We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend in a raining day”
Review of Woodford of Leura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodford of Leura
Ranked #10 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Rockdale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend in a raining day”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Dear Daniele! Thank you for your hospitality! Great rooms! VERY clean! very cosy and home-like atmosphere. Good library and DVDs collection. It was nice to stay in this hotel, had a glass of red next to a fireplace, read Oscar Wilde.. Amazing home-made cup-cakes, cats, nice garden! Unfortunately we stayed there only for 2 night! Sasha (Alexandra)+Igor

Room Tip: there just 3 rooms in a house. 1) with garden view!! 2) garden view with balcony 3) still good, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our stay for my wife & I was excellent. The host was really nice & welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. We were looking for a place that had a fireplace & was warm & cosy. This place had all that. I've stayed in the blue mountains 4 times with my wife & Woodford of Leura been the best. The room was warm & they have a good selection of movies on dvd that is included in the accomodation.
If your looking for a nice place that encapsulates the feel of the blue mountains then I would say that this places sums its up really well. Enjoy, Anthony & Samia

Room Tip: Stay in the room overlooking the garden. It looks amazing, It is warm & has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Woodford of Leura has just been purchased and is under new ownership. We chose it on the basis of previous positive reviews and we were not disappointed Danielle is warm but professional. We were welcomed with a warm smile, homemade scones and fabulous loose leaf herbal teas. Her breakfast menu caters for all tastes and diets. Not only does she offer a cold buffet as standard but there is also a fabulous hot breakfast. Her pancakes are to die for! Her enthusiasm and attention to detail really shows, for instance her complementary blueberry tart for guests to nibble on. I am so pleased that we stayed in leura. It is a quaint little town and the b&b is convenient for accessing the hiking trails. Another reviewer commented that room number 1, situated beside the main door, was noisy. I did not find this to be the case. Our room was tastefully decorated and even though a wee bit chilly, danielle had extra heaters,an electric blanket etc, which ensured that the room was toasty. In short, this is the b&b to book in Leura.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

You want a country B&B retreat in the mountains? You want heritage home, cosy rooms, a few luxury touches, welcoming log fire, attentive hostess who can't do enough to make your stay exactly what you want, and a killer carrot cake to feast on in the guest lounge? Then this will tick your boxes.

Danielle's doing a great job here. The rooms are spotless, everything is well maintained and while the heating could be kept on a little later at night than just 10pm, the comfortable beds, warm bedding and electric blankets just encourage you to curl up and watch an old movie on the in-room DVD and LCD TV.

Breakfast offers anything from a cold cereal-based buffet right through to a full fry-up via dutch pancakes and cinnamon porridge, expertly served up in manageable proportions without being overwhelming.

Overall an excellent experience, and highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EpiKevean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Danielle has only recently taken over this property and is doing a great job. She was warm and welcoming and was able to give some great tips about local eats. Our room was cosy, and on a cold winter's night the wood heater in the guest lounge was a great attraction to sit and relax. There are some nice touches - flowers on the table at breakfast, and a chocolate treat each in the bedroom, wine glasses for that bottle we brought back to enjoy. Breakfast was cereals, toast, juice, fruit and yoghurt with a nice selection for something hot - English breakfast, crepes, or croissant. We had a lovely weekend and would do it again.

Room Tip: Our bedroom was a little cool as it had a fireplace which drew cold air. Not a problem as bed was co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieMadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Visited Woodford of Leura with my husband as an escape for our wedding anniversary. The new owner 'Danielle' was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. She served home made biscuits with tea and plunger coffee in front of the open fire in the spacious lounge area. Very relaxing!
We stayed in the Queen deluxe room which had lovely views to the pretty gardens outside. The separate bathroom was both spacious and clean. The queen deluxe is a small room but very cosy, warm & comfortable.
Breakfast was served in the dining area and consisted of cereal, yoghurt, stewed fruit, toast and juice. There is also a selection of 3 different hot meals. I selected the dutch apple pancakes (yum) and my husband was very pleased with his full hot breakfast of bacon, eggs, hashbrown, sausage and tomato.
Woodford is a lovely accommodation with very pretty grounds. The new owner has great plans for Woodford and we look forward to visiting again.
I'd definitely recommend Woodford of Leura for a romantic and peaceful escape.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.7 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
0.6 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
1.9 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford of Leura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford of Leura

Property: Woodford of Leura
Address: 48 Woodford St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodford of Leura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mountain retreat located in one of Leura's quietest country lanes. This grand 1920's, home set on a near 1/2 acre of tranquil Sorensen gardens is renowned for it's gourmet breakfast served at your individual table. Est. in 1994, Woodford offers gracious 2- room suites or double rooms (all ensuite) and complimentary afternoon tea by the log-fire on arrival. It also features a 4-person spa/Jacuzzi and off-street parking. Winner 2000 Regional Award for Excellence in Tourism and NSW 2000 Tourism Awards Finalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodford of Leura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Of Leura Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing