We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business/family alike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
663 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good for business/family alike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This apartment is good for family and business alike. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. There is kitchen provided. Location also near to Macquarrie shopping centre and station. Only downside is wifi is not complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Erico2709,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay us and enjoyed the facilities, apartment space and location that we have on offer!

Thank you for also providing the feedback regarding the internet service. Unfortunately this service is provided through a third party, therefore we are unable to stipulate the pricing on the service. You would be pleased to know that discounts are offered through internet packages for extended long stays, or alternatively, Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, located at 81 Talavera Road has an internet kiosk available in the lobby for public use.

Erico2709, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde in the future.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    171
    143
    95
    75
See reviews for
303
40
17
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My twins, partner and I stayed here on 15 and 16 November 2012, checking out on 17 November 2012.

Despite some average reviews on this website, i must say i was impressed. I was toying between giving it a 3 or 4 rating. However, i think a rating of 4 is justified.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, split level apartment (Unit 14). For our purpose, it had everything we needed to make our trip to Sydney comfortable.

Pros:

* Not too far from the CBD at all - 30 mins with traffic, and about 10 mins without (by car). I can't comment on the public transport, as i did not use it. However Macquarie University is literally just up the road, so i'm guessing public transport would be very good.

* loved the fact the apartment was split into kitchen/lounge downstairs, and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. We asked for 2 cots to be provided (only cost $5 each to rent, which was very cheap compared to some places we've stayed at) and put them in one of the upstairs bedrooms. So we found we could easily put the twins down for naps/sleep upstairs, and not worry about waking them with noise from the tv or kitchen downstairs.

* furniture basic but modern. TVs were LCD and worked without any problems - provided in both the lounge and main bedroom areas.

* we had an ensuite bathroom.

* quiet surrounding streets - no noisy roads to keep you awake at night.

* very close to Macquarie Shopping Centre (with its ice skate rink) and Top Ryde shopping centre (which i personally preferred). Easy access to a variety of shops.

* local restaurants close by (literally a 5 minute drive away) - we went to 11 Talavera Rd, Ryde where they had a selection of different restaurants and cuisines. Try Ribs and Rumps (i think that's what it was called)... great food. Family friendly.

* apartment kitchen was quite good. The usual microwave, stove top, oven, cutlery, glasses etc. Appeared quite clean upon our arrival.

Cons:

* some towels had stains on them, despite having being washed (time for upgrade i think)

* the bathrooms could have been better cleaned. We had a young girl who came to the door with towels on our first morning; i told her we were about to leave, and that we'd be out of her way very shortly. She said she was only going to change the towels today. She did not clean the apartment, her reasoning being, that, as we were staying there another night, a proper (she called it, "full") clean was not required?....quite poor house keeping service in my opinion.

* there was a lovely personal courtyard to the apartment. However, it has leaves everywhere, and needed a good tidy. A table and chair (cheaply bought even from Ikea) would make it possible for visitors to enjoy it on warm nights when staying in. With the way it's set up currently however, its a wasted space completely. It exists, but one cannot make any real use of it....

* balcony "security door" had wheels which weren't working properly, and i doubt very much it would be an effective security door to would-be thieves.

* my biggest grip would be the carpet in the lounge area. It's in need of a DESPERATE clean. Upon arrival i put my twins on the carpet in front of the tv while i unpacked our belongings. Within a matter of minutes, my sons legs were black, and my daughters white tights were grey. A very dirty carpet (my main reason for not giving this establishment a 5 rating).

* my partner used the ensuite (i used the main bathroom) so i can only comment on that room with what he told me. He found that that the ensuite looked dated and was somewhat cramped for him. Not much room for your personal belongings at all. I agree that the main bathroom too looked dated. But as we were there really only the 2 days, i think it suited our purposes quite well. My partner also found the shower head in the ensuite too low.

Overall however, i enjoyed this apartment very much. In my personal experience, it is the most comfortable apartment we've stayed at. Initially i was annoyed that we weren't staying in a CBD apartment. However, as we had the car, it posed no problem at all, and we had the best of both worlds - close enough to the city when we wanted to go there, and yet the cheaper rates made it attractive to stay slightly out of town. Would definitely recommend to people as an option when traveling to Sydney, and they need something more convenient than just a hotel room. House keeping and carpet need to be looked at though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savy_Sydney_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Savy_Sydney_Lily,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
I am pleased that to see that overall your enjoyed the space, comfort and price that we have on offer – ‘the most comfortable apartment we’ve stayed in’ – WOW, what an honour! As you mentioned, it certainly is more economical for those who want the space of an apartment, without the city prices – also keeping in mind that there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that stops right in the heart of Sydney City!
Thank you for also providing the areas on which we can improve on, this information certainly helps us improve the product and services we offer our guests.
You would be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of arranging brand new courtyard furniture! The order is in production, and we hope for it to arrive early in the new year.
As for the apartment inconsistencies, thank you for bringing these to our attention as I have also raised these items with the relevant departments to ensure a higher standard is delivered to our future guests.
Savy_Sydney_Lily, thank you again for your comments as we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was no reference to having the main bathroom locked and unavailable for our stay. We only had access to the onsuite. To have a bath using the main bathroom would cost an extra $20 per night. Very poor. No downstairs toilet at all. When friends arrived they had to go through our bedroom to access a toilet.
Apart from this the appartment was tidy and well kept. Entertainment system both upstairs and in lounge room. The utensils were more than adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments.
Unfortunately we do sell our one bedroom apartments based on one bedroom and one bathroom set up, however please note that we are reviewing the configuration of the one bedroom apartments, and grant access to the main bathroom only, simply for that very reason you mention.
I am also pleased to read that you found the apartment well equipped, as it is very important that guests find the apartments as comfortable and homely as possible, because at Medina, we like to offer ‘A Home away from home’.
Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a two bed apartment as a family of five. Would never again. First impressions...Outside building looked neglected with timber beams on verandah rotting. Inside nice sofa and flat screen tv, pity sbout crap reception. Old worn kitchen, cracks on walls, doors battered, mould in bathroom, toothpaste splattered on tiles, master bed had two single doonas on a kingsize bed. Beds were so uncomfortable, even when we managed to get to sleep there was aircraft noise. Stairs were extremely hazardous, hand rail moved and had huge gap between rails. Our children ended up bunking in with us as we were worried about the stairs. Courtyard was overgrown, definately not child safe as it dropped off at the back 2 metres down onto concrete driveway. Finally to top it off we were charged with prior acknowledgement $150 on our credit card to cover damages, then told it takes up to 21 days to be refunded for this. We've travelled a bit and this is far from four star. For a little more wish we had chose a five star luxury hotel in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Bradshell,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your visit.
I am sorry to hear that the property has failed to meet your expectations, and also surprised by some of your comments as the property has only received a refurbishment under one year ago, which included items such as new kitchen, new beds, soft furnishing throughout the apartments as well as paint work.
In regards to the $150.00, unfortunately this is hotel policy, much like all other hotels where a security bond is required upon check-in, and either processed as a pre-authorisation to a credit card, which essentially holds these funds for a period of time (time varies depending on each financial institution) or via a cash deposit. Please accept my sincere apology if this was not explained to you upon check-in clearly.
Bradshell; thank you again for your comments, as it will certainly assist us in improving our product and service for our future guests.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Ryde hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at this apartment to be close to family and to have the opportunity for friends to come visit me as was travelling from Perth..The 2 bedroom bedroom apartment had a new kitchen and and a great courtyard. Centrally located to Macquarie Centre Shopping centre and approx $10 in a cab although bus stop outside property.Rooms are older but have DVD and flat screen TV's x 2.
I got a good deal through wotif.com. and would stay again

Room Tip: all rooms are good ...maybe if children ask to be placed near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valerie143,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your recent visit.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your week long stay with us! As you mentioned, the apartments are perfect for those long trips, where you need to have that additional space with the living rooms and the full kitchens to cook in!
Valerie143, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

A one night stay in a one bedroom. I needed a fully functional kitchen for cooking and it's perfect with all mod cons including a fan forced oven. Room 48 is over three levels so would be perfect for a couple and extra on lounge. A little bizarre as its an old complex but the unit has had a renovation however a really old phone which dims the appearance. Only disappointment was the bed was very hard & uncomfortable for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear MeldinaBrisbane,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your recent visit.
I am pleased to see that you appreciate the added benefits of booking an apartment, over a hotel room, and I am sure that would agree that you could easily live in one of our apartments with all the space that we offer!
I am sorry to hear that the bed wasn’t as comfortable as you would like, which I would suspect that this is due to the beds being new, as they were replaced in the refurbishment
MelindaBrisbane, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde when you next visit the Macquarie Business Park and the North Ryde area.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I lived in Medina north ryde for several days. Our company travel agent booked there for me. Have to say very dissapointed for the service there. I already told company HR and travel agent, please never ever book this hotel for me any more.

1. Not clean at all. bath towl is not clean.

2. no hair drier. after reported to reception, the guy said he will make comment but actually nothing change. after work, I have to go to reception again and complain again, then eventually get the hair drier.

the service quality is very poor.

3. The bathroom is in very poor condition. shower head is leaking water, spray the water everywhere in the whole bathroom, wet the floor. It's so dangerous !!!

When reported to reception, the same guy said he will make a comment in the system. but after work, i found nothing change. have to go to reception again and then do a DEMO in that poor bath room to show them how the shower head not working at all.

4. the air conditioner is so noisy.

I am very disappointed for this hotel and the service there

Room Tip: If you just want to WASTE your money, you can choose here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear WendyT,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for providing your feedback on your recent visit.
This feedback allows us to identify areas that are in need of improvement, so that we can provide positive guest experiences.
I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations, across our housekeeping, maintenance and front office departments.
I have spoken to the team member who you had interacted with, and it would appear that there was a miscommunication regarding the showerhead in the bathroom, as it was not until the demonstration that we were able to rectify the issue, so thank you for passing the feedback on and assisting in addressing the issue.
WendyT, thank you again for your comments, and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Address: 2 - 12 Busaco Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive North Ryde)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing