We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent cabins, great advice from staff, excellent location, More than 3 & half star value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lane Cove River Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Just saw this park has been voted best in Australia. Well done!! And I can confirm I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I wanted something inexpensive: That's what I got. I wanted something close to the city: That's what I got. The amenities are great: clean, bright & airy. Been coming here for a few years, off and on. Very friendly & helpful staff. Great atmosphere. I don't usually get involved in online reviews etc but I feel the previous person has written a review that is unjustified.
Last time I stayed here was after I saw the previous review so I decided to actually ask for some of the things he wanted. Late checkout: no problem. All I had to do was ask. I stayed in a tent but if I was in a cabin I could have had a late checkout until 4 for $50.
I agree with the previous reviewer in one aspect: not recommended for a romantic getaway. But if I'm taking my partner away for a romantic weekend I'd do it with a bit of style... not on the cheap. Duh.
We went on one of the regular night time wildlife tours. Saw heaps: bandicoots, brush tail & ring tail possums. And baby brush turkeys, lorikeets & kookaburras during the day. There's a saying that comes to mind: some people can't see the wood for the trees!
I've stayed in one of their cabins before and it was fine by me. And I appreciated sleeping in a queen bed.
Look, if you're looking for somewhere close to the city that's inexpensive, clean, comfortable and something with a bit of space as opposed to a cramped motel room, this is the place to be.
And if you want a taste of the bush yet be close to all conveniences: perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliveallen2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneCoveCaravanPark, Public Relations Manager at Lane Cove River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2009

I would sincerely like to thank everyone for their comments. I would also like to mention that we take ALL responses seriously & actively try to improve our park at all times. We look forward to seeing everyone who has visited us in the past, sometime in the future as well. Best wishes, Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Lane Cove River Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 245 of 245 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2009

After reading the review and then the response, I felt I would respond. You get what you pay for. My wife and I stayed in a small cabin, our friends shared the cabin next to us. the park is lovely, it should be it's a National Park. We were very dissapointed in the actual lack of wildlife that we could see, and yes we went for several very tiring walks, (wasn't happy with the misses about that one).

As for the cabin, would say very basic, cant stand sleeping in a queen bed let alone a double that felt like it was nothing more than foam, yes hot water was great, even if the fact it felt like the water from the last 10 years had eaten all the support beams away, atleast it was warm and plentiful. Well stocked kitchen, and old style air/con, so you pay for quietness, but if you need heating or cooling you get 100 decibels of air con noise pumping into your cabin, and surrounds.

wasnt happy paying for friday and saturday night and having to leave at 10 in the morning, surely park could have w/end package where you get to stay later, considering we did pay for the w/end. As for whether I would stay again, the value is good, just not really my cup of tea place for a break

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banjo266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Stayed in a cabin after seeing the park featured on a holiday show. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. What they neglected to mention on the TV show was, power pylon next to some cabins and a beautiful view across the road to the cemetery. Plenty of aeroplanes overhead morning and evening as well.

Otherwise a well maintained park with a nice cabin and a firm mattress (which I like). Take your own pillow if you like some softness. I forgot mine and regretted it.

Proximity to Lane Cove National Park was the draw card for me. Great for walks or a paddle if the your lucky enough to find the boat shed open.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravanandcamping, Public relations manager, projects officer. at Lane Cove River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2008

Hi,
Just needed to correct a few details about the review.
Yes, we have 3 cabins of 28 that are NEAR the mentioned power lines but NOT under them.
We are a National Park so NO animals are allowed.
And the average price quoted for a cabin is wrong.
We are extremely popular with older guests and families as well as younger people.
But not well suited for a single traveller like your reviewer.
The cemetery makes for quiet neighbours and is well screened by trees.
Overflights by aircraft are rotated to effect all areas of Sydney so you can have a week or so without any planes at all.
Guest was here December 07 but neglected to say we do NOT have peak rates or a mimimum stay.
Location is only 10 kms from the city centre in a natural bush setting very well seviced by public transport.
Multiple awards won by park related to customer service and the environment.
Majority of our guests are repeat clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank CamperMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Francois-alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
0.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
948 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
2.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Cove River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Cove River Tourist Park

Address: Plassey Road | Macquarie Park, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in North Ryde
Price Range: $174 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 12kms from the Sydney CBD, the award winning Lane Cove River Tourist Park is the perfect destination for your next visit to Sydney. The park has everything for your city adventure including 1 and 2 bedroom ensuite cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes, tents, campertrailers and campervans. We are just a 10 minute stroll to the North Ryde railway station and bus stops. Convenient and regular, the public transport options provide easy access to the city centre. Lane cove River Tourist Park overlooks the vast Lane Cove National Park withh rowboat and canoe hire, picnic spots and 40 kms of bushland trails to cycle or explore. Stay near the city, yet feel like you are miles away at Lane Cove River Tourist Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lane Cove River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing