We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpowering stench of wet rotten carpet”
Review of Perouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perouse Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked a double room and a single room for our daughter. The location was good being close to shops, bus routes, coogee beach and university of NSW.

The double room was smallish but was quiet and air con worked fine. Bed was large and comfy. Room was reasonably clean and overall was reasonable value for money.

The single room was abysmal. The window was shut when we arrived and the stench of
mouldy, wet rotting carpet was overpowering. The receptionist while very pleasant could not give us another room and promised that the cleaners would fix it up in the morning. The so called fix turned out to be opening the window and turning on the extractor fan. This made the room breathable - just, but at night with the window shut (to reduce the noise) the smell was terrible again by morning. Each day we complained to a new receptionist who was generally sympathetic but not at all surprised and had no suggestion. Perouse lodge was fully booked and so was accommodation close by. I asked to talk to the manager who initially agreed to see me but cancelled at the last minute, leaving a message that we could have a 10% discount on the room.

We had the feeling that the receptionists were trained to put up a nice front when dealing with complaints and that they had had plenty of practice at doing so. Ultimately they were unable or unwilling to do anything because of very strict management policies. Management was unavailable, unsympathetic and arrogant to the point of not willing to discuss the situation let alone help find a solution. Although our double room was fine we would not take the risk of going there again and would advise other travellers to be very wary.

The rating below is for the single room alone. To be fair the double room was satisfactory and if we had this alone the ratings would all have been at least average.

As an aside the taxi fares to and from the airport were $50-$60 rather than the $35-$45 Perouse Lodge suggests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 273 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

There were some good points and bad points to our stay. We expected smallish rooms, and that didn't bother us, and we thought the size was perfectly adequate anyway. We also liked having a fridge and plates/cups/cutlery in the room. Air con great and iPod dock too. Not so good points were the tv lacked reception on a couple of channels, cleaning staff talking loudly and making a lot of noice outside our room at 7:30am on Sunday, but most of all was the stench of chlorine/bleach in out room, mostly from the bathroom. They'd obviously done some major cleaning the day before, but leaving our mouths and throats burning at night. They managed to improve things slightly by the second night after our complaints, but still took a day for the taste to leave our mouths. However the 2 other couples in our party did not have any room smells. Great location. Beds comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The only 1 bedroom apartment is the best option if you want some room and are staying for more than a few days. It was ideally situated next to the reception area so had easy access. There are steep stairs to some rooms so difficult for older residents and to carry heavy luggage. We stayed for 11 days but there was no overall discount - we had to pay the varying nightly rate. The shopping centre, restaurants and public transport are all very close by. Towels are changed every second day as well as rubbish removed. Bed linen is changed weekly. The reception is only open from 8.00 a.m. - 7.00 p.m.
Negatives - parking your car will be a problem if the only 3 car spaces are being used. Off street parking has time limits. The Lodge is next to the Royal Hotel and patrons can be noisy at times. In the room, there were only 2 coat hangers supplied but hooks on the wall were available. The soap holder in the shower recess had been missing for a while and there was a slight leakage of water from the shower recess. After heavy rain, there was a puddle of water from above or below on the floor in the living area. The room issues were reported in writing to the staff so hope they have been acted on.
The apartment can accommodate 4 people but apart from the double bed, there would only be the couch in the living area and access to the bathroom would be through the bedroom.

Room Tip: From other reviews, it seems the other rooms are small and only suitable for short stay purposes. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed there for a night after a medical appointment at Prince of Wales Hospital. There was just myself and they were heavily booked so they upgraded my room to the deluxe room!
Very comfortable and very clean, and considering the central location there was hardly any noise from outside. I had breakfast in the little cafe downstairs. YUM!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Booked Perouse Lodge as its close to POW hospital for medical appointments. Our room was lower ground floor and small but satisfactory for the short time we were staying, it was pretty clean (few marks on the wall and spider webs on the ceiling) but bed linen was good and Bed comfortable. Shower was a problem in that the water ran straight out under the door and made the floor slippery and the steps up to bathroom Not good if you are bIt arthritic AND the toilet was in a tiny space! All in all we were pleased with accommodation as it was reasonably priced for location, close to the smoking area for my husband and the kitchen and laundry are very handy. We found our room quiet and had good AIR CON & TV.. The staff were pleasant and we would stay again If necessary as its close to shops and restaurants and being able to grab a Taxi at the Service Station next door is very convenient.

Room Tip: ask if all the bathrooms have steps up into them as I found that a bit awkward and if you are a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Booked Perouse Lodge after reading generally favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. It's relatively affordable by Sydney standards and the location is convenient for shops, restaurants, bus routes etc if you don't need to stay right in the middle of the city.

We stayed in one of the slightly cheaper "lower ground floor" rooms. This was a mistake. While I didn't see any other rooms, the room we stayed in was small for two people (although not the smallest I've seen) and it was very noisy. There was a small smoking area directly outside the single-glazed window where people congregate to talk and smoke late into the night. The smell of smoke can be addressed by closing the window but the noise is unavoidable. When there's no one speaking outside plenty of noise comes from the room above to make up for it! We struggled to sleep.

Others have commented on the cleanliness of the accommodation, but we didn't agree with this. The powerful chemical odour when we arrived suggested that the room had been thoroughly cleaned, but this was only superficial. We encountered a mouldy hunk of broccoli on the floor by the dresser and the shower felt slightly grubby (hard to tell if it was due to stains or dirt).

Our room contained a high step up into the bathroom (and we needed to descend stairs to reach the room too) so it's worth checking in advance if you have mobility trouble.

We read somewhere that there is limited parking available. That's a generous description... there are 3 spaces for the entire hotel. If you arrive at the right time perhaps you'll get one, but someone else will take it as soon as you move your car. On-street parking nearby has a 2 hour time limit during daylight hours so you may have to move your car regularly or pay for parking a couple of blocks away.

We definitely won't stay here again: Even at the "affordable" price we paid we've stayed in much better accommodation in Sydney. But perhaps worth considering if you request a quieter room and your main criteria are the location in Randwick and a low price. If you're a light sleeper, claustrophobic or particularly concerned with cleanliness then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pukeko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

On checking in the lady at reception was cheerful and professional and made us very welcome. Stayed on a Sunday which appears to be the cheapest night of the week and therefore better value. Requested a quiet room but got one second from the front on the noisy side of the building. The courtyard below can generate noise from people on mobiles or just having a good time. Thankfully it rained which dampened their enthusiasm. Must say when the windows are closed it cuts out a lot of the noise. The hotel appears to appeal to backpackers as well as others. Internally it can be noisy as well. We were situated next to the door which leads to the below ground level rooms. The door creaks and shuts with a loud bang. This was used several times during the evening. Hallways could be freshened up a bit.

The room itself was OK. Not very big but we managed. The bed was great and had high quality exceptionally clean (new?) linen. Air conditioner was very efficient. Overall good value for money considering the excellent location. Did not try the kitchen or laundry facilities. This hotel is a couple of minutes walk to The Spot which has many eateries. Usually a haunt for uni students, you can find good value there. Would have liked to try Kokkino cafe out the front but had to leave very early. It looked nice.

Parking was a little confusing. There is no mention of parking on official website when you book. Wotif website stated there are a few on site parking spots. The parking must have been taken away from the hotel recently as on receiving confirmation of my booking it stated no parking onsite was available and that the closest parking area is Ezi Park at the Ritz cinema for $15 per night. There are a few parking spots out the front with a 3 hour limit up to 6.00pm.

Overall I would stay again at the Perouse. I would try once more to get a back room on ground level.

Room Tip: Choose a room on ground level, thus avoiding stairs as there isn't a lift. Choose a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
142 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
178 reviews
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
283 reviews
St Marks Lodge
#4 of 11 in Randwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Address: 6 Perouse Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: $105 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Perouse Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, boutique accommodation close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. The property has recently received a complete renovation and re-opened 29 December 2015. The brand new rooms are bright and modern. They feature premium bedding, free wireless internet access and air-conditioning. The property also has a guest laundry, outdoor BBQ area, large shared dining area and Kokkino Kafe right out the front. Perouse Lodge is surrounded by Randwick's best cafes, restaurants and bars, and a short walk to The Spot. Coogee Beach is also within walking distance, as is UNSW (University of NSW) and the Prince of Wales Hospital. Public transport services the area, with frequent buses to the Sydney CBD and Bondi Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing