We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“"Home Away From Home"”
Review of Dawson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dawson Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Dapto, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Home Away From Home"”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Cricket Illawarra U12 Representative Team chose to stay at the Dawson Motor Inn throughout their 2011/12 Carnival Tour after the high recommendations from the previous year’s Cricket Illawarra U12 Representative Team.
To say that Peter, Gary and their staff are by far the most hospitable, kind and caring hosts would be an UNDERSTATEMENT. They truly go above and beyond anything that would ever be expected.
Their Motor Inn is truly worthy of more than the 3 stars stated for their rooms, facilities, location, services provided and for making you feel like THEIR place is YOUR place.
The recommendation from the Cricket Illawarra Representative Coordinator 2011/12 is that any Cricketers visiting Lismore in the future should highly consider making THE DAWSON MOTOR INN "THE PLACE TO BE AND STAY".
But make sure your quick on your bookings as the Cricket Illawarra Representative Program will be?????
As the boys said to you both on our last night presentation: YOU ARE LEGENDS AND YOU ROCK.

Erica Redman,
Cricket Illawarra
Jr Rep Coordinator 2011/12.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    47
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
40
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We arrived at the Dawson Motor Inn unaware due to a third party booking agent that our booking had been cancelled in error. The management went out of their way to find alternate accomodation at 8:30pm. We spent the 2nd night at the Dawson Motor Inn and was very impressed with the facilities - would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Had a great weekend at this hotel, very clean and will stay again. Showers good, beds comfortable. Good old fashioned service. Came to lismore for speedway. Nice and close.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Cleanliness, friendliness, albeit small rooms but the whole area including the pool, is very well maintained. The owners go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, but not in any way
obtrusive. Free wifi available, which is not always the case elsewhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Room was comfortable and well appointed. Friendly welcome by staff who know the area and are an excellent source of local knowledge. I left two ring's in the bathroom by accident and checked out. Before I even realised they were missing, there was a message on my voice mail to let me know they had been boxed up carefully and they were sent back to me by registered post.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H0lmesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Dawson Motor Inn and we found it to be a fantastic place to call home for a couple of days. The staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and willing to help, it made planning our days so easy. The room and facilities were in good condition. The location was excellent, being not far from the main shops. The meals were exceptional;, we had our evening meal brought to the room. I had the rib fillet steak with veggies & chips( the boys did veggies especial for me) and Jenny my partner had the Wild Barramundi in tempura batter, we could hardly get through it and breakfast was the same.
We would definitely return to the Dawson Motor Inn

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barry003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here when visiting Byron bay, it's only a 40 minute drive away. The hotel was clean, the rooms immaculate and the service exemplary. The guys that run it were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel also has a free laundry service and free wi-fi. Would definitely recommend staying here :-)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discodivaboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.6 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Lodge Motel
Lakeside Lodge Motel
#10 of 11 in Lismore
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karinga Motel
Karinga Motel
#8 of 11 in Lismore
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson Motor Inn

Property: Dawson Motor Inn
Address: 25 Dawson St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dawson Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart and Dianne,hosts of the Dawson Motor Inn are proud to have you stay with us.Our first-rate facilities and affordable accommodation will make your time in Lismore, be it business or leisure, relaxing and comfortable. The Dawson Motor Inn is Lismore's most popular motel and in a quiet location.Our 21 modern, clean, and all ground level units include Studio Rooms, Family Rooms and Executive Suites, all with off street parking right outside your room. All of our motel rooms have en-suite, reverse cycle air, dining table, writing desk, mini-bar, FREE wireless broadband and much more.With a refreshing salt-water pool & BBQ we'll make you feel right at home.FREE Fast Wi-Fi, FREE Guest Laundry, FREE use of BBQ at Pool, spotlessly clean, quiet at night, walk to CBD, home cooked Room Service Breakfast and Dinners. Voted 1 of 10 in Lismore.All of our units are 3.5 Star AAA rated, and we are situated on the edge of the CBD and only half an hour away from the beautiful beaches of Byron Bay and Ballina.Come and enjoy the natural beauty of the untouched Rainbow Region and pristine beaches of Byron Bay and Ballina. STUDIO ROOMAll rooms have a comfortable queen size bed, or queen and single bed, modern, dining table and chairs, writing desk and en-suite bathroom.Reverse cycle air conditioning, high-speed wireless internet access available FREE, Austar Pay TV (free), ISD/STD direct telephones. FREE Fast Wi-Fi, FREE Guest Laundry, FREE use of BBQ at Pool, spotlessly clean, quiet at night, walk to CBD, home cooked Room Service Breakfast and Dinners. Voted 1 of 10 in Lismore.In room mini bar, iron / board, toaster, hair dryer, tea / coffee, clock radio. Microwaves available.FAMILY ROOMFamily Rooms are very spacious rooms with separate lounge-room and bedroom, interconnecting bathroom, views to pool and palms. Dining table. 2 TV's. Queen- size bed in bedroom, single bed and a double pull-out sofa bed in lounge room, porta cot available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing