We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

First time at this hotel and i have to say it worth the money. Nice clean hotel, friendly staff especially all the reception staff always helpful, big clean rooms. Definitely stay here again. Close to train station and the big shopping mall. Beautiful big park close by with nice lake. Buffet breakfast was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sulz4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sulz4you,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for leaving your comments regarding your stay.
I am pleased to read you enjoy all aspects of the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie when you next visiting the Macquarie and North Ryde area.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    392
    255
    101
    41
See reviews for
234
171
126
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and modernity of the room. I guess it's to be expected being a relatively new building but we thought it was great value. Yes, parking onsite is $7.50 but there is limited on street parking nearby and probably some limited options if one was up for a 10 minute walk. Relaxing stroll through the impressive Macquarie University grounds should one need to catch the train. Breakfast was a disappointment, firstly because it finishes at 10am on weekends (far too early, most hotels offer it until 11am) and secondly, when we rocked up at 9:30am most of the food had already been finished and was waiting a desperate refill by the lazy staff. We had to seek them out and ask them to specifically re-fill the eggs, mushrooms and toast (of which none were wholemeal, which is unhealthy and not up to the times). The juices were also on tap but almost to a drip and almost empty. By the time the food was replenished, the toast and coffee had gone cold. The staff should be reminded that 9:30am is not 10am and should keep the food re-filled up until 10am as expected by guests (we weren't the last ones there!). I suspect due to laziness/budget control but it was the only disappointing aspect of our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstruffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Swisstruffles,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for leaving your valuable comments.
I am pleased to read that you were pleased with the facilities at the hotel, and enjoyed the location on the Macquarie University grounds, nice and close to the train station.
Swissruffles, I am sorry to hear that the breakfast team didn’t meet your expectations. As you know, breakfast finishes at 10am over the weekends and when the time draws close to the closing time, we have our team inform our guests that anything they would like, the team will cook to this fresh to order which then minimises food waste, and also ensure that the food is nice and hot. I apologise if this wasn’t communicated to you, however I will ensure this is reiterated with the team to avoid any further concerns.
Swissruffles, thank you again for your comments as these do allow us to improve the service and quality to our guests.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

On this site it clearly states FREE PARKING as quoted below & on booking in were charged $7.50 for this free parking! WHY?
Room 301 was average for a motel although found mould on the tiles in the shower recess, Power point near the table & chairs had signs that one outlet had been shorted out & internet plugin point had been pushed right back into the wall making unusable.
Although plenty of tea & coffee there was little milk for us to enjoy having our tea & coffee.
Again back to the CHARGED parking area the card swipe NEVER worked & had to rely on the contact staff button to get out & in to the FREE PARKING that costs an extra $7.50.
We will be seeking a different place to stay next time as we expect to be in this area more often.
Address: 81 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Free Parking & we were charged.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Rob A,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for leaving your comments regarding your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear about the confusion regarding our parking. Unfortunately it would appear that Trip Advisor has incorrect information relating to the charge of the car parking, and I will be sure to contact them directly to ensure this information is updated to avoid any future confusion.
Thank you for also alerting us to the maintenance issue regarding the internet port, and car parking swipe, which I will be sure again to have my maintenance team to follow up to rectify these issues.
Rob A, thank you again for your comments, as it assists us on improving the hotel, as well as our guest experience.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Ryde hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at TL Macquarie recently and it was a very comfortable, convenient and welcoming place to stay. But the stand-out for me was the service! I left a favourite travel item in my room when I checked out. During the next few days, the Reception staff were sensational in following up and finding this item for me and then positing it to my home. At every point, each person I dealt with was courteous, helpful and attentive. This is the kind of service that makes a stay memorable. I have no hesitation in posting this review to show my appreciation. Thanks, folks!

Room Tip: Second floor is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jenna M,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for leaving your kind comments. I am pleased to read that my team exceeded your expectations and that we were able to leave a lasting impression on you!
Jenna M, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie when you are next visiting the North Ryde / Macquarie park area.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was astonished to find that the hotel required a $165 security bond from us when we checked in. The folks on the front desk were very reluctant to let us have a luggage trolley to transport our bags from the paid parking area at the back of the hotel, and only relented with repeated assurances that we would return it. (What else, for goodness' sake!?) When we asked for directions to the nearest restaurant, we were assured there was one in the very next building. We couldn't find it. The final straw was being told, at check out, that our security bond would not be repaid until they had inspected our room. In every other respect, this seemed like a normal, clean, quiet hotel, so we were nonplussed at these requirements. No complaints about the room, the bed, the position of the hotel - but the unhelpful attitude of the staff means we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattnAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear MattnAnna,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for leaving your leaving a review on your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear that the team failed to deliver on our customer service and you found the team members you dealt with unhelpful.
In regards to the return of the room bond and return of bond payment, it is procedure at the hotel to receive payment for the total accommodation stay, as well as an additional $50.00 for room incidentals and upon departure, a member of team just checks over the room to reduce the hotels liability in the event of damage and should there be no damage or outstanding balance on the account, the bond is returned. MattnAnna, please do accept my apologies if this was not explained to you correctly upon check-in and I do hope this clarifies this matter for you.
MattnAnna, thank you again for your feedback as it does assist us in improving our guest service and satisfaction.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the TL, for third time. Same professional Staff, Clean rooms, excellent water pressure in the showers, Steam Irons, that work close to work, trains, supermarkets and mall. Long days at work no train just a 5 minute walk to the TL to relax and watch TV.

Would and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear DaaVee,

Thank you for your comments as I am pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us at the Travelodge Macquarie.

As you mentioned, we are only just a short 5 minute walk from the train station which is a direct line through North Sydney into the city – which does make it easy to come back to your room and relax!

DaaVee, thank your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and always found it to be comfortable and clean. The staff have always been helpful.
The rooms are quite large, if a little spartan, and there is limited noise.
This is a particularly good option for business travellers visiting the North Ryde area.
It is close to public transport and major roads and the nearby shopping centre has everything you require for a short stay.
I will continue to use this hotel when I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_C_C_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear David_C_C_1,

Thank you for your kind comments and continuing to stay with us at Travelodge Macquarie. I am pleased to read that you enjoy the facilities and location of the hotel, and find the team here helpful.
David_C_C_1, we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie when you next travel to Sydney.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#72 of 179 in Sydney
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde

Property: Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Address: 81 Talavera Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Travelodge North Ryde
Travel Lodge North Ryde
North Ryde Travelodge
North Ryde Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing