We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good wine and a comfortable bed”
Review of The Ranch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ranch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 North Ryde B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Good food, good wine and a comfortable bed”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Ranch is very conveniently located. The accommodation is old, but spotless and the rooms are large. Breakfast is included in the price, and hot toast is delivered to the room (if required). The lady who delivers the toast, and cleans the room, is very friendly and helpful - a gem in a world where service isn't always available!!!

Very relaxing to have dinner in the bistro and then relax upstairs in your room.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms that face the highway as there is a grating across the drive (facing the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    33
    19
    17
See reviews for
49
22
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the following details; location(near the shops), friendliness of
service, cleanliness of room, comfortable, adequate continental breakfast, reasonably comfortable
beds and ample miscellaneous pampering items.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived earlier than 2pm as had to check my partner into a nearby hospital for major surgery at 2pm. Charged an extra twenty dollars to drop my bag off early even though all rooms were obviously ready and housekeeping had long left. Asked for a code for the so-called free wifi and was told it would be bought to my room..still waiting. Room was very old and tired but clean.If you need a hotel near Macquarie University hospital, use the Travelodge instead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RRetiredCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Aside from acceptable cleaning of the room, there is not much good to say about this crumbling place. The paint is chipping off .... and tiles are falling off from the walls ... the bathroom vanity was made from the cheapest kind of material. Yet I think the cleaners did a good job with the room as there is only so much that can be done to an old building like this. The reception's technical ability is horrid. No complaint about customer service being bad but somehow it was a hellish experience trying to get a basic tax invoice printed off due to cumulative "technical difficulties".

Room Tip: This place is more basic than your average inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj27282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Websites S, Owner at The Ranch Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi cj27282,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranch. Are you able to please provide us with any further details of your time in the venue so we can look into the issues that you have raised? Our email address is onlinefeedback@alhgroup.com.au. Thank you again for your feedback as it is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Ryde hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very good in most aspects
Although being close to a bar/bistro and main road - you are well insulated from loud noise. We have slept well every stay (over 3 times)
Continental breakfast is lovely and unexpected!
Rooms are sized enough
Desks and chairs okay for work (Business/Uni - we stayed during heavy exam/course time from Macquarie Uni)
The bar/bistro is a great place to dine - great specials, otherwise can be slightly overpriced (at least for students)
The only issue I have with this stay is the ability to shower at the right time. During busy times at the bar it appears hot water is in short supply. Morning and late night showers are fine, but between 6-9pm hot water can be scarce
However, staff have always been friendly. If there is no one at reception, just ask for the manager at the bar and they will attend to you promptly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

$100 for a room for 3 in Sydney. Awesome value. The rooms are very basic but clean and have all you really need. The continental breakfast tray was a pleasant surprise. The bistro and bar are great. $10 roasts & nightly specials. Location is close to Macquarie centre and university. The Assistant Manager very lovely and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The room was old and dated, however was clean and everything worked ok. ie: shower and air con. I had balcony room, no view - but gave you a bit of extra space. Coffee and tea facilities with basic breakfast included. Food and alcohol are available in the main part of the hotel with modern bistro and bars. Friendly staff and good service. On site open air parking available at no extra cost. Close to Macquarie Centre and Macquarie Uni. Cheap option for accomodation in North Ryde on the Epping Highway. No pool, gym or similiar type of facilities. I would return for the cheap price, expecially if all you need is a bed, meal and beer.

Room Tip: A room with balcony gives you a bit more room, although there is no view. (view across the roof of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#3 of 6 in North Ryde
844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
0.7 mi away
MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranch Hotel

Property: The Ranch Hotel
Address: cnr Epping and Herring Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2122, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranch Hotel Motel offers 14 comfortable and affordable 3.5 Star guest rooms that are popular, particularly for Macquarie Business Park guests, local tradesmen and friends or family visiting Macquarie University, Macquarie Hospital, Curzon Hall and Sydney Olympic Park. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with remote controlled colour plasma televisions, en-suite bathrooms, direct dial telephones, bar fridges as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The Hotel is a twenty minute bus trip to the CBD and thirty minutes to Sydney's Domestic & International Airport's. There is an on site car parking available with room for large vehicles as well as a family bistro, function rooms, family beer garden, BWS bottle shop, TAB and Keno facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ranch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing