We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blenheim Randwick
Ranked #10 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Booking the room was easy and the receptionist gave me plenty of information about arrival times and what to do if we were outside these hours. The location is perfect for those needing to be close to the hospital with plenty of attractions and eateries within walking distance.
The major downfall is the cleanliness. It did not look like it had been cleaned since the last person used the room. There was still rubbish in the bin, hairs all over the bathroom and the carpet had not been vacuumed. This would be the perfect location if only it was cleaner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LushGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Blenheim Randwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 184 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Easy to get to from the airport - a 400 bus takes you right to the front door. Close walk to UNSW and Randwick shopping centers. This is a great place if you're planning to stay more than a couple of days - the shared kitchen and laundry facilities come in quite handy. Like many reviewers, I had trouble accessing the place... a word of caution to all: the back gate (which is where directions to 26 Blenheim will lead you) is often locked and reception will not answer the call box during office hours (which I do not understand). You can either call them or head around to their front entrance on High St.

The rooms are nice, and having a balcony is an excellent addition. The employees in reception were very polite and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

As everyone else has said, reception is slack and have the worst closing hours. You would think they would have reception for at least 7am-10pm. Luckily we knew we would be a bit late so we rang them and told them so they left the key in a safe for us to get. Kitchen is shared. Bus stop right outside which is a plus since its right there but the rooms have opening louver windows so you can hear everytime the bus goes by (which is very often). Bathroom/toilet has poor ventilation so its stuffy and smells bad. Shower door doesnt actually close shut, it just swings, so water goes everywhere on the floor and you end up with a wet bathroom and soaking floor mat. Bath towels dont dry well because theres no proper drying rack. Floor and carpet looked dirty. The toilet cleaner was rusted and gross. Would rather spend a little more and stay somewhere nice.

Pros: bed and pillows were very soft and comfortable. Cheap price. The shower head was a nice jet stream, sink was modern, close to city.

Room Tip: Choose room not facing the childrens hospital to avoid noisy buses
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mah0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Having read the mostly positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked the Blenheim Randwick through a hotel booking site so that we could be close to friends in Coogee Beach. We arrived on a Friday evening to find the reception closed, with a sign saying to ring an emergency number if we wanted to check in. So we rang the number numerous times, but no reply.

The sign on the door also said that if nobody could be reached, it would be because they were working in their sister hotel at the end of the road. So we lugged our suitcases to the other hotel, only to find that shut too. We tried calling two or three different numbers that we had for the hotel, but each rang out. We left a voicemail message asking to call us back, and headed to a nearby bar for a drink while we waited.

Two hours later, still no word from the hotel, so we were forced to find an internet cafe and see what other hotels were available in the area. We ended up having to book one that was $100 a night more expensive because it was the only one with rooms available in that area.

Needless to say, we didn't receive a call back from hotel staff the following day either. We were so angry that there was no way we were returning to stay on the Saturday night, even though we had been booked in for two nights.

Never before have I turned up to a hotel where reception was closed and nobody answered the phone. There had been no warning on the hotel booking site, and it's not as though we even arrived at a late hour. I obviously can't comment on the standard of the hotel itself, but will definitely not be recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Itchy_English_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Nice, new and mostly clean. "Community" kitchen and laundry very handy. Bathroom very small, and traffic noise in front rooms at peak times. Not many parking spaces. Was there for day surgery and was quite comfortable after surgery. Handy spot to buses. Eateries and Shops very close by.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms not facing High Street - can hear the buses very early in the morning.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Blenheim Randwick, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. It is very important for us to hear the opinions of guests so we can continually improve ourselves.

I'm happy to hear you found the location so convenient to the Prince of Wales Hospital. I do apologise if there was some noise from the traffic that may have disrupted you, Randwick can be a busy area at times.

Thank you again for leaving your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is great if you have to go to the Childrens Hospital (right across the road) or visit UNSW. It is quite new, modern and comfortable (except for the heating/cooling which is difficult to adjust). It is also close to a shopping centre with restaurants. However try not to stay on the ground floor which can be noisy (particuarly if you are next to the laundry/kitchen), and be aware that it is likely that there will be no staff on site, even within the advertised hours.

Room Tip: Anything above the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

While the hotel itself was very modern, clean and comfortable on my arrival - this did not last for my stay - the hotel advertises that the rooms will be cleaned and the linen changed every second day ( a practice that I wholly approve of) and this would have been fine if it had happened. Unfortunately during my entire stay (Sunday-Friday) not only was my room not cleaned, my linen not changed, but my rubbish wasn't emptied either. This wasn't necessarily a problem - but why advertise something that doesn't happen! I would have thought for the amount I paid for the room - I wasn't asking for too much!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear would be quieter - although this lessens road/traffic noise it doesn't stop ot...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
139 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
173 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 11 in Randwick
244 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
271 reviews
High Cross Park Lodge
#7 of 11 in Randwick
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blenheim Randwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Randwick

Address: 26 Blenheim St | (Main entrance High Street), Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $96 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blenheim Randwick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blenheim Randwick is a modern and sophisticated boutique style accommodation in the heart of Randwick. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi and private balcony. There is an on-site kitchen and laundry for guests to use, perfect for long and short term stays. Lift and stair access. The property is across the road from the Sydney Children's Hospital, and close to the Prince of Wales Hospital and the University of New South Wales (UNSW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Blenheim Randwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing