We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the right "Spot"”
Review of Perouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perouse Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel rocks. Literally 100m from The Spot, which is an area full of restaurants and bars (all the ones I tried were of very high quality) and a very high quality patisserie. Not too far to walk to Coogee Beach either... Although buses come regularly too.

The room was small, but good and you are provided with a communal kitchen and laundry to use (at a small cost) that are both kept in good order.

The place is locked up like crazy though and the keys don't work very well. So if you're not back by 7pm (which is when the office closes) expect to stand at the door to the hotel for a while jiggling your key in the lock (15 minutes one night for me). Not great if your carrying take-away pizza!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_Humphries80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge. And, thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, where we have the best rates on the web and no booking fees!

We're really happy to hear you found Perouse Lodge comfortable and conveniently located. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with the keys. This must have been so frustrating! Our managers regularly check Tripadvisor for maintenance issues like these so be assured we are having this looked at. I hope the Pizza was still warm! If not, we owe you a pizza on your next visit!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 273 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everything seemed just average.

As noted previously, room smelt of bleach yet wasn't too overpowering and room was clean enough. We were in room 110 which was lower ground floor and actually under the coffee shop attached to the Lodge. This meant heavy footsteps and creaking floor from above us from early in the morning - not ideal.

Most annoying was being asked to stump up and extra $20 a night for an infants cot in the room.

There were plenty of restaurants close by, including an overabundance of Thai food places for some reason.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTIcedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thanks for booking directly with us through our own Sydney Lodges website!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're surprised to hear you were not happy with the Lower Ground SAVER Room you booked, which is advertised as a lower ground room.

We hope you will return someday and try some of our other room types which are lighter and more comfortable than the Lower Ground Room. The Lower Ground Room is great for people who aren't fussy and just want to save as much as they can on their rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Staff were great but room was tiny and unclean - carpet needed a steam clean and walls needed to be washed. Room smelt of bleach and this smell lingered for the two nights I was there. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooks529050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge. And thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, the easiest way to book.

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We're sorry about the bleach smell. We had some very serious spring cleaning done around the time you stayed with us which is why this comment is popping up in a few reviews. I have noted down your comments about the carpet and walls and passed them to the manager. These are things that are regularly done so I'm concerned that your room was somehow missed.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we do hope you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is our second visit to the Perouse Lodge, first time needing to be near Prince of Wales Hospital, second time needing to be near UNSW. What a lovely spot to stay when needing to be nearby to these locations. Left the car parked for the whole stay and walked or caught buses to the beach and nearby. Spoiled for choice of cafe and restaurants within walking distance of this hotel. If you are looking for clean comfortable accommodation with lots of amenities and services nearby, then you couldn't make a better choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, certainly one of the most hassle free and cheapest ways to book.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're very happy to hear you found location of the lodge convenient.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very welcoming lodge. Very helpful staff. Great location, especially to be near the Prince of Wales Hospital. Shops, cafes & restaurants are in the same street...you are spoilt for choices! The rooms are well appointed and are very clean. The beds are really good and it was quiet each night that I have stayed there. I will definitely be using this lodge again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REHamybamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, certainly one of the most hassle free and cheapest ways to book.

It sounds like you found Perouse Lodge perfect for what you needed. We love it when we get it right!

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we and future travellers get a lot of hearing from past guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel on 23rd January and we were happy with the twin room,. The service was good. Comfortable bed. No noise at night and good shower. Good location for anyone going to the UNSW as only 10 minute walk. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 021055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website, the most affordable and easiest way to book.

Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad to hear you found Perouse Lodge comfortable, convenient and friendly. We try to be these things to everyone, everyday.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed twice (two one-night stays) at Perouse Lodge over the Christmas / January holiday period. Although the room was small, it was useful for our purposes in coming back from the football (go Sydney FC!) and to go to Coogee beach and the local cinema at Randwick. The TV reception was poor on 2nd stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woldfield58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge. Also, thank you for booking direct through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the most affordable and easiest way to book.

It's great to hear you found Perouse Lodge satisfactory for your stay. I'm sorry to hear about the TV reception on your second night. I've passed this on to the maintenance manager to have this looked at. It's great to hear you found the location convenient.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We can't express how important it is for us and future travellers to hear from previous guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
142 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
178 reviews
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
283 reviews
St Marks Lodge
#4 of 11 in Randwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Address: 6 Perouse Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perouse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, boutique accommodation close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. The property has recently received a complete renovation and re-opened 29 December 2015. The brand new rooms are bright and modern. They feature premium bedding, free wireless internet access and air-conditioning. The property also has a guest laundry, outdoor BBQ area, large shared dining area and Kokkino Kafe right out the front. Perouse Lodge is surrounded by Randwick's best cafes, restaurants and bars, and a short walk to The Spot. Coogee Beach is also within walking distance, as is UNSW (University of NSW) and the Prince of Wales Hospital. Public transport services the area, with frequent buses to the Sydney CBD and Bondi Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing