We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed but...”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Came to Sydney for tourism and with my hotel points we could stay at this Curtyard for free for 5 days. We were a bit nervous because it is far outside of the city but to our surprise the hotel is only a 3 minute walk to the metro which will take you directly downtown. We were very pleased with the hotels value and location. The hugest downside was that my husband and I were checking out to head to the airport and planned our timing perfectly for us to eat in the hotel's restaurant before making the long journey to the airport. To our disappointment after checking out we were told that the restaurant was closed on the weekends (for lunch and possibly other meals) and that there was no room service. They told us about other restaurants in the area but we did not want to lug our bags around looking for food. Eventually they agreeded to order pizza for us and we ate it in the lobby. While waiting on our pizza another couple and an elderly woman also came down for lunch. They too were told that the restaurant was closed on the weekends and they they too could venture out to find food. I couldn't believe that they told this family to do this because the elderly woman was in a walker and was having problems getting around. They got very upset and went back to their rooms hungry. This hotel really should address this... It isn't right to not have food for your guests especially since there aren't many food options around the hotel. No excuses! Fail!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    276
    92
    14
    6
See reviews for
159
113
33
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Cathie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

2 Large families travelling to the soccer and we had 3 rooms. They were spacious and clean. Check in staff were brilliant. We were offered an excellent breakfast deal which we took up. The breakfast was delicious and varied.My only complaint was the lack of parking. We had to park outside in between 2 bollards. Perhaps a 'parking full' sign would have alleviated the frustration felt by the many cars circling the car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences for your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott. I am very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our arrival experience and were satisfied with breakfasts and rooms.

I would use your feedback regarding the car park to retrain our associates. It is only through such feedback we can improve the quality of service we provide.

Thank you very much again for staying with us and I look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Sudhir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights and the manager on check-in was great as there weren't any visible parking spots and he came outside to remove a bollard so we could park. Parking was also free for both nights. We had a corner room on the 7th floor on the opposite side to the main road so there was no road noise. However, the service at breakfast on the Saturday morning was very bad. Firstly, we were told to take a seat near the bar while they found us a table - there appeared to be several long tables set up which they were reluctant to split for some reason. Then we were offered a table outside! I declined this as it was 7.30am and freezing outside. The buffet breakfast was poor - everything was cold so I don't think their bain maries were working. However, we had breakfast on the Sunday morning and the food was so much better, along with the service. We also had dinner at the same restaurant as part of a group on the Saturday night and the food was great. In regard to the room, the bed was comfortable and the room very clean but the bathroom was extremely poorly designed. The doors opened on to eachother and if you were a large person (thank god I'm not) you may have struggled to use the toilet. Maybe it was just the design of our corner room but it was very frustrating and 2 people couldn't use the bathroom at the same time. Overall, there were good and not so great aspects of this hotel but as it was close to a conference at the MGSM, it was just a short drive down the road which was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the opposite side to the main road, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Good location for me because its close to work but other then that its not up there with the best hotels in Sydney. Rooms and overall decor need updating, breakfast is overpriced and pillows are rock hard. Not my favourite Courtyard Marriott, many others are much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott North Ryde.
After reading your feedback I would like to take the opportunity to offer my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you encountered. We strive to ensure the complete comfort and satisfaction of all our guests, and pride ourselves of our high standards of service and attention to detail. It is always our purpose to ensure that every guest receives the true “Marriott” experience and I am sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met.
I am extremely sorry for the experience you had with our room and pillows, I completely understand that this is far from convenient and very pleased you brought this matter to my attention. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our General Manager, who I shall work with, to ensure all the necessary actions are implemented to rectify any defects with our rooms, paying close attention to comfort of bedding.
It is only through such feedback that we are able to improve the services and facilities we provide. I do thank you again for your feedback as Marriott does appreciate all of our guests’ valuable feedback as it is essential to us and I am really looking forward hopefully welcoming you back.
With warm regards from Sydney,
Sudhir Yadav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay within a month. While the rooms are clean and comparable to many good hotels, the friendliness and attentiveness of staff makes a big difference to the feel of a hotel. To be greeted upon arrival with a smile and instant attention sets the mood for a good stay. The staff in the restaurant were extremely polite and helpful too. The King bed suites are very comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to transport, parking is good ( although we have only stayed on weekends outside the surrounding business park's office hours) and it has convenient access to restaurants and shops, with a railway station and Macquarie Shopping Centre very close by. Driving there for the first time is a little tricky as it is tucked away in the business park and the signage at the entrance to the park is small. I would advise to telephone beforehand and get handy hints for finding the hotel by car. Overall, for a good comfortable, hassle free stay in a central location in Sydney, the Courtyard by Marriott cannot be faulted.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blacken2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phagwara, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in Courtyard by Marriott in N. Ryde, twice in one month.
Staff treated us amazingly well. Some of the best customer service I have ever had.
The lobby is not very impressive.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and tidy. And i personally like the beds a lot, i had very nice sleep.
It's 20mins walk to a big shopping mall ( Macquiry shopping centre).
Close to local train, 30 min ride downtown.
If you got your own car, they charge $12 for parking each night.
Overall Very nice n clean hotel, close to your travel needs.
Only thing i feel need change is uniform of the staff at reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paraskalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us twice in one month only. We truly appreciate the business of our guests and loyalty they show towards Marriott brand.

I will share your experiences with our entire team for the great customer service they have offered.

I would also take this opportunity to inform that we are in the process of changing uniforms for all our associates and hopefully when you would stay with us next time you would see us in different colors.

Look forward to welcome you back

Regards

Sudhir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's no surprise the Courtyard strives to deliver value for the business traveler. Marriott Courtyard North Ryde in Sydney's suburb is perfectly located for anyone traveling on business. The Courtyard could use an on site ATM for convenience of its patrons, but it makes up for that with direct access to main line subway connections to get anywhere you want to go around Sydney. MacQuarie Park station is just up the street and can take you directly to / from Sydney Kingsford airport. It's also in a business district and near the University, so plenty of good places to eat outside the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw_333badcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
1.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#3 of 6 in North Ryde
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
1.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
1.2 mi away
MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Property: Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
Address: 7-11 Talavera Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde boasts an unbeatable location within Macquarie Business Park. Book your stay for business or pleasure and enjoy our hotel's winning blend of convenience, value and service. You'll find Macquarie University, ANZ Stadium, Allphones Arena and other attractions within prime proximity to our hotel. Recharge using our fitness facilities, utilize our full-service business centre or unwind with a meal and cocktail at Orchards Restaurant. Plus, our array of eight versatile meeting rooms and talented staff promise to execute your event in style. Book your stay at one of the best-appointed North Ryde hotels today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sydney -North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Courtyard North Ryde
North Ryde Courtyard
Courtyard Sydney North Ryde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing