We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Comfortable”
Review of The Centre B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Randwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Centre B&B
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Enjoying a 6-day holiday in Sydney. We stayed at The Centre in Randwick for 5 nights. It is a historical great building with very basic accommodation. We stayed in Room 35, which is on the second level. The room was a good size for the two of us with a comfortable bed and clean. The bathroom is quite spacious with a large walk-in shower. There is tea and coffee in the room and small fridge. TV reception is not that good and there is a charge for wifi. They serve breakfast, which are the basic essentials one needs. Friendly nice staff. Local buses are right outside the building that run frequently to get you into the main hustle and bustle of the city as that was our aim to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for The Centre B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a course at the nearby UNSW Kensington campus. Although it is a Christian-run hotel, i am not religious and didn't find it in-your-face at all. In fact, the only religious thing i noticed was a small mission statement at reception. My room was spotlessly clean, well maintained and comfortable. There is a light breakfast provided, and a nice deck adjacent to the dining room that looks out over the yard. The Centre represents great value for the area, with easy access to the Randwick shops and UNSW.

They offer a special discount rate for students!

My only complaint was the incredibly loud snoring of a neighbouring guest, but i guess you cant blame the hotel for that!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

this guest house offers basic but functional rooms and a continential breakfast; its family room is great value; it is easy to drive to but also has the advantage of being on a bus route to the city, bondi and the airport (if going to the airport by bus make sure you allow plenty of time). both times we have stayed we found our fellow guests to be polite and quiet; a mix of pensioners/seniors and others who seem to have found the place by way of a personal recommendation and who want to keep it as the quiet safe haven that it is. i have given the place a very good rating not because it offers luxury accomodation but because it doesb't pretend to be something its not - it is basic quiet accomodation at the fair price. the are a heap of good resturants, shops and banks a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank basejump123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here with our family this last weekend & had a wonderful stay. Our room slept the 5 of us, had a microwave, fridge & sink, and bathroom. There is also a TV (although the reception isn't brilliant). The view from our room was AMAZING (we could see the city skyline of the CBD). The breakfast is cereal, toast & tea/coffee. There is a laundry, and there is also a pool (which looked very inviting, but given that it was very cold this weekend we didn't try it out). The staff were lovely - very welcoming and exceptionally helpful. The location is excellent - just 1 block from a lot of cafes and restaurants (and a woolworths supermarket). It is walking distance from the Randwick Hospitals and there is a bus that goes to Coogee & the city on the door step.

Room Tip: Suite 3 has the most amazing view of the city & a lounge area on a verandah. The downside is th...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I can agree with what the other two reviewers say however my rating is higher as the Centre is extremely affordable, clean and with great views of Sydney. And it is historic. I have frequently stayed with my wife at the Sheraton on the Park and it would be one of our favorite hotels in the world but I don't expect the Sheraton on the Park at the Centre.

It caters for an inexpensive and quiet stay in Sydney and there is a certain gentle and quiet ambiance that the staff and the surroundings offer which I find attractive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are away from the traffic
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The centre is located on the bus route to the city, airport, bondi junction, coogee and maroubra so is great for travelling to these places. It is clean and the beds are comfortable but the tv reception is not the best in the rooms. However a tv located in the lounge has a good reception.
The Continental breakfast is basic but if you want to get things to add to it Coles is only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed @ The Centre in mid-July. It was a cost-effective and convenient location for a conference I was attending at UNSW. The Centre offers reasonable ($103 AUD/twin incl. breakfast) accommodation within walking distance of the Kensington Campus. We did have a couple of issues which other travellers need to be aware of before booking:
- The Centre is a Christian centre, with visible signs of worship, and as such may not be appropriate for some visitors;
- The Centre indicates that WIFI is included. However, there is a fee of $5 AUS for 60 minutes and we had big problems accessing the service (I spent more time on line to the ISP than I was able to spend doing my own work!)
Breakfasts are continental, & are offered from 7-9 am only. There is a small pool which we did not use.

Room Tip: Things to know about when staying at The Centre
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Antonio8069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
139 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
173 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
271 reviews
St Marks Lodge
#4 of 11 in Randwick
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centre B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centre B&B

Address: 14 Frances St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Centre is an historic guesthouse located in Randwick, one of Sydney's eastern suburbs. We offer short term accommodation in single, twin and family ensuite rooms. Situated in a lovely quiet area of Randwick, The Centre is the perfect holiday getaway with all the benefits of being near to the city, UNSW, Prince of Wales Hospital, Randwick Racecourse, Moore Park, Beaches and Airport. Facilities include common kitchenette space, private swimming pool (Salt Water), Lift, BBQ facilities, laundry and off-street parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing