We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Modern hotel. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Here in Lismore for Timberjacks Baseball tournament. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Have recommended to our friends already.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean room, only stayed one night. Room was good, staff were helpful and friendly. Everything was nice and fresh. There was a dirty plate left in one of the drawers though from a previous guest. Maybe should check those things more when cleaning rooms, overall though it's a nice place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank E5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fabulous looking hotel, so lovely and new and the rooms are decorated beautifully with a nice feel. Convenient location with a supermarket across the road and town centre within walking distance. Only problem were the slamming doors of the other guests as they came back late at night from the restaurant and then left early in the morning. Such a pity as not very restful but otherwise a nice hotel.

Room Tip: If staying for pleasure maybe ask for a room that doesn't overlook someone's backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this fine establishment from 12 to 14 June 2014 for business. I was attending a conference that was being held there.

Upon entering my room (room 7), I was struck at how pristine everything looked. The room was spotless, even all the way down to the glass screen that housed the shower and the mirror in the bathroom and next to the king size bed. There wasn't a fingerprint to be seen!

I ordered room service that night (rib eye steak with prawns), and the steak just melted in your mouth. Now, I travel a lot with work and this meal beat some of the chef-hatted restaurants I've eaten in. That's how good this meal was!!

My room was facing the main road and overlooked the pool; and if you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room that is located at the rear of the building. One thing I did notice was that the walls must be quite thick between rooms as I couldn't hear any of the other guests in the rooms beside me. Very impressed indeed.

All in all it was a wonderful stay in a regional town, and I highly recommend you come stay here as I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I did.

A great big thanks goes to Vicki and Murray (the Managers). I can't thank you enough for making my stay a memorable one. And a BIG thank you goes to Chef Kelven and his apprentices Darren and Jesse. Keep up the great work you do in the kitchen because it is greatly appreciated.

Again, thank you for everything.

Kind regards

Teresa

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattReporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights and had a comfortable sleep. Clean and modern new building. Vent and ceiling fans needs cleaning though. One powerpoint switch faulty and keeps flicking back off. Couple of black marks on the wall. Sugar and coffee sachets and biscuits were not replaced and mugs/spoon was not returned after it was taken out for washing.Towels replaced daily but carpet not vacuumed. Fridge has no freezer compartment. Good strong shower. Shower over bath is an old fashioned idea and unsafe for stepping in and out. Slight unpleasant smell coming from drain. Staff friendly and welcoming. Quiet location and close to shops. Still rated very good overall. We will consider coming back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marietta_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed there late last year (2013). place was newly opened. Our room was at back so nice & quiet. Very clean and friendly service at reception (maybe because I mentioned I had grown up in Lismore!). Unfortunately there was an unpleasant smell coming from the drain in the bathroom which no amount of water would get rid of. Had dinner with friends in the restaurant. Service was very slow despite the place being barely 50% full. The first 3 wines I requested from the wine list were unavailable and I was offerred a bottle of something I would never drink especially when the waitress told me "it is cheap"! Food only average. Nice grounds and close to city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beware of very rude receptionist Vicky and old man behind reception Murray who are always there. Worst customer service encountered, beware if they decide to charge additional fees, check your statements before passing over your credit card. Clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Owner at Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

It's true when people say "You can't please everyone". Your demands in regards to modifying the way things appeared on your bill and requiring the credit card pre-authorisation print out were just not possible - although we did try to offer alternatives. When you changed the way you wanted your room service to be delivered it would have been helpful if you contacted us - and yes we charge a room service fee of $4.00. Although it is not a hidden charge, it is in fact printed quite clearly on the room service menu.
I note your feedback conflicts with the many positive comments received from our guests on Trip Advisor and other web sites and I am proud that we have recently won a Trip Advisor "2014 Certificate of Excellence" award. You don't win an award like that with poor customer service.
It's obvious that we are unable to satisfy your requirements so you should stay somewhere else next time you are in Lismore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.2 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Lodge Motel
Lakeside Lodge Motel
#8 of 11 in Lismore
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#6 of 11 in Lismore
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lismore Bounty Motel
Lismore Bounty Motel
#5 of 11 in Lismore
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant

Address: 99 Ballina Rd, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range: $119 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary style four star motel accommodation less than a 5 minute drive to Lismore CBD, Southern Cross University and both the Lismore Base Hospital and St Vincents Hospital. We offer 34 spacious guest rooms in varying styles all with designer bathrooms, some with spa baths and all with ducted reverse cycle air conditioning, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a flat screen T.V with digital and Foxtel channels. Interconnected rooms, lift/elevator, guest laundry, disabled access rooms and non-smoking rooms.Outdoor swimming pool, on-site undercover parking, conference facilities, tour desk, bar/lounge, wheelchair access and free parking. Dine in our fully licensed restaurant for breakfast seven days a week or dinner Mon - Sat. Our dedicated Manager can assist in planning a residential conference or gala wedding, a birthday celebration and much more, simply submit your desired interest and we can plan the rest for you!Beautiful gardens and pool can be enjoyed at your leisure.We're 30mins from the beaches of Byron Bay and Ballina and conveniently located near regional airports and transport centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing