We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip Off. Will never return.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysium

Elysium
Ranked #372 of 528 Restaurants in Randwick
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip Off. Will never return.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My fiancé, a friend and I had dinner here not long ago. We love eating out and have lived locally for years. We never mind treating ourselves to an expensive meal every now and then, because usually you feel and taste the value. Not here. The menu is pricier than some restaurants with chefs hats, the service was very poor and you would find a better ambiance in a morgue. A true rip off! Head to the Royal for a Steak with mushroom, beautiful feed at 1/4 the cost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayor888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location, nice atmosphere but over priced.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday evening. they have a different menu for week-ends. The service was good, but not much of a selection on the menu. Small portions and overpriced. We went somewhere else for desert.will not go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ticrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Elysium”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Antipasto platter a must, carafe of wine great value, next door to cinema....worth a visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Food tasted fantastic and was beautifully presented, we returned a few times during our stay.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice good value meal”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Made a visit to elysium on a cold Sydney winter's night so was attracted to the Cauliflower soup to warm me up and I was not disappointed. The soup came with calamari strips, roast almonds and amarrato jelly. The soup was great but would have been better without the jelly which detracted from the overall flavour of the dish. The main was pesto and herb encrusted Lamb shoulder confit on a sweet potato puree and sweet potato chips. Great value at $26 but would have been even better with a superior cut of lamb. The Chocolate and honeycomb Bombe Alaska with caramel sauce was excellent and capped off a great meal. Will return here.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elysium also viewed

Randwick, Greater Sydney
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 
Randwick, Greater Sydney
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Elysium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing