We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful park, back to nature with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lane Cove River Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights on a powered site with our caravan. Very well positioned park, close to supermarket, fuel and a new clean and what we found to be a safe train station which makes getting into Sydney very easy. Park was clean and tidy, ammenities arent brand new but still, we had no complaints. Usual pool, tv room etc. Staff friendliness were satisfactory. Park is run by National Park Officers. Lots of wildlife in park which really gives it a back to nature feel. No road noise. The only problem was that we didnt get a very clear tv reception in our caravan, that isnt the parks fault it may just be us tuning in our new tv properly. We look forward to staying here again very soon

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 249 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in lane cove caravan park at the start of our 12 month round the country trip. It is a good location for getting around Sydney, & is definitely the best location when compared to any of Sydney's other camp sites. The train station or bus stop is a short walk away, & are 1 stop from chatswood (for all shopping needs) & only a few stops from Sydney city centre.

There is very little of any interest within walking distance of the park, so public transport or a car will be necessary to see anything worthwhile of Sydney.

The park has 2 camp kitchens & plenty of amenities blocks, and a pool as well as the usual tv room & Internet room. All shared facilities were kept wonderfully clean, & the grounds were always tidy & well kept.

If camping or caravanning, this is the only place I would consider staying in Sydney, due to its location, cleanliness & value for money. The only complaint I have is how unfriendly &, in fact, rude some of the women on the front desk are. 2 ladies in particular seemed annoyed on any occasion I was forced to approach them (which was not frequently & never for anything unusual or demanding), & 1 even approached us on site, accusing us of not paying & being on the wrong spot! The reason we were on a different spot to what WE had originally asked for, was because THEY double booked us on the day we arrived, & therefore had to move us. As a result of their error, we lost out on a concrete slab, not that we complained - but maybe we should have. They obviously didn't update their systems accordingly, & then very rudely brought the problem to our door, without asking any questions (or offering any apologies once the error had been realized) abruptly accusing us of being trespassers! These 2 women had a reputation as other campers knew exactly who we talked of, & each had similar complaints regarding how they had been spoken to. It's a shame, as other than their attitudes, the place has a nice feel to it, & other staff members seem very friendly.

I would return, but like I said, mainly because its a no brainer location wise, & it's clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Dollydoll3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Traveled around Australia and have never stayed in such a noisey camp site in my life. My stay surprisingly states that we are carbon neutral but don't let that hood wink you in believing this is true as the planes keep on flying past at 2300 feet above your head all day long. My advise is to stay out of Sydney for as long as you can, then get a room somewhere quiet east side of town.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgydigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent this weekend camping here with family. Had a wonderful time and will definitely return. Bathrooms were always spotless as were the camp kitchens. At night, there is a free tour through the park with a ranger to see wildlife. Definately a must if you go as both kids and adults will enjoy it. Yes there are planes going over, but it didn't affect our time at all. Customer service was great and all questions were answered in a friendly manner. Next door, you can hire boats and bikes to go exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahjane255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to this park for the last 3 Easters, it is great for young children. It is very handy to the city a short walk down the road and you have the bus and train to the city, or where ever you want. We have been to royal Easter show from there on the bus. This park is clean and full of wild life. Really nice cabins, great camping, can't fault the place we will return and recommend any one who wants to experience the city without the hustle and bustle this is for you, great rates, not city rates.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, in our campervan, back in 2011.

We found the pitches to be good, with excellent amenities, good wifi and a large laundrette.

The park is near to a train station to get you into Sydney, and a shopping complex/cinema just up the road.

Great wildlife and birds. I managed to have a flock of some crazy multicoloured birds land on me and steal bread from me one morning. Scary but amazing in equal amounts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenBailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We camped here for 4 nights with two children in May 2012. This campground is lovely. Full of trees, space and not a kids club in sight! Our children are 4 & 6. They had a wonderful time exploring the natural area, trying to find animals and insects and were thrilled to have a visiting possum eat our grapes which we accidentally left outside in the evening! THe staff were friendly and accommodating with us checking in at a late hour. We found it terrific to be able to camp so close to sydney city and we just walked to the station (about ten min walk with little ones) each day. At night we got our torches and started exploring. Such fun and a very relaxed urban stay. * I didn't notice any plane noise while we were there. Im sure there were plenty going past but we probably didn't notice as we knew we were staying close to the city...which means there is bound to be some noise!!!!!
We will definitely visit this delightful gem again. Keep up the great work Lane Cove. x

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choops3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
0.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#3 of 6 in North Ryde
967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
2.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Cove River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Cove River Tourist Park

Address: Plassey Road | Macquarie Park, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in North Ryde
Price Range: $170 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 12kms from the Sydney CBD, the award winning Lane Cove River Tourist Park is the perfect destination for your next visit to Sydney. The park has everything for your city adventure including 1 and 2 bedroom ensuite cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes, tents, campertrailers and campervans. We are just a 10 minute stroll to the North Ryde railway station and bus stops. Convenient and regular, the public transport options provide easy access to the city centre. Lane cove River Tourist Park overlooks the vast Lane Cove National Park withh rowboat and canoe hire, picnic spots and 40 kms of bushland trails to cycle or explore. Stay near the city, yet feel like you are miles away at Lane Cove River Tourist Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lane Cove River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing