We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary but affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ordinary but affordable”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. Overall it was adequate and certainly affordable for a sydney suburban hotel. We had two very large bedrooms and two bathrooms which was great. The hotel was advertised as good for families but travelling with my small daughter, the three levels, wide spaces between handrails and steep internal staircase were a constant worry. The outdoor courtyard which looked quite nice in photos was filthy and un-useable. We were a long way from Macquarie shops and couldn't walk anywhere easily. The kitchen was adequate for simple cooking but the fridge leaked and the washing machine stuck on 'soak' until you turned the dial manually. Service was friendly but a bit clueless. We had a reasonably good stay but there were too many things that didn't measure up to stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xmasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Xmasbabe,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina North Ryde, and for also leaving your comments.
As you mentioned, our apartments are very spacious, which the families love! We do understand the importance of safety with the apartments and with little ones running around it does get a little concerning. In order to address this issue, we have guards which we can place up underneath each of the balustrades, as well installing child gates, so if you do choose to stay with us in the future, please let us know and we can have this installed for you prior to your arrival.
I am sorry to hear that the courtyard wasn’t presented well during your visit. My team of gardeners are constantly going through each of the courtyards in the apartments, as well as the public areas to ensure the comfort for our guests – however with the so called ‘Summer’ we have been having, the difficulty is getting gardening done whilst the sun is out, however please be rest assured that this is at the top of our ‘to do’ list.
I am also sorry to hear about the fridge and the washing machine – these items serviced on as needs basis, therefore I trust this issues were dealt with when you raised these with reception.
Xmasbabe, thank you again for leaving your comments and we do hope to welcome you back to Medina Executive North Ryde in the future.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    179
    149
    98
    81
See reviews for
321
41
17
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

These rooms have a lot of things going for them but a few bad points really let it down. The newly refurbished 2 bedroom apartments have heaps of space and look quite nice, there is secure undercover parking, shopping centre near by and even a bus that runs almost from your front door right into the city. All very convenient, but was let down by the amount of noise in the plumbing in our room. The toilets squealed after flushing (or sometimes just by themselves) and if the people next to us turned their water on you it was just as bad. Happened at 11pm on the first night and woke both our young children/toddlers. Made for a very interesting night. Luckily next door was empty most of our stay but we requested a move on the last night for the same reason (the second room was squeal free). I certainly wouldn't recommend staying in the 2br apartments if you have any small children. There are 2 sets of stairs with not much of a railing to stop crawlers/new walkers falling. Overall though, we would consider staying again, just not with the kids and not in the same room

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Krystal C,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
I am pleased to hear that you appreciate the newly refurbishment apartments, as well as the convenience of the location - with the surrounding bush land, it certainly doesn’t feel like you are in Sydney at times!
I am sorry to hear about the plumbing in the apartment and the noise from the pipes. I will have my maintenance team try to resolve this issue, as we certainly want our guests to have good nights sleep.
I can understand the concerns you have regarding the staircases in the apartments, and we do actually have guards that we place underneath the balustrades to assist in the safety of the children, as well as child gates for the tops and bottoms of the stairs.
Krystal C, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The apartments (2 bedroom per villa/town house) are clean and there is a good deal of space for a family to have a nice holiday. However, the small backyards to each of the apartments are VERY overgrown to the point that you can not enter them. The children's play area had 1/2 meter high grass, no sand in the sand pit and only had a set of swings. This was a big disappointment to the kids when we went investigating the children's play area. The pool does not have an operational toilet so you need to return to your apartment if you 'need to go'. The BBQ area is nice. We used this facility almost every night to cook our dinner. There was rubbish in the garden beds which stayed there for the whole 8 days we were there. It is located very close to Macquarie Shopping Centre and a regular bus runs outside the property. It is not a 5 Star Apartment but if you can overlook the lack of garden maintenance and a few other issues then give it a try. The kids loved the lizards roaming around the garden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilyanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Lilyanne P,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde and for also providing your comments regarding your stay!
I have a team of handyman and gardeners on hand at the property, and we are always going through our courtyards in each apartment by schedule to ensure our courtyards are well presented. I apologise that your apartment may have fallen through the cracks, however thank you bringing this to my attention, as I could imagine with children, the more room for them to play in, the better!
As for the children’s play area; although the area is adjacent to the property with access, we unfortunately do no maintain this area, as this is council land. The area itself has been deemed 'unsafe' therefore we try to discourage guests in using this, and have also tried for the council to remove the equipment all together to avoid any further dissatisfaction, and more importantly, harm.
Lilyanne P, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Medina Executive North Ryde to play with the lizards!

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I must admit I was a little apprehensive when I read the reviews on the site, having been booked into the hotel on a short business trip with a colleague.

Well, it was definitely no Ritz, but it was reasonable priced relative to the other hotels in the area and there were 2 bedrooms, a small kitchenette & a living room area. Most importantly, the rooms & bathrooms were clean & things worked.

Did not really use the kitchen & laundry area but this would be useful for small families who need the space. The mini-bar & internet were very expensive though.

Room Tip: If you are arriving late (after 10pm), you have to go check in & get your keys from the Travelod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Tahoch,

Thank you for staying with us a Medina Executive North Ryde and for leaving your comments.

As you saw, the apartment space that we offer at Medina Executive North Ryde is second to none, and very ideal for those who want more room then a hotel.
You would also be pleased to know that we are currently going through a refurbishment, which is scheduled to finish just before Christmas! I dont believe it will still compare to the Ritz, but we will certainly try to give it a run for its money!

Tahoch, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde during your next visit to the North Ryde, and Macquarie area.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

A budget apartment with minimal service. Don't expect too much. It is very family friendly apartments. Great size. Very very very old. Poor communication between each area of complex. Stunning location and great parking.Little things mean a lot to consumers these days and we put up with bad service as our expectations are so low.I know how pointless it is voicing my concerns directly. Stay because it is size that matters for families .

Room Tip: Phone to check when your room will be ready so no waiting after 1400.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Hotelsareourlife,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North, and for also providing your valuable feedback.
At Medina, we appreciate all forms of feedback - as this allows us to identify areas for improvement.
I am delighted to hear that you appreciate the size of the apartments, location and parking facilities - these certainly are our strong points!
In regards to the apartments, you would be delighted to hear that we are currently working towards a refurbishment of each apartment, which we believe will compliment the size of the apartments and due for completion prior to the end of this calendar year (fingers crossed all goes to plan and there are no delays prior to Christmas!).
Hotelsareourlife; once again that you for providing your feedback, and we would love to welcome you back in the new year, once our refurbishment has been complete in the hope to change your perception of Medina Executive North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Ryde hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for a week on a recent business trip and was allocated a 2 storey walk-up townhouse.

It was spacious but the facilities in the apt certainly needs some upgrading. Electric kettle has no inidicating light to tell you if it's on or off. Took a while before finally figuring out.

There is a serious lack of wall plugs in the apt. Hence you got to either unplug the tv, table light or some other electrical devices before you have a spare plug to charge your phone or laptop.

Washing machine had it's water level set at low but took about 20 mins to fill to the desire level!

Overall if you are not expecting too much, this will be a decent choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will_9441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Will_9441,

Thank you for staying with us a Medina Executive North Ryde, and for providing your valuable feedback.
All our guests LOVE the size of the apartments, and its certainly a big selling point for us for those with families, or those travellers who enjoy more space then a hotel can offer.
We are currently in the process now of reviewing a refurbishment at Medina Executive North Ryde within the next 3 month, which will of course have a positive impact on the property!
Will_9441, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If size matters- this will suit. Huge townhouses- big rooms.

For me, what's important... Rooms that don't smell of cigarette's and sting your eyes.. Noise- minimal.. Not soo here.. The whole place shook with each gust of wind!! Nice staff - at best they tolerated me.. I did not even voice my concerns on departure- and still wasn't a priority!!

Courtyard marriot is 5 minutes away and same prize..

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indi771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Indi771,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for also providing your valuable feedback.
At Medina Executive North Ryde, we encourage all forms of feedback as this allows us to identify areas for praise, as well as areas for improvement.
It would appear on this occasion that the odour of the apartment proved to be most discomforting, and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Please be rest assured that all our apartments are non smoking, and we provide an ash tray in each apartment courtyard to encourage guests to smoke outdoor, although it would appear quite difficult to control.
I have also notified our housekeeping department of your concerns to ensure that all rooms which display an odour be placed out of service for any future guest.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,775 reviews
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Address: 2 - 12 Busaco Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive North Ryde)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing