me another room, not as quiet but bigger and on the upper floor, so less noise from above. The house is very old and charming, that has the disadvantage that noise is coming through the walls from above or neighbouring rooms. I would ask for a quiet room towards the back or courtyard if I would stay another time, since the road at the front is busy. The rooms have everything you need, but it is not luxurious.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    83
    65
    29
    29
See reviews for
69
55
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Callignee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The room was nice and clean, but the picture we saw when booking made it look MUCH better than it actually was. TV reception was poor (not a big deal, but we did expect better), we weren't told about parking constraints or the cost of parking, and no one came to clean our room even when we put the "Please make up our room" sign on the door early in the morning. Still a good place, perhaps we just expected a bit too much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Randwick Lodge. we were given a small room at the back o the property which was thankfully quiet, however it was a connecting room and the door was locked but on the last night we had a part of drunks in that adjoining room that pretty much kept us awake most of the night - the adjoining door made it seem like they were sitting in our room with us getting drunk - not a nice call!!

The room was adequate with a queen sized bed and a single - they only clean the rooms every 3 days so we ran out of dry towels by then . The bathroom was designed by a blind man I think as it was totally dysfunctional - the toilet faced the wrong way and the shower leaked all over the room (thus the wet towels) and the basin was ridiculous.

however it was convenient for us as we needed to be a couple streets away and it seems much of their clientele is from hospital visits which is on the doorstep.

All in all it was adequate - I chose this room as the most expensive they had, so I wonder what the cheaper ones were like but it certainly did the job

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Early appoinment at PWH necessitated an overnight stay close to Prince of Wales Hospital. We found our Executive room ideal. The room was clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable There were a number of restaurants close by offerring a variety of food choices.
Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Randwick Lodge makes a really well situated alternative to central Sydney. Near pleasant restaurants and shops, and a 15 minute walk to fantastic Coogee beach. Numerous buses pass the door making travelling around a simple matter. Easy to do basic self catering, reasonably priced, but the staff are just not welcoming or friendly, never ask about the quality of the stay, either in writing or in person. We were not told in time about arrangements to get in if we arrived after reception closes at 8, meaning our friends had to wait around for us outside the property to ensure we could get in. Little things like this marred what would otherwise have been a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try for rooms with access to the courtyard on the ground floor if possible. they risk being noisy, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Clean & comfortable room.
Arrived ( as notified ) after 6pm Sun, so needed to phone Matthew for directions for entry.
On return home I found an email (sent on the day of my arrival from NZ ) giving this info.
If this had been sent the previous day I could have avoided the cost & inconvenience of the phone call.

Room Tip: Best to avoid front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the last 15yrs. Very convent location if you have to attend a meeting at SCH or PWH. The rooms have been updated and are comfortable. Good service from the staff. I was phoned before my arrival to make sure I knew how to get in with my later arrival. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#8 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Property: Randwick Lodge
Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Randwick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randwick Lodge offers accommodation in a beautifully restored, Heritage Listed building, in the center of Randwick, Sydney. Whether you are here for business or leisure, you will appreciate the central location, moments to The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Royal Women’s Hospital and the Nelune Cancer Centre. The property is also close to UNSW, Randwick Racecourse, Allianz Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, the Hordern Pavilion, the Entertainment Centre and Coogee Beach. Make yourself at home in the stylishly restored Heritage, Heritage Deluxe and Studio Rooms. Designed with your comfort in mind, the rooms are full of character and offer the convenience of modern technology and amenities including flat screen TV’s and free high-speed wireless internet. The property also offers a shared guest kitchen and laundry, conference room seating up to 14, a large open courtyard, and on-site parking for up to 8 cars. Breakfast lunch and dinner packages are also available. Randwick Lodge is conveniently located near public transport, travel to or from the airport or city via bus or taxi. Local restaurants, supermarkets and shopping are within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing