We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not comfortable ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermitage Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Muswellbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not comfortable ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night with my family, not impressed with the service, the WIFi did not work, the room was not properly cleaned before we entered. The atmosphere was not safe for children. Would not go back. You could hear everything happening outside.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very clean small room, I can tell some effort has been made with refurbishing. They charge to much but hey!!! that's Muswellbrook all motels here are over priced, they can get away with it because of the mining companies....but us average folks should really only be paying $90.00 maximum per night. Another complaint is no where really to sit outdoors, the pool area is very average this motel charges 5 star price for 2/5 - 3 star.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were interested to see just what The Hermitage was like. We were pleasantly surprised. The stay were very friendly and helpful. The rooms tidy and reasonable for the price. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant and overall had a pleasant stay. Can only think that the previous harse reviews must have been under the previous owners. Great proximity to a lovely little golf club across the road and reasonably close to town.

We had a great stay and I can only recommend it as a friendly, moderately priced motel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the far side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johhn Cronan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermagui
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Terrible stayed 31 July 2013 clean room from 1970 air con the same as my mum and dads when we were kids and now I am 52!!! Too noisy so we froze. Hard bed . Sore back . Probably worse after staying in beautiful merit on serviced appartments the night before for 97 bucks in central Sydney. Tiny bathroom, owner price is related to mainly corporate accounts (miners) who are paid enough to get ripped off without complaint but we are not miners. Room is stuck forty years ago and it is 2 star, obviously have good cleaning, very clean but you can't expect people to love paying 120 for a sub standard room . Next to highway and train lines at night, we felt really depressed after staying there. It's really first class crap. Owner needs to charge what it's worth. About sixty bucks or less. You would be happier sleeping in the car. Terrible place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor H, Manager at Hermitage Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for noticing what a great job our housekeeping dept. does, but we were disappointed to see your poor review especially as you opted to inspect the room before staying, and did not personally discuss any of your concerns with us.
We wish to advise that we are currently in the process of replacing the old air conditioners, and also the beds, as part of ongoing upgrades to the property. The current owners are completely refurbishing the motel and have had the buildings rendered, re-painted inside and out, new carpets throughout and new bedspreads. Our restaurant and reception area have both had a major facelift. We as managers (since April), are proud of what has been achieved here to date, and excited about the future of the Hermitage Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muswellbrook hotels

Green Point, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had booked prior to seeing the negative reviews and were apprehensive. Delighted to say the motel now has new proprietors who really care. Greeting on arrival was bright, breezy and professional. Room was spotless, but small, with a tiny bathroom, but reasonable for the money. No problem with adjoining room noises, and had an excellent night's sleep.Location is immediately opposite the golf club, which has a fine bistro. I would definitely stay there on future visits to Muswellbrook.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Well, it's probably the best you can do in Muswellbrook but that's not saying much. Old rooms that smell like smoke and are not sounds proof at all according to the guy the snored the house down in the neighbouring room.... Also wouldn't recommend the Resturant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were charged what I considered to be an excessive amount for the quality of the room. Our room was in the block with a street at both the side and the front and the road noise was very loud and disturbing. The bathroom is in need of a renovation and is very tiny and came with a nasty smell. If you like firm mattresses this is the place for you but to my arthritic hip it felt like a block of concrete.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Skiltsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muswellbrook
0.8 mi away
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Muswellbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remington Motor Inn
Remington Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Muswellbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wayfarer Motel
The Wayfarer Motel
#6 of 7 in Muswellbrook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baybrook Motor Inn and Apartments
15.9 mi away
Scone Motor Inn
Scone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Scone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#1 of 1 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motel

Property: Hermitage Motel
Address: 62 - 68 New England Hwy, Muswellbrook, New South Wales 2333, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Muswellbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Muswellbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage Motel Muswellbrook is now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. Come book a room with us and we will make your stay as comfortable as possible. Golf players and lovers take advantage of our location - directly across from the Muswellbrook Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing