We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a weekend at the waldorf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Randwick Serviced Apartments
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent two nights here and hardly managed to get any sleep at all. this was supposed to a relaxing weekend away but turned into a nightmare. Spent each day with my eyes hanging out of my head from not sleep. felt like is was being tortured. we had a roadfront room facing the racecourse and the noise is unbelievable, at night you can hear the cars coming from the top of the hill. I cant stress enough how bad the car noise is, believe me check before you book that your room doesn't face the main road or you will regret it. The rooms that face the back alleyway would probably blocked the car noise but im not certain.

The building fronts directly onto a very busy road that has constant traffic both day and night. The level of road noise was shocking, we thought at first that the windows were open - they were not! . Be warned also that this is one of those places that only opens it's reception at certain times. We requested an early check in when we booked on line, but arrived to find the door locked and a notice saying that reception did not open until 2pm - if you request an early check, an email to let you know it's not possible would at least be courteous.

Accommodation itself was clean but the carpet stinks and is mouldy and semi wet, not nice to walk on with bare feet, but otherwise generally a little tired and dull. Would have all been tolerable if not for the road noise. This place may be OK if you can get one of the apartments not facing the road, because of the location if you are going to the races. otherwise suggest you give it a big miss unless you have sleeping pills or like sleeping next to a noise dragway.

Room Tip: dont do the main road rooms unless you dont like sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the ground level for two nights. The money we saved from the very affordable rates we were able to convert for a comfy car hire and enough mileage to keep us going for the duration of our stay. The secured free parking was a big plus for us as we don't have to take out most of our stuff from the car for the evening as we have a small traveller with us. I've got a 2 & 1/2 yr old who doesn't fancy staying in smaller hotel rooms. She's got her own little backyard to play at as she is an early riser.
We tend to stay on self catering accommodations whenever we're away from home and this place was able to meet almost all our average daily house needs.
Very comfortable for 3 adults and a runaway 2 and 1/2 year old.
I'd never mind staying again here when we get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was looking for a relatively cheap place to stay in Sydney (as this city is expensive) for a family of 4. The Waldorf apartments ticked all the boxes for my stay and it didn't let me down. The 1 bed apartment was large enough, with 1 double bed in the main bedroom and a pull-out sofa in the lounge. The ensuite bathroom was large with a seperate bath and shower. The kitchenette had everything you would need and the added bonus of laundry facilities was great. Underground carparking was included in the price, as this can cost up to $30 night at city hotels. The location is good, midway between the airport and the central city. The beaches to the east are only about 5 mins by car and the Randwick area is lovely with a shopping centre within easy reach. Overall, I would very much recommend these apartments to anyone staying in teh Sydney area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property were very quiet. Alison Road is directly on front of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank P-Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for three days prior to a cruise. The location was good with easily accessible public transport. The manager was very helpful and attended to any concerns immediately. The apt was clean and the beds were comfortable. Only issues were uncomfortable couches made watching television in the evening less pleasant and lack of fly screens in the bedrooms meant sleeping without fresh air. On balance, we got very good value to money and would definitely stay there again next time we visit Sydney.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a room overlooking the car park as the apartment front a main road and this may p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TweedleDee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stopped Feb 2012

Mature married couple.
Clean, easily accessible and secure. Good facilities. free secure parking.
Wi Fi is to pay for
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you want a big patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neverhome63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We attended a concert at Football Stadiium in DEC and stayed 4 days here. As usual room and accommodation was great, clean etc. No issues with checking in and we even arrived before 2:00 pm. Minor issues with gates / garage door initially but all sorted quickly. The apartments i have stayed in ( 4 visits) have all had adequate kitchens, spacious lounge areas and bedrooms, and very very clean bathrooms. All have also had internal laundry's with dryers. They are also called Phar Lap Gardens. We had a 2Br apt ( King + Queen + Sofa +Futon ) rm 709. Resturants abound in East Sydney and public transport is close by. We actually found it easier to just get a MAXI taxi into town and back.... but there were 7 of us. I have stayed here on a number of occasions and it has been very similar each time. These are very much SELF service arpartments, and there is no daily service, That being said the managment is very easy to talk to and deal with . Very easy to recommend

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and views of the BAT migration. Front rooms have bigger balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This property says it's right on the Randwick race Course and and very near Univesity of NSW. Ask for a balcony room with a race course view- sit out with a drink and watch the passing parade .. Our apartment was very nice, and had a handy kitchen with sink and microwave, crockery etc. Very clean and tasteful,not your average size of hotel room.
Parking is undercover and secure, .. Bus into the city takes about 20 minutes hour, and the stop is a 2 minute walk. it is also near Coogee Beach areawith lots of great eating choices, and a good fish and chip shop right in the middle of the park on the beach. ..
I loved this property, and would like to stay for a week with my teenagers,next time we visit Sydney

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186605Jenny0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
143 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Randwick Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Randwick Serviced Apartments

Address: 34-52 Alison Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia (Formerly Waldorf Randwick Furnished Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range: $108 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Randwick Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Randwick Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing