We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau De Cockroach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lismore Wilson Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed one night with wife and small child, arrived at room late only to discover cockroaches all over the tattered carpet. My 5 year old would not let me put her down on the floor because of all the roaches, I sat her on the bed while I started wacking them with my shoe. We had the spa room, SPA! I would rather wash myself in the toilet as the spa was only good for urinating in. It was 9:30pm and none of us could get to sleep due to the football team next door having a booze up. I picked up the phone and called reception demanding to be moved out of this cockroach infested cespool. We would have been more comfortable sleeping on the street than in this run down rat ranch.We were given another room (cockroach free) and a little less noisy, and soon as it was sun up we were out of there. If staying in Lismore try the bed and breakfast down the road - we will next time!

Room Tip: Do not book the spa room - stay elsewere if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonh794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Lismore Wilson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are very disappointed to hear you had such a horrible stay with us. It is a little surprising to receive such a spiteful review when you didn't have any complaints or comments to make while you were here and seemed relatively happy.
There was a group staying who were sitting on the verandah outside their rooms, but were not a 'football team having a booze up', were quiet and in their rooms by 10, middle aged and we didn't have any complaints from our other guests staying next to them.
You did call asking if you could be moved and we happily gave you another room at the furthest end of the motel. At this time you made no mention of any problems with cockroaches, or cleanliness only that your daughter couldn't sleep because of the noise.
We haven't hadn't any complaints about our spas before and have not heard anything from any other guests about cockroaches, but we continue to work very hard to keep our rooms spotless.
Again when you came to check out you had another opportunity to mention something about the 'cockroach infested cespool' and the that the 'spa was only good for urinating in'. But you said everything was fine, now we get a horrible, vengeful and insulting review that undoes a lot of the hard work we do to maintain a good reputation and deliver a great service to our guests. We feel we dealt with any request you had in the best way we could, and if you had of raised these other concerns with us we could have done something for you but instead we get a cowardly review on the internet that we can do nothing about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The street view of this motel is deceiving. It looks old but the rear of the property is quite modern and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the rooms were. The rooms are quite large with a few reclining chairs, table and chairs and a large bench. The bathroom was really big. The room has a window that can be opened and 2 chairs and table outside the front door on a shared deck. I was able to park the car in front of my room however this property is on a slant and to get to your room it required you to come up a few stairs. Bed was a little hard and I dislike bedspreads in motels as you never know how long since they have been washed and then they wrap up your nice clean pillow into the same spot the previous occupant had there used pillow. Most hotel these days have sheets either side of the doona or blanket - so much more hygienic. Other than the bedspreads this a nice motel to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after a work event in Lismore. Older style motel, slightly dated interior but clean and in good repair. Large rooms which were very comfortable. Quite impressed with the size of the bathrooms in particular. Our room was close to the back so there was virtually no noise. Beds were surprisingly comfortable as well. This motel delivered exactly what I expected.

Room Tip: As others have said, rooms towards the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for one night and the room was very spacious old style motel layout. Room contained queensize bed which was very firm but we like that. Down light above one side of the bed was not working. Wall mounted flat screen television. Tea and coffe making but only one pack of two biscuits to share. Room was quiet with no road noise. The bedroom and bathroom were thoroughly clean and water was hot in bathroom. The free wif-fi worked well. Parking spaces in front of the units lining the entrance road are narrow and the access would be helped if the drive way had an access point to the road fronatge on both sides of the complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to see the Lantern Parade so a night in Lismore was needed. Before I booked, I researched through Trip Adviser where to stay in Ballina. This charming motel is everything I expected and more. The manager, Nathan was very helpful and friendly. We opted for one of the spa rooms and very happy with the size and cleanliness of our room. The shower was enormous too and even had a choice of beautiful soaps. Bed was comfy and even though the motel is on a main road we didn't hear a sound. My only complaint was the noisy air con. It could really do with an upgrade as it was fairly old. Once the room was warmed we just turned it off and drifted off. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting value, comfort & peace.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HunterTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My partner and I often travel to Lismore on business and have stayed at probably every motel in town by now (including newer motels), but this particular motel was the most exceptional by a long shot. We had a standard queen room which was very spacious and very quiet. The room was spotless and the overall appearance of the building is very charming. I had left a computer cord behind and Nathan (manager) phoned me as soon as the cleaners had found it and I was able to pick it up. The staff are friendly and couldn't have been more helpful and obliging. Lismore is lucky to have this little gem of a place to recommend. I only wish there were more of them in other regional centres!
Thanks guys!
Hayley and Alun

Room Tip: Rooms towards back are quietest!. We heard nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazydazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Lismore Wilson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are so delighted to have such a happy guest! Thank you Hayley for taking the time to recommend our motel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Lismore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

For an older motel on the main highway, this was a very comfortable and quiet stay. Semi-detached units are very spacious. I stayed in a unit half way back from the road and there was no noticeable road noise at night. Bed was large and comfortable.

The only issue was the lack of microwave in the room, despite there being plenty for space for one. There was a kettle and toaster of course. Still, it makes self-catering somewhat difficult.

You park at the door in classic motel style. Access to the entry is tricky. You need to be heading westwards along Bruxner Highway (Ballina Rd is just it's local name). The entrance is very near the roundabout so be on the lookout for the driveway and in the left lane on the roundabout or you can miss it and need to do a u-turn further up and a 180 at the roundabout to try again!

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a room away from the road if you are concerned about road noise. I did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Lismore Wilson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always good to know that our guests are happy. Most people are pleasantly surprised by the quietness of our rooms, because the road is quite noisy. However all the walls between each room are all brick and the inside of the motel is closed from the front, so once the door is closed little can be heard from outside, even with the inside window open. Even our rooms closer to the front are just as quiet.

Our rooms are not self contained but we do have microwaves available by request and free of charge. As always we try to accommodate to all of the needs of our guests. So please ask if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lismore
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Lodge Motel
Lakeside Lodge Motel
#9 of 11 in Lismore
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#5 of 11 in Lismore
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#4 of 11 in Lismore
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismore Wilson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismore Wilson Motel

Address: 119 Ballina Rd | Girards Hill, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range: $89 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lismore Wilson Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1997, The Lismore Wilson Motel provides guests with Spacious and relaxing home-away-from-home accommodation. Located centrally, bordering the CBD. The Lismore Wilson Motel is surrounded by established sub tropical gardens. Guests find the private courtyard facing the rain forest gardens a great place for a cool drink or a chat, while the shady balconies provide a peaceful place to relax. The Wilson offers free Austar, Free WiFi, Reverse-cycled Air-conditioning, Microwave and Cot hire, Breakfast served daily, Guest laundry, and off street parking. Whether you are an executive, celebrating a uni graduation or taking a family holiday you’ll enjoy the comfortable accommodation and friendly service a The Lismore Wilson Motel.We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lismore Wilson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing