We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A re-invigorating weekend.”
Review of Woodford of Leura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodford of Leura
Ranked #10 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A re-invigorating weekend.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our visit began Thursday afternoon 15th November 2012 and continued to Sunday morning.
We arrived at the arranged time of 3 pm, to be greeted by our hostess, Danielle at the front door.
Danielle gave us a quick tour of "our" portion of the house and showed us our room.
After unloading our luggage we settled in for coffee and freshly baked cake thoughtfully provided.
We then went about exploring Leura. Later that evening we dined in Leura, before turning in for a very good night's sleep.
We awoke fully refreshed and enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked by Danielle.
Life quickly settled into a very comfortable pattern, Good food, good sleep and plenty to see.
Danielle is justifiably proud of her house, which is of solid construction with wonderful thermal stability and set in a lovely garden. The house, and equipment in the house all work well, looks good and is all clean.
Equally Danielle is justifiably proud of her cooking and seems to thoroughly enjoy her position as hostess. By the end of the weekend we felt as though we had known her all our lives.
Parting was actually slightly sad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having stayed in dozens of Blue Mtns B&Bs in the past 15 years how refreshing it was to stay in this cosy establishment with host Danielle. One thing you must get right in the mountains is the heating. At Woodford of Leura this is partly provided by a log fire in the lounge room which is concientiously tended by Danielle and creates an inviting atmosphere for guests. Previous experiences with open fires were that they were lit and neglected which just disappoints.
Throughout our 4 day stay, we were treated to homemade cakes daily, delicious apple and currant pancakes for breakfast and a lovely bottle of champagne as it was our anniversary. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the entire home with a good selection of reading matter and DVDs for wet weather. Conversations with other guests as well as our host were delightful and the selection of music playing added ambience in this homely enviroment. We stayed in the garden suite with verandah attached - I did find the bed a little uncomfortable(a bit lumpy) although my husband had no complaints. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: The garden room was a little bigger but all rooms looked great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were welcomed by Danielle, taken on a tour of the property and offered fresh home baked cake for afternoon tea. We had the garden room which also has a covered verandah overlooking the lovely garden with its sheltered pond and colourful parrots. It enhanced the room and it would be fabulous to sit out there in summer. The bed was very comfortable and the recently refurbished bathroom small, but perfectly adequate. We had access to two sitting rooms with comfy chairs and with a wood fire in the larger of these rooms. Plenty of tourist material was available including a booklet with information on the local restaurants. Danielle also gave us more information and both our choices yielded the type of meal we were seeking on the day. Hana Japanese restaurant produced a very tasty and reasonably priced meal with light, crisp tempura seafood and vegetables and delicious teriyaki salmon. The restaurant at the Alexandra Hotel served better than average pub/club meals.
Breakfast at Woodford includes cereals, fruits, juices, toast and a choice of hot dish. The Dutch apple pancakes were amazing (I had them both mornings) and my friend enjoyed the egg, bacon, sausages etc both mornings. The plunger coffee was just as I like it.
Danielle clearly loves her role as host and goes out of her way to make guests feel welcome. I hope to return in the summer and visit the local attractions we couldn't fit in this trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelheaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet and peaceful place to recover from work pressures. We discovered a beautiful and tranquil home run by Danielle. She is an outstanding host who warmly welcomed us. Our bedroom overlooked a lovely garden and we were spoiled with small treats around the house. The substantial breakfast was delicious and filled us for most of the day. We valued Danielle's recommendations about local restaurants and sites to visit. The porch overlooked beautiful birds feeding and we enjoyed the cat as well. The house and Danielle's hospitality were perfect. This was the first time we had stayed in a B and B so we were delighted by our experience. We will defintely return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Woodford of Leura is truly a brilliant place to stay to explore the spectacular Blue Mountains. Danielle offers a beautiful, homely environment, extremely comfortable and welcoming with excellent facilities. It's close to the lovely town of Leura with great shops and some very good restaurants. Her knowledge of the area and advice of where to go and what to see is invaluable and her delicious breakfast really sets you up for the days activities. We'll certainly go back and highly recommend it as a true gem to everyone who wants a wonderful Blue Mountains experience.

Pattie & Paul, France

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and found Danielle a good host although we were offered Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival when we booked. This consisted of a cup of tea and a piece of cake, not what afternoon tea means in England! We expected more.
Breakfast was good and the room pleasant although V small bathroom.
The only thing that rankled was the $10 charge for wifi, essential when away from family. Nearly every other B&B offered it free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay in the Blue Mountains. Convenient to all you want see. Clean. Comfortable. And Danielle is a terrific host. The breakfast was the best we had in 6 week as of stayin in B&Bs. And her home made snacks, like the orange cake, we're delicious.

Don't forget to spend some time on the back porch watching the birds. I've never seen so many cockatoos and parrots in the wild.

By the end we felt like friends. Thanks Danielle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#5 of 10 in Leura
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford of Leura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford of Leura

Property: Woodford of Leura
Address: 48 Woodford St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodford of Leura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mountain retreat located in one of Leura's quietest country lanes. This grand 1920's, home set on a near 1/2 acre of tranquil Sorensen gardens is renowned for it's gourmet breakfast served at your individual table. Est. in 1994, Woodford offers gracious 2- room suites or double rooms (all ensuite) and complimentary afternoon tea by the log-fire on arrival. It also features a 4-person spa/Jacuzzi and off-street parking. Winner 2000 Regional Award for Excellence in Tourism and NSW 2000 Tourism Awards Finalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodford of Leura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Of Leura Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing