We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, definitely not luxury accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avoca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avoca Lodge
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, definitely not luxury accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at Avoca Lodge twice recently, working at the local hospital. Location-wise, Avoca Lodge is fantastic. It is within very close walking distance to the main hospitals of Randwick (Prince of Wales, Sydney Children's, Royal Hospital for Women), shopping malls (including Woolies, Coles, miscellaneous retail, food courts), gyms, and cafes and restaurants. Randwick itself isn't too far away from Sydney CBD either.

I opted for the cheapest option possible, a single room. Even in the knowledge that it was budget accommodation, I was shocked at just how tiny it was. Size-wise comparable to a Formule 1 room. It got quite stuffy after a shower in the equally small bathroom, but I had to sacrifice privacy by opening the window and curtain, as my ground floor room opened right up to a busy GP car park.

Price-wise, I suppose it was quite reasonable considering its great location. Best of luck with parking (it's horrendous!). Mind you, it is in a busy area so that is to be expected.

One thing that was an annoyance was that a receptionist was almost always not present during its supposed opening hours. The 'We will be back in 5 minutes' was funnily deceptive. At one point, I saw the sign and came back in 5 minutes, but to no avail. I left and came back again, same thing. I was left knocking on the window to reception as I could hear people talking behind the door but was ignored. I had to call the manager on the 2-3 occasions that I needed to speak to reception. The manager always came within a few minutes of calling, but after a long and busy shift this was unnecessarily frustrating.

That being said, it was however very clean (aside from some dirty cutlery, which one would generally wash again themselves anyway). My room was also right across the small hallway to the communal kitchen, which was great.

Avoca Lodge forms a part of Sydney Lodges, a company which has many accommodation sites around Randwick. I probably wouldn't stay at Avoca again, mainly because Perouse Lodge (another Sydney Lodge site) is around the corner and similarly priced, but is that little bit nicer (stayed there also). Overall, it wasn't too bad. Book early to save some $$

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor - privacy is much better and the room is slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki201392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    38
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
26
16
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Avoca Lodge is near the hospital and the uni of NSW for those visiting those places, which was the case with me. But it would also be a useful place to stay for any visitor to Sydney especially if you don't, want to be too touristy. I used to live in this area, and loved it.Randwick has good affordable restaurants, a pub, supermarket and handy public transport. From hear you can go to the city, Bondi Junction (change for Bondi Beach), the airport (by local bus, the 400 I think, please check on 131500.com for all Sydney transport). From the lodge you can walk to an area called The Spot which has a cute old cinema. You can walk or catch a bus to Coogee Beach. At Coogee beach you can go to the Woman's Baths (female only sea pool) for about 20 cents. Keep walking and you come to an ocean pool called Wylies baths. Entrance is a few dollars. Enjoy a swim, then have a coffee looking at the ocean. For a day out in good weather do the Coogee to Bondi walk, or a portion of it stopping for swims and at cafes in Bronte.
I have focused on location in my review, because that is why I would stay here. However, my single room with bathroom was clean and as a solo female I felt safe. This is not luxury but I would stay here again when I next need to be in the area. I would try to get a deal on wotif.com as I think all Australian accommodation is overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuggedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge. Also, thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable place to book with the lowest rates on the web and no booking fees.

Firstly, I can assure you that the best rates online are always when you book direct with the hotel, and not through travel agents such as Wotif.com.

We're so grateful for the extensive review on the area you've given. We think Randwick is one of the best places in Sydney with such close proximity to the beach, the city and the airport.

Thank you for taking the time to review Avoca Lodge. We look forward to seeing you at one of the Sydney Lodges again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Before arriving in Sydney I contacted staff at the lodge and requested a room on the first floor and away from the road (as other reviews on this site suggested this as important). This is exactly what I got :-) I arrived for a three day conference late at night and the staff arranged for my key to be kept in the accessible outdoor safe. The room itself is nothing overly fancy but certainly gets the job done. The air conditioner works well, so even in the humid weather I've been very comfortable. Above all else the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in explaining directions and just dealing with all the normal customer service requirements. If I present at another conference at the unsw, I'll definitely be coming back as it's just a ten minute walk away. So if you come here anticipating that this is budget accommodation, and that the rooms aren't fancy, you can have a comfortable stay, cheaply and conveniently located close to buses, hospitals and universities. The taxi from the airport also only cost $25 which I thought was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge and thank for booking direct with us on Sydney Lodges website.

We're so glad you found Avoca Lodge comfortable and convenient. I'm also very pleased to see your room request was given, this must have made you happy!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was traveling through Sydney on my way to New Zealand and needed a flop on the layover between my flights.

Avoca was close to the airport and relatively affordable.

The general area the hotel resides in has some fantastic little restaurants and is abuzz at night so good for younger travelers or those looking ofr something to do at night.

If your not to fussy with your accommodation this will suite you just fine, it is reasonably clean and the bathrooms are big enough to swing a cat in :)

All in all unremarkable and not on my hot list of must returns, but better than a hotel formula 1

Room Tip: If you can get something upstairs do so or you will hear the floorboards creaking all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The rooms are clean and good size, quiet if away from the road. Internet works well. Location convenient, with bus service to central Sydney nearby. Randwick has a variety of reasonable restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the side, rather than facing onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesM5300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge, and for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We love hearing from guests, your comments help us to continually improve ourselves as well as future guests to make good travel decisions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for one night and found the lodge to be well located to the randwick shopping precinct, the hospital and coogee and also clean,roomy and comfortable and quiet. There is also a smaller set if shops very close which have restaurants,cafes, newsagent etc.. The parking is on street and it was ok finding a park,noting that many are three hour spots so you need to be aware of that in terms of possible tilts if inspectors are around. We would stay again for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzbuzzbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Avoca Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We hope you were able to take a 'Guests with Benefits' card with you when you checked out so you can receive great benefits and discounted rates when you book directly with us next time on our Sydney Lodges website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights last weekend and chose Avoca for the location of staying near relatives. Whilst the staff were great during the booking process and the place was easy to find, I probably would not stay there again. $160 a night for the queen and 2 singles (cheaper for the 2nd night) - the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom! Very noisy on the Saturday night - which is normal I suppose but the walls between each room are so paper thin, you could hear everything such as conversations, showers and doors closing. It served our purpose but will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeMac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Avoca Lodge.

We're happy to hear you found Avoca Lodge conveniently located and the team friendly. Sorry to hear you will not return to Avoca Lodge. Possibly you would find some of our other six properties in Randwick more suited to your needs. You can view all of these on the Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
High Cross Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#7 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Alison Lodge
#7 of 19 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Property: Avoca Lodge
Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing