We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B you will ever find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville House
Ranked #1 of 9 Lismore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best B&B you will ever find”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Melville House is fantastic, quaint but modern and stylish. The photos are accurate and true. Where else can you find a diving board to plunge into twin sand filtered 200,000 litre, 3m deep end pool set under a cabana with sun lounges, surrounded by paving amid a lawned garden fenced by palm trees. The pool is fully safety fenced for those with kids or pets. Everything here is fantastic from Helen the hostess to the full buffet breakfast, the spacious room, the heavenly comfortable queen sized bed, the marble bathroom, parking, location and quiet and all within walking distance to a couple of fantastic restaurants. So good took 3 days. This local girl really knows her town & where to go to dine, shop, see & do. Helen is truly fantastic and the dog is not bad either, although a little long in the tooth

Room Tip: we had the upstairs room which had a beautiful breeze, and views over the pool, yard, and town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    25
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
62
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Melville House is gorgeous, stylish, pet friendly and the service is simply second to none!! We stayed there for 2 nights recently after a long journey and the rooms were so inviting, charming and comfortable. The pool and grounds are delightful and the breakfast was absolutely delish!!! Superb value, lovely people can't wait to stay again!!! 10/10!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Returned to Lismore with my son for the Qld Baseball Titles. Whenever we are in town, we stay at Melville House. Helen is fantastic and will go out of her way to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle free. The rooms are terrific, one of the best breakfasts in Lismore and she provides this at an affordable price. I don't look anywhere else, whenever I'm in Lismore, I just book in at Melville House. Year after year, we are never disappointed. Thanks Helen.

Room Tip: The rooms on offer are all different, so ring before you book to see what suits you the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlCrankyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at Melville House. Our room was enormous and very well presented. Modern large bathroom Very comfortable bed. Great value for money. Our host Helen was very friendly and cooked us a lovely breakfast both mornings. The pool which is enormous was not as clean as it could have been. Due to pump problems. The outside area around the pool needs abit of TLC.. Overall a great weekend and we will be back.

Room Tip: The large room upstairs Blue pearl overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights in a bedroom that took me back to my childhood days. Helen is a wonderful and happy host who cooks a mean breakfast, which I got to enjoy each morning with other friendly visitors, before heading off for the day. The atmosphere was lovely and relaxing especially over looking the unbelievable pool area with the rustic fence surrounding the property. I would recommend Melville House to anyone looking for accommodation that assures you a comfy bed and warm hospitality. I loved the mirror ball hanging in the garage!!!
cheers
Suzanne McGregor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed Sunday night arriving mid afternoon on our motorbike. Our host, Helen was engaging and welcoming. Our room was airy, light and extremely comfortable. We relaxed with the papers and current magazines in the lovely grounds overlooking the inground pool and surrounded by flowering trees. Our room had a fridge for chilling your wine and tea making facilities. Helen had great suggestions for our dinner options and left us to our own devices. Even our motorbike was parked off road and undercover in the properties garage. Much appreciated first thing in the morning. Our room had a heater and extra blankets and pillows. Breakfast was served at our leisure in the morning in the sunny breakfast room. Cereals with freshly poached fruits, plunger coffee, pot of tea and the best poached free range eggs left us very satisfied. A treasured find in Lismore.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyRose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed one night in June - four poster bed in huge room at the back of the house. Free wifi, good breakfast, very pleasant host. Thoroughly recommended. The only thing I can add is if you are not good at reversing - park on the road outside - the driveway is not super wide, nor is it straight. Will stay again if I need to overnight in Lismore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.8 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dawson Motor Inn
Dawson Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Lismore
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elindale House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
New Olympic Motel
New Olympic Motel
#5 of 11 in Lismore
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karinga Motel
Karinga Motel
#8 of 11 in Lismore
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville House

Property: Melville House
Address: 267 Ballina Street, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melville House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing