We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous- will be back.”
Review of Leura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leura House
Ranked #5 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We were very surprised by some of the poor reviews. We stayed only one night but would have loved to have stayed longer. The bedroom was spacious, attractive and comfortable. Complimentary tea/ coffee and biscuits near the lounge, as in the bedroom. The very large lounge was divided into a TV area and a "relaxing in front of the fire" area with books/ games- this was lovely after dinner. There was also a bar area. The garden was gorgeous, as was watching the fog roll in in the late afternoon. Dinner was lovely, as was breakfast. The location is ideal- a short stroll to the Leura shops. We had no issues with the heating, while we were not there in the middle of winter, it was a cold snap the weekend we were there. Along with the central heating there was a column heater which we turned off because we got too hot. At breakfast we were surprised to see so many people as the house had been so quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jssajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2009

After reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked for the Yulefest in July, but we were disappointed.
The Yulefest dinner was expensive and more like “pub” food, with the plate piled high with vegetables. There are far better places to have a Yulefest dinner in the Blue Mountains than here. Even though there were Christmas decorations, the dining room lacked atmosphere!
We stayed in July, and it was cold. There is no “roaring log fire”. It is a gas fire, and it is turned off early in the evening (one night we got home at 8pm from going out to dinner) and the fire was off, and the fire is not on in the mornings at breakfast time! The lounges in the lounge room are very low, very soft and very hard to get out of. Not suitable for elderly people like us. We visited the Fairmont Resort on one of the real cold days, and sat for hours in front of their open fire place reading the papers and enjoyed the Blue Mountains atmosphere and briskness. The lounges here were firm and suitable to sit and read, with tables at the right height for the lounge. But be careful, there reviews on Trip Advisor for here are really bad, and that’s why we booked at Leura House. We only visited Fairmont Resort to use their lounge and sit in front of the open fire! I don’t recommend staying here either.
Leura House is centrally heated, but the central heating comes on at 4pm and is turned off at some time early in the night. It comes on again at some time in the morning, but again it is not on all day. So the rooms are cold, the bathrooms are absolutely freezing, and the hallways and lounge room are cold. The dining room at breakfast time is cold, especially when the door is left open (we saw one man wearing his wife’s jacket at breakfast!) I should mention there was an electric heater in our room but the temperature gauge was faulty, however it did (sort of) heat our room.
There are electric blankets on the bed, but one control for the queen blanket. So both people have to have the same temperature!

The rooms are very noisy. You hear your neighbours come and go, and you can hear kids running, jumping in the hall, etc. We were woken on the both nights we stayed at 11pm and 12.30am by our neighbours comings and goings, as well as early morning when our neighbours left their rooms. At times we could hear them talking, but couldn’t make out what they were saying as we are a little deaf with age.

Hot water: Good pressure, but it ran out one day, so we think it must be off peak. So be careful of having a shower at night!

Good points: Owners are friendly. It is clean, beds are good, linen is clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided all day. Breakfast is made to order, but we were a bit dubious about the fresh fruit on day 1. It didn’t taste quite right, maybe it was the day before’s re-used? It was OK on the second morning.

Over the years we have stayed at the Carrington, the Hydro Majestic and other bed and breakfasts in the Mountains during the July/August period for Yulefest. In the main, they were all better than Leura House. And the Yulefest dinner at the Carrington leaves this place for dead (but it is $125 per person), with great food, carol singers, piped band entertainment and a real friendly Santa Clause! We have been the Carrington Yulefest many times and their grand dining room and lounge areas are great. You don’t have to stay at the Carrington, you can stay anywhere and just go to the Yulefest dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed one night here and it truly is a hidden gem.

We were hiring a car and travelling around Sydney as part of our honeymoon. We were made very welcome by Leura House's ex-pat owners.

During our stay it was Yulefest, where locals celebrate a second Christmas in June & July, so there were Christmas decorations and trees everywhere, which was a bit unexpected but then the weather suited it!

Leura town is lovely, and the house is in a great location to walk down to the shops etc.

The room was very comfortable, the lounge was huge and there was tea, coffee and biscuits on tap free of charge in the lounge.

We loved it here and I am sure you will too

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We could not recommend Laura House to anyone.
Cold, tasteless, expensive food. Lack lustre service.
The whole experience was memorable for all the wrong reasons.
At least Fawlty Towers was funny....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou_louVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed at Leura House for 1 night during a stop over in the Blue Mountains. The hotel is one of the oldest residences in Leura and has some interesting history. Situated about 5-minutes walk from the main shopping street in Leura, it is a perfect base from which to explore the town and also the Blue Mountains. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and all have veranda's with views over the gardens. Breakfast was very tasty. Overall we had a pleasant stay at Leura House.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmePeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Hi,
I am the first one to give this B&B not five stars and maybe it has simply had the bad luck that it rained and was cold during our one night stay but compared to other places in Australia (see crown and anchor in Eden) it fell off a bit.
The greeting was nice and warm and the hosts were friendly, helpful and serviceminded all the way through. The room was big in itsef but getting it heated turned out to be not that easy. And even though the room and the bathroom were clean, the bathroom was rather small and lacked any atmosphere.
The breakfast was average to what we got during our trip in Australia, eggs were made to order and it was all tasty and nice.
The one big disadvantage the B&B has that it is too far from the attractions to have a walk to them. What impressed us despite the rain was the nice garden.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay Leura house is family owned and they make you feel really welcome and are very helpful. Its location is ideal in the blue mountains walking distance to the shops, bars etc. The breakfast was lovely, the rooms clean and service great.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#6 of 10 in Leura
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 10 in Leura
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: $86 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing