We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old fashioned hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely old fashioned hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights over new year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend. We stayed on the top floor at the back of the building. It was so peaceful with no road noise, and no noise from adjoining rooms. Loved the old fashioned feel. Staff were helpful. Double bed was a little small, but comfortable - would have preferred king size. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette equipped with basic items suitable for preparing a light meal, with a table and chairs provided for dining. All rooms looked as spacious as ours. There was no a/c and no lift, but this did not pose a problem for us.Only very minor complaint was the poor t.v reception. Would've been nice to be able to pick up a news channel. Hotel is opposite a small park and within a few hundred yards of the cafes, restaurants, shops of Randwick, and the very frequent bus links to the city etc.

Room Tip: Less able may need a low floor room, as no lift provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that your stay with us was enjoyable.
We appreciate all feedback (positive or negative) in order to improve our services to you.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    64
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
82
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
597 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Historic old building with beautifully maintained gardens in tree lined quiet and peaceful setting. We opted for garden view room @AUD$160 pn - 1 night.

1st floor reasonably small room (only to be expected in old building), clean and secure with views over gardens - reasonable bathroom - with modern amenties - good water pressure - small un-vented window in bathroom (difficult to understand) with sign on door warning the bathroom door must be closed when using shower - otherwise fire alarm is activated - creating a AUD$450 penalty?

Double bed which is small when used to larger more comfortable beds - however, bed firm and comfortable.

Location for our purpose - > attending a 50th birthday celebration in nearby function centre was ideal.

Check in/out efficient - we eventually had to ask for 2 additional pillows to supplement the two provided - service friendly + efficient.

As previously mentioned by other reviewers - there are no eating drinking amenities at hotel - however - ample with a couple of minutes walk.

The room was adequately insect screened, however, in the morning found a very large cockroach in a shoe that had been left on the floor overnight - I appreciate that in Oz these nasties are likely to fly in at any opportunity!!

Would we stay here again ? Probably - due to the handy location and interesting surrounding suburbs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
We appreciate all feedback (positive or negative) in order to improve our services to you.
We do plan to improve the amenities of some of our rooms during 2013, by introducing queen sizes beds, new bed covers etc.
We are very happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The rooms are comfortable;;the bathrooms "neat", location great for transport; restaurants and shops nearby.
Feel safe staying here when travelling alone.

Room Tip: For convenience to city, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Other reviewers tell the tale: old world charm, friendly management and service, with good restaurants and public transport nearby. If you need huge screen TV air-conditioning, lifts, gyms, saunas and pools, you might consider elsewhere. But we're always delighted when we stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3shoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your very kind feedback .. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there last weekend. it is a very comfortable quiet location. Close to the gay venues we like to visit without being too expensive. Friendly service as well. MAnager gave us great ideas on what to do in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khairul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The management and staff at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, Randwick can't be faulted. From the outset, their helpful & courteous approach was apparent. The next occasion we require the use of a boutique hotel, Avonmore would be our first choice. Its a fabulous hotel to stay for a couple of nights and close to all amenities and the City.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The beautifully presented hotel gave us a wonderful experience during our three day stay. It is located close to a terrfiic range of restuarants and the staff could not have been more helpful. The highlight is the hotel itself which is old style charm beautifully presented. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Property: Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Address: 34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel comprises 30 rooms and suites. 23 Elegant rooms (including two with disabled amenities), offering private bathroom facilities, LCD HD television, kitchenette, ceiling fan and heating. In addition, our newly renovated north wing now offers 7 fully air conditioned queen & king bed suites. These rooms also feature a private bathroom, work desk, flat screen tv and a host of modern comforts. Reception is open 24 hours on Fridays & Saturdays and from 7am to 11pm all other days offering taxi bookings, local maps, directions and general information. FREE Wireless internet connection, limited convenience items (drinks, chips, nuts) and fax facilities are available for purchase from Reception. There are laundry facilities (coin operated) on the premises or a dry cleaning service is available within a short walk.Centrally located in historic Randwick, Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel is a luxurious fully restored, three storey late Victorian mansion. Originally built in 1888 by John Walsh, Avonmore boasts a permanent heritage listing and is reputed to be one of the largest terraces in Sydney. With the building just a stone's throw from the peaceful, tree-lined Alison Park, your stay with us is sure to leave you relaxed and satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing