We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, clean, updated and with everything that one would need for a short stay.”
Review of Avoca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avoca Lodge
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neat, clean, updated and with everything that one would need for a short stay.”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Avoca Lodge has been renovated tastefully and practically. A very comfortable stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
29
17
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I arrived earlier than I had expected and asked the hotel manager if I could check in earlier. I was advised that check in was 1400 but as check out was 1000 a room could be cleaned and I could check in at 1100.
However, when I returned at 1100 I was advised by a staff member quite rudely that the manager had decided to extend the check out time of several guests and that my room was no longer available to me at 1100 but at 1400.
I was treated very rudely by staff who did seem to care about giving me any customer service. I had to go to another hotel and pay for another room!
To add further insult to injury I had booked through lastminute.com.au and complained to them and they told me that management are refusing to refund my payment. Even though I did not get to stay in the room!!
I will never stay with this group again. There rooms are not as good as they advertise anyway because the standard rooms are no where near as nice as the expensive rooms they show the pictures of. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else where you will get customer service!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1976vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

wellington, new zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed here for two nights and was super fine. Good location and was clean and tidy. Bathrooms had been updated and all was great. I would stay here again. Although rubbish and towels were not replaced each day - but I think it was a case of do it yourself.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank zeefoodqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Excellent, clean and well managed... I stayed here over a period of 2.5 years and was always impressed. The current manager is excellent and very welcoming

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith_justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Our stay at Avoca Lodge was very good, and it is only a 10 minute walk to an amazing beach - Coogie Beach.
Avoca Lodge is situated on Avoca Street, which runs across and amazing shopping district for those looking for that sort of thing.
Buses run regularly from right outside this hotel to the city centre, and to 'Circular Quay' - the central bus and ferry terminal - which is also only a 2 minute walk from the very famous Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge.
The staff that we spoke to at Avoca were very helpful, and could not help us more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Clean and comfortable room, good security. Parking an issue. we are from the country and would have liked to be told the hospital parking was $20 per day. In our circumstances this was what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoulburnSassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed on a Thursday and Friday night. Room 208 is on quiet side of building. Away from Street frontage and an empty business carpark outside the window. Budget suburban accommodation. No manager on duty when I arrived or on checkout on Saturday morning but this was as expected. Bus ride is about 20minutes and $2 from the CBD so is do-able in order to get much cheaper accommodation. Tea & coffee facilities. My room was not made up overnight but did not check whether this was part of the deal or not - anyway it was not really a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
266 reviews
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
136 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Property: Avoca Lodge
Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge. Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing