We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perouse Lodge overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Perouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perouse Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Tahmoor, Australia
1 review
“Perouse Lodge overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here with my 13 year old to attend the Children's Hospital the following day. Finding parking close by was difficult as expected. On arriving the young girl at the front counter, though polite, was not very helpful. We received our key, no greeting and no information about anything. The room was very small but relatively clean, budget accommodation, the bathroom was larger than some I have stayed in, it was air-conditioned and has a small tv with 2-3 Foxtel channels. It was fairly quiet except for the window awning which banged a lot as it was a windy night. It is very close to the Hospital and to the food area of town and the cinema. It was certainly convenient and adequate for what we wanted, pretty much what we expected. My only real complaint was that the toilet seat was broken (cracked) which was a painful experience, it really needs fixing, and the bathroom floor was a bit grotty, it could use a good scrubbing. Overall a satisfactory experience, pretty much as described in the website. I would stay here again if necessary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

Thank you for letting us know about the issues in the bathroom. I have passed these comments on to housekeeping and maintenance to have these issues attended to.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    102
    84
    28
    17
See reviews for
49
82
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for a cheap stay in Sydney. The hotel is located about half our bus ride from central Sydney but has quite a few bars and restaurants nearby. It's also close to Bondi which is where our friends were staying. There is a cafe next door where you can get breakfast - but only if you have a spare hour as while the food is good the service is exceptionally slow.

The room itself was small but had a modern bathroom which was clean enough. On the whole pretty much what you expect and nothing more - clean room with basics. The staff were friendly and helpful although we didn't have much dealings with them. We managed to get one of the three parking spaces out the back which was an unexpected bonus!

I would come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're very happy to hear you found your stay comfortable and good value. It's fantastic to hear you would return to Perouse Lodge in the future, there is no better compliment from a guest! At Sydney Lodges we try to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation that is still modern and in a great location. It appears we've got it right with you, which is fantastic!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in one of the small bedrooms. Although it was pretty small it was perfect for us as we were gone sight seeing everyday. The bus stop for town and Coogee is right outside the door of the lodge and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. By having the fridge in the room we were able to have milk, cereal and fruit to have for our breakfast. We were also able to do washing before we left very easily! So all in all I'd recommend this place if on a budget and you want somewhere as a base while you explore the rest of Sydney.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear you found the location convenient and the room comfortable. Of course, we do have larger rooms than the Small Double Room which are only slightly higher in price but allow a bit more room around the bed. If you're staying for longer than a few days we always recommend booking the Double Room or Master Room, or even the 1 Bedroom Apartment.

We hope you got a chance to grab a 'Guests with Benefits' card on your way out so that you can enjoy free WiFi and a discounted rate the next time you book with any of the Sydney Lodges direct through our website.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for future guests to read about your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I chose Perouse Lodge to stay for a conference I was attending at UNSW. It ticked all the boxes: walking distance from UNSW (20 mins to the Law School), clean, quiet, and friendly staff. There is a cafe downstairs for a quick brekky, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're very happy to hear you found the location convenient, as well as the room comfortable and clean.

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Perouse Lodge was comfortable clean and in a good location for restaurants, buses, UNSW etc.The reception service was pleasant and efficient. The hotel was quiet apart from a bit of traffic noise with windows open. There is a cafe attached which is fine for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sputnikgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for booking with us and we look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Easy to find, affordable and very clean. Great location although parking is a bit hard and next time I stay I will be taking my own pillow as the pillows there are quite large and I felt like I was sleeping with 2 pillows. I will definitely be staying there again as it was stress free and quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Would suggest taking your own pillows as they are quite large and felt like I was sleeping with 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for booking with us and we look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location - very convenient to eating places, Royal hotel is next door, easy to travel to the city as the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Although rooms are small, beds are comfortable and bathrooms clean. Reception is friendly and helpful. There is no car parking on site, but street parking is available within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 11 in Randwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#11 of 18 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Property: Perouse Lodge
Address: 6 Perouse Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perouse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, boutique accommodation close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. The property has recently received a complete renovation and re-opened 29 December 2015. The brand new rooms are bright and modern. They feature premium bedding, free wireless internet access and air-conditioning. The property also has a guest laundry, outdoor BBQ area, large shared dining area and Kokkino Kafe right out the front. Perouse Lodge is surrounded by Randwick's best cafes, restaurants and bars, and a short walk to The Spot. Coogee Beach is also within walking distance, as is UNSW (University of NSW) and the Prince of Wales Hospital. Public transport services the area, with frequent buses to the Sydney CBD and Bondi Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing