We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmet potential. First impressions.... yuk!”
Review of Melville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melville House
Ranked #1 of 10 Lismore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Smell of dog on entering. Our room was dirty, the rug a disgrace, with someone's old thongs left in the wardrobe. Dirty used cake of soap in shower & used single use shampoo & cond. bottles. Curtains hanging off railing. Sheets homemade(is ok) but these were theadbare & not even made of sheeting material. Bed very old & uncomfortable. Brekky was ok but served with no finesse. Linen on tables not even ironed. Dog wandering through brekky area. This should be classed as a boarding house not a b&b. Would we recommend it? Never! Would we stay again? Never!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255103Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Melville House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Had a great stay here - very well priced, nice room & great breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Melville House is a great B&B and Helen is a charming and attentive host. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, and the location is convenient to everything in Lismore. Helen knows where all the best restarurants and breakfast has everything you would want.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpjharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Clean large room with newly renovated bathroom. Wireless internet provided which was a plus for work. TV & fridge in the room. Air conditioned. The owner had a heap of local knowledge of region and eateries and how to get around. Maps and info for Bangalow & Byron which made it easier. Pool & garden area was huge but weather not suitable for swimming when I stayed. 2 min drive to uni and down the street to CBD area of Lismore.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGLAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This B and B has the potential to be outstanding but alas it does not live up to its potential.
The rooms are wonderful, well appointed, plenty of room and the bathrooms, grounds, swimming pool perfect. Even had wireless which for a travelling business person is a must, albeit a little slow.
During my one week stay however I had the following difficulties:
- The fridge had dead pizza in it on my arrival - and it stayed there the whole time I was there making the milk - which I had to find for myself smelly and full of pizza taste
- The room, whilst costing $100 a night was only serviced once for the entire week, and that was the last day I was there. The guest info and all advertising says that rooms are servcied daily and for that sort of money in a regional location you would expect that to be the case
- The room with selver service breakfast is $110 with $100 per night think that the difference in cost is also not justifiable - I am sure a fully cooked silver service breakfast would be worth more than that
- No credit card or EFT facilties
- a long way from town and eateries
- difficult parking or on the busy street parking only

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theunbeatentrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.8 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elindale House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lakeside Lodge Motel
Lakeside Lodge Motel
#10 of 11 in Lismore
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville House

Address: 267 Ballina Street, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lismore
Price Range: $64 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melville House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing