We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 561 Alphadale Cafe & Restaurant - CLOSED

561 Alphadale Cafe & Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Although the restaurant has nice setting and beautiful atmosphere we found the food ridiculously expensive and very limited menu.
The food was described very difficulty and some simplicity wouldn't of gone far.
Food was quiet nice but very small servings...
Staff were tentative but lacked in personality.
Had a good time but was very eager to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryMummy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
514 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Heavenly setting, great food and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This venue basically has three dining areas. One is in the old church, another is in a large internal dining area and the other is outdoors on the verandas. All areas are bright and clean with plenty of space.A great place for a casual lunch with family and friends or a more formal dinner at night.
Staff are friendly, obliging and professional.
We found a good and varied menu, which should satisfy most diners. The meals we ordered were supplied quickly despite a large group being seated at a nearby table. The food was very tasty, well presented and reasonably priced.
The ultimate test is whether I would go back again and the answer is most definitely yes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmoshpere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have dined here at different occasions for breakfast, lunch & dinner many times & have never left disappointed with the experience. Have always enjoyed the food & you get the strong impression that the chef really enjoys what he does & goes that extra step with tastes & creativity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stepet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Variety and very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Occasionally you go somewhere that just clicks. Today it happened at a very interesting (in a good way) place.

I went with a couple of others on a public holiday - not being too optimistic about places in the Lismore, NSW area. One of the party who lives locally had never heard of it. But after a brief and easy drive heading South from Lismore we found the old Church and modern addition with plenty of parking.

Set in a couple of areas, it didn't appear to be as large as it was. When a large group was seated next to us, it was easy for the helpful staff to move us to another outdoor table that we had spotted.

The menu was divided into three sections: Snacks, Entree and Main. (Desert comes later).

We shared a Snack of Roasted truffled goats cheese in Napoli, crusty bread. The bread was fresh and very tasty when we spread the goats cheese and Napoli "sauce" over it. Excellent start.

Next I had an Entree of Pork belly red curry, rice noodles and kaffir lime. With this I shared another "Snack" of Pear parmesan and walnut salad, apple balsamic.The pork was slightly fatty as you would expect, the taste was intense and portion size just right (small) for a dish like this. The salad was also just right to cleanse the palette - and finish the meal off (I did steal a couple of the excellent chips from one of the others at the table). All 3 of us really enjoyed the salad and it was certainly bigger than a snack. No mains needed.

This is one of the best things about the menu - it offered great variety. Some people were just coming for coffee and cake, others a 3 course (or more) meal with wine and coffee (the mugs are huge), and I could imagine coming for a drink after work and just having a Snack (if I lived locally).

The wine list has some good options with a number of wines being available by the glass, There are wine and beer specials of the day.

The atmosphere is informal and light and fun with lots of indoor/outdoor seating options. The Church was not being used at lunchtime, but I would think would be quite spectacular at night.

The service was very friendly without being all over us.

This is a restaurant that deserves to flourish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great venue and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Attractive decor and plenty of atmosphere. Excellent staff, very obliging. The food was delicious though the servings rather small.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 561 Alphadale Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Lismore, New South Wales
 
Lismore, New South Wales
Lismore, New South Wales
 
Lismore, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing