We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”
Review of Avoca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avoca Lodge
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Convenient location to the Prince of Wales Hospital & shops. Avoca Lodge has a very helpful guest guide for the area.

Room Tip: Lodge has stairs to most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
29
17
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Overall I was reasonably satisfied with Avoca Lodge. The rooms are basic, no frills, but the bathrooms are clean and new. It is certainly not five star, but nor does it claim to be. It is perfcetly decent value for the money as far as accommodation in the Eastern Suburbs is concerned, but you may get better value in more touristy areas.

my only real gripe was the internet connection - it was so slow that it was unusable. I had work to do, and had to use my iphone instead. Also, reception service was nonexistent - I didn't see reception attended during my visit, although I didn't require their assistance, so I never called the number displayed. In fact, I didn't see another human being my entire stay, which I found a little strange!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Clean, reasonably priced. Very happy. Stroll away from a good range of food stores, cafes, restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Was at this hotel for 3 nights. There was no one on reception until 9:40am on the Monday (checking out day).

There was no servicing of the room.

Prior to me stay I received an email telling me that if I liked the Facebook page I would get free wifi and a late check out. This was not the case.

Room was basic and noisy.

Not value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriSugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The Avoca Lodge is a convenient stay to UNSW where I was attending class over the weekend. The room was very clean with ample space, comfortable bed and large clean bathroom. There wasn't an iron in the room however one was provided in a shared kitchen on the ground floor. If you are studying there is a desk in the room, however there isn't a desk lamp and the ceiling light isn't really bright enough for this.

Overall I slept comfortably and was happy with the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

no car parking even though it was advertised that parking was available
no staff available we did all our correspondence over our own phone to the number
advertised on the closed reception
had to cancel early due to operation delay and found rates very expensive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shardean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Avoca Lodge has been renovated tastefully and practically. A very comfortable stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
136 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
161 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
136 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
265 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Property: Avoca Lodge
Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge. Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing