We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This beautifully presented old world hotel was one of the highlights of our stay in Sydney. Exceptionally friendly and efficient service. A lovely location across from a beautiful Sydney park and close to the things that metter. However the old world charm of the building and the rooms with all mod cons added to the experience. Will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy you chose to stay with us again and experience our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, lovely room. However, the two staff that dealt with me on two separate days looked like I had turned up there naked and covered in faeces! Guys, you need to up your customer service. I have stayed in much more and much less expensive places and had much better customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Russell197 .. Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative but in this instance, find your comment both ridiculous and offensive.
To make a statement such as “looked like I had turned up there naked and covered in faeces” is beyond all comprehension.
At times, Duty Managers come up against difficult situations but regardless, they strive to offer the best customer service possible. We understand that from time to time you may encounter one staff member at a Hotel who does not meet your expectations or overwhelm you with his or her charm but to say that both staff members (at check in and check out) acted in the same manner is outrageous and grossly misrepresenting our high standard.
We often receive very optimistic and positive feedback from guests pertaining to both room standard and staff services and our history reflects a high standard and rating.
We do, however, genuinely apologise if you felt our customer service was not to your satisfaction and we do take all comments on board and utilise them in a proactive maner.
Despite this questionable incident, I do hope you return to Avonmore on the Park Hotel to experience our full and satisfying service.
Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Avonmore On The Park Randwick is an older Hotel in a good location. Very quiet at night. Opposite a park that is suitable for children.. Short walk to shops and restaurants. Aprox 10 minute walk to Prince Of Wales and Sydney Childrens Hospital. We stayed in a twin room on level one. The room was small but adequate. Small kitchenette with plates, cutlery etc. Small table and chairs. Coin Laundry available. No air con in this room but did have a window over kitchen (needs a screen) as well as a ceiling fan. Beds comfortable. Linen good. Bathroom adequate with shampoo etc. Customer service excellent. Only issue for me was nowhere to park on arrival and the street was busy and narrow.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if stairs are a problem as there is no lifts.. Not much Parking only a few spac...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grevilleabrae5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all comments in order to improve our services to you. Unfortunately we are limited with our parking options as this is quite a busy residential area but we can normally find a space. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have a suite with sitting room and nice comfortable bed.
The decor is Victorian,clean and roomy with a small e suite.
Any one visiting from overseas is worth considering this set up and location.
It is a Cab ride from the Airport of about twenty minutes for about Fifty Dollars Australian.
The area is nice and central to explore from.
It is a very safe area with a Police Station just down the street on the next corner.
The Avenue is a one way street with quiet traffic flow,especially so in the evening.
Randwick has a number of different places to eat for all Budgets and tastes.
You will get a good feel for city life in Australia from this location.
There is a very safe bus system for access to the down town and the Front desk can help you with directions.
Randwick is pretty safe to wander in as a tourist and you are welcome to ask advice from any of the locals or shops if you are needing reassurance.
There is a small Mall with all the convenience shops you would expect,but nowhere to buy souvenirs.
For those you probably have to look at China town and Paddy's Markets or down at the shops opposite to Circular Quay.

The closest beach is walkable from the Hotel as it is down hill to Coogee.
Coogee is much smaller and friendlier than Bondi Beach.
Probably best to take a cab from the beach back to the Hotel as the walk back up is a bit of a challenge for the less energetic of us.
We have found the front desk staff to be polite,friendly and obliging.
There is limited options for parking,so Renting a vehicle is not a good idea if you are staying here.

Room Tip: We selected a bigger room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyRicoardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback .. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in a twin room with comfortable beds, good shower and no noise at night. Good location with wide choice of restaurants nearby. Only recommendation would be screen on kitchen window. We had several requests to reception and manager was most obliging and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 021055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback .. It is grately appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After arriving at this hotel and having trouble finding the entrance as there was a wet newly painted garden bench and an arrow pointing, left. There is no parking so you park in the street.We booked in and had to drag our bags three sets of steps up a steep staircase. All we wanted was a cup of cofee. No milk in the room. ( we found out milk was available at reception) There is no diningroom. We had coffee outside the hotel and when we returned I asked about using the computor, and was told wifi is to be paid for but doesnt work in my room and that I could go down to the internet cafe down the street. By this time we decided not to stay and I told the guy at reception of our intention to leave. He said fine hand in your keys and we will call it quits. Well we got charged for 2 nights even though we didnt stay there. (and its not cheap) There is nothing I can say good about this hotel. Even the location. Did I mention its next to a graveyard?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbey933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments .. In regard to the issues raised, I would like to correct some of the gross inaccuracies put forward.

We can appreciate that some initial confusion might have been suffered upon entry to the hotel due to maintenance, however directional signs were clearly posted informing guests of which way to enter.

You were informed that the room booked was on Level 2 (both at the time of check in and clearly via the Booking.com website) and the only access was via stairs. Upon check in, I made the offer to you to assist in carrying baggage to the room yet you refused help, stating that you would be ok.

All rooms have 4 small containers of long life milk. In the 'welcome note' handed to you at the time of check-in it states that FRESH milk is available at Reception.

With regards to the computer .. My Duty Manager informed me that the main reason for disgruntlement with the hotel was due to lack of computer work-station facilities. Nowhere do we advertise such facilities except for Wi-Fi internet connection to use with your own device, which was offered to you free of charge (fee normally applies). I don't understand what you mean by "wifi is to be paid for but doesnt work in my room" .. ?????
If computer services were such a huge issue, then perhaps a phone call prior to check in or even prior to booking, would have averted the subsequent disappointment.

Lastly, as per the Booking.com agreement and prior to the guest finalising the on-line booking, they would have noticed and confirmed the terms and conditions clearly stating that any modifications, cancellations or no-shows made within 48 hours prior to check-in will incur a 100% penalty of room charges. You were fully aware of the charges being incurred once a cancellation was decided upon. However, in being fair to you and your apparent disappointment, the decision was made to only charge a 50% penalty. Any other hotel would abide by their terms and conditions set out, and charge the full rate of the booking.

From our perspective, we remain disappointed in not meeting your expectations. The decision to depart was yours, leaving us with a room that could not be sold to others at such short notice. Had these issues been caused by any misleading advertising or other such thing, we would have assessed this matter differently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hostels and have had better sleeps! I had to drag my mattress from the bunk bed onto the floor that had the worst smell. Bunk bed was falling apart and the pillows were crap. Oh and watch out when u go for a shower. All my "clean" towels had stains on them. For what u pay this place is bad dont recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamaratravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. I welcome all feedback (positive or negative) in order to improve our service to you.
I do however, find your comments surprising .. as we have never has such feedback.
I am told be the Manager on Duty that after the first night a comment was lodged regarding the squeaky bed so he offered to move you into another room and this was accepted by you.
As for the 'pillows being crap' and 'watch out when u go for a shower' ... I don't quite understand this but it does sound good in the text of a complaint. Having said that, I will follow up your comments and investigate.
Again, thank you for your feedback ..
Regards ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
173 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
139 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,054 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $110 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel comprises 30 rooms and suites. 23 Elegant rooms (including two with disabled amenities), offering private bathroom facilities, LCD HD television, kitchenette, ceiling fan and heating. In addition, our newly renovated north wing now offers 7 fully air conditioned queen & king bed suites. These rooms also feature a private bathroom, work desk, flat screen tv and a host of modern comforts. Reception is open 24 hours on Fridays & Saturdays and from 7am to 11pm all other days offering taxi bookings, local maps, directions and general information. FREE Wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel.There are laundry facilities (coin operated) on the premises or a dry cleaning service is available within a short walk. Centrally located in historic Randwick, Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel is a luxurious fully restored, three storey late Victorian mansion. Originally built in 1888 by John Walsh, Avonmore boasts a permanent heritage listing and is reputed to be one of the largest terraces in Sydney. With the building just a stone's throw from the peaceful, tree-lined Alison Park, your stay with us is sure to leave you relaxed and satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing