We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned stay away from the touristy side of katoomba”
Review of Leura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leura House
Ranked #5 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned stay away from the touristy side of katoomba”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had a very pleasant overnight stay in this charming b&b. The house is run by a friendly queenslander couple in a generally efficient way, and breakfast can feel a little too communal if you are looking for a weekend private break. Lovely location about 10 minutes drive from the main katoomba sights.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianversteeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    25
    17
    29
See reviews for
27
118
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

At $190 per night it was shockingly overpriced.
Was expecting this converted Convent to be a bit classier than it was. Decor was not in keeping with an ex-convent and was quite hokey and run down. Our room was quite small and the bathroom was quite dated but clean. There was no place in the bathroom to put any toiletries which meant quite a juggling act to put on makeup and do hair.
Hosts were very friendly but realise we made a mistake in choosing a B&B instead of a hotel. Cannot understand how the price of the room was justified in any way.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We have stayed at Leura House many times in the past and have always enjoyed it. Things have changed, however, with the new management.

The price of staying here has generally ensured a higher level of accommodation. It should also mean a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Sadly these things are no longer present at Leura House, which means we'll no longer stay there.

A few things that affected us:

Smoking in the garden is too close to the building and the smoke drifts into the rooms. When both hosts smoke, this can be quite annoying. Surely smoking can be removed to further down the garden, away from the building.

The giant flat screen TV in the guest lounge is a bit off putting. While the room is inviting, the big TV showing sports at night, becoming the hosts' living room, can be off putting. When we go away it is for peace and quiet and a rest. This doesn't help.

The hosts, while being very friendly, do tend to over step the mark into being intrusive at times. I realise a lot of people enjoy this sort of thing but we don't.

On a more personal level, our room wasn't made up although we stayed two nights. We were not told to put a sign on the door if we wanted it done, so we assumed, like most places we've stayed around the world, that this meant it would be made up. We weren't really bothered about the bed or the towels but replenished tea and coffee and milk would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank orak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in Nov 2010. We were made most welcome by Denise and Larry - its so nice being welcomed by name when you check in - and it was no problem that we were early. Leura House is an old building and therefore not quite what we would be used to in terms of newness of furniture and fittings. In some ways it is stuck in a time warp but not in a dirty or unwelcoming kind of way. It was easy to find and only a short walk to the village centre. It is also very close to Three Sisters - you must go there as the scenery is stunning and if you are feeling fit, leave enough time to take the steps down to the bottom of the valley. Denise invited us to join a bbq some other guests were having and we were so glad we did. For $15 each we had a great bbq with the company of a team of area managers on a corporate jolly. Breakfast was pretty basic but Denise chatted to us and recommended some places to visit. Come time to check out and we had a nice surprise to learn our new found corporate friends had paid for our meal and drinks from the night before. WOW! So whilst the house itself is a little bit old and dated, the warm welcome more than made up for it. Great for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thank you, pudsontour, for your comments. We're both very happy you enjoyed your time here. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Came to Leura for the teapot museum and found this charming place to stay! Denise and Larry were fantastic hosts--friendly and very accommodating. Loved meeting their retrievers, Jack & Grissom, too! Lovely old fashioned tiles in the bathroom and a fantastic shower made our stay even better. There are some minor niggles with the property, but it's an old building and these are being addressed. Leura is a charming village and Leura House is a wonderful place to stay. Hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philmchick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Thank you Philmchick31 for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Things are improving here all the time, so hopefully the next time you are visiting, you'll come and stay and everything will be much better.

There's always room for improvement and we believe we have the ability to do that. Thanks again and safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed with a group of five friends for one night. Easy walking distance to Leura Mall with shops and cafes. Beautiful character filled building and bedrooms with ensuites. New managers welcoming and friendly, however the boundary between providing a service and the accommodation being an extension of their own home is blurred. Not a good look for to be wandering around (outside) with a beer and cigarette whilst answering guests questions. More suited to an outback pub. The two labradors are beautiful dogs, well-behaved but have the run of the communal areas where guests meet. If you don't like dogs then this is a negative. 4 of us weren't able to have a shower in the morning and we weren't told when booking in, despite the manager telling us on checkout when we asked about the problem of no hot water, that the hot water system had been playing up for nearly 9 weeks. What would have happened if we had stayed for 2 nights??? Two of us shared a room and requested 2 beds on booking ... the second bed was a pull-out sofa bed, despite the room having plenty of space for a proper bed. I understand though this was planned for later on, but again not made aware of this at the time of booking. We decided against having the inclusive breakfast, opting for a Leura Mall cafe. Mixed feelings about recommending this guest house - check if the hot water is working.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahden14, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments, Carrie33, and we will take them on board for future reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Failford NSW
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had a great stay at Leura House for 3 nights in early October. Friendly, co-operative hosts Denise & Larry. Large, well appointed room with comfortable bed and including settee and good overhead lights for reading (often lacking in hotels!); large, moden en-suite - with no hot water problems! Big communal lounge and enchanting garden room for breakfast. Well located - only a short walk to Leura Mall shops and restaurants.
Only negative would be if you didn't like or were allergic to dogs - the hosts have two beautiful and well controlled / behaved labradors ... who know they are not allowed in kitchen or dining areas (or upstairs in guests' rooms, of course). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FailfordNSWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments FailfordNSWtraveller. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a little bit of exciting news...well, for us anyway. Our plumber arrived, told us what the problem was and is in the process of fixing our issues. It's only taken 12 weeks to get the problem looked at, so the next time you think of coming to stay we should have everything sorted :)

As for our dogs, thank you for the comment about guests with allergies. We did have that issue with one couple, however because we don't allow the dogs into rooms and maintain a high level of cleanliness with them in general, our guests were very pleased to stay.

Your comment will help us to work out a better way for those guests who do have an issue with dogs to be able to enjoy their stay just as much as those guests who do adore dogs.

Thanks again for your words of encouragement and we hope you come back again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
898 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Property: Leura House
Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing