We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprise discovery”
Review of Leura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leura House
Ranked #5 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stayed a few nights in Leura House. The room was very warm and comfortable during a very cold and windy weather season.The hot breakfast was well prepared and enjoyable. All the attractions of Leura are in easy walking distance. The building and gardens are well maintained and interesting. A lovely quiet location we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The B and B is in a good spot with a nice little walk to leura, but over priced for what it is. A bath but no bath gel! Average rooms with average furnishings and only the bare essential, nothing like the charm promised on the website. It is old and tired. Breakfast was ok and the owner was pleasent, however here are so many accommodation options in and around leura I would not reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago and had great memories, unfortunately the new owners haven't got it quite right yet. The rooms were large and comfortable, the beds and pillows also comfortable, however the towels were thin and need replacing. The decor needs some attention desperately. This is a beautiful stately home and accessories like shag rugs and tacky tiger wall hangings should be removed. Better to have a blank wall and bare carpet than these items. Breakfast was included in the price and while the offerings of a continental menu was available, the only hot food brought out to each guest was a plate each with two hard poached eggs, half a grilled tomato and two paper thin undercooked pieces of short cut bacon. On the second morning when we asked about scrambled eggs we were told not available, sorry to hard to do with so many guests? One last comment, we did miss the pre dinner drinks in front of the log fire each night before we went out to dinner which we enjoyed previously. We won't be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Newcastlef00d13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a night at Leura House and had a wonderful time. The rooms were super clean, very spacious, warm and inviting. The house is gorgeous and the views and grounds are lovely. Most of all, our hosts were extremely friendly, very hospitable and made the stay a very warm and relaxing one. The hosts greeted us in from the cold, welcomed us, had a lot of knowledge about the house and area and made us feel very comfortable. Our cooked brekky was very yummy too!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_traveller248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's a shame we only got to stay for 1 night.
The building in itself is a beautiful 18th century building full of character and a very nice sense of homeliness.
The owner Garry amd his wife made us feel so welcome and were there to help us with whatever we needed without any hassle. The room in itself is a standard hotel room but for the price we paid it was 100% worth it. The living area was just gorgeous and spacious.We sat by an open fire to eat our dinner and the room was full of lounges, tables and entertainment including foxtel, board games, puzzles and books. There was even sweets and fresh fruit available for when we had finished dinner. A very warm and homely feel. The gardens out the back are perfect if you have kids and it is just as nice to sit out in the sun for a cup of tea. We can't wait to go back for a longer amount of time.

Thanks for having us!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeengray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

In saying that there was no room at the inn, I mean they lost our booking! How annoying after I booked and paid online a week and some days ago. And yes I have the receipt. When my daughter and her husband arrived at 2.00 checkin time, they were told there was no booking and therefore no room. They had driven four hours to get there as they had a wedding to attend at 3.00 in Wentworth Falls.
After lots of phone calls and posturing and blaming , my daughter was told she could have a room at the Clarendon in Katoomba.. All good and well, but by now it was almost 2.30. No time to check in over there till after the wedding..
My daughter then had to prepare herself for the wedding in the public toilet! They were not even offered a room to change in..
I lived in Leura for 38 years until very recently, and I have never heard of such bad manners at this guest house. I knew the previous owners in a business capacity, and had no hesitation making my booking. Sadly I was not aware of the change of ownership.. Will read reviews next time...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainyKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived late in Leura, (well about 7pm) and after being told by one property that they didn't accept anyone after 5.30 ! we arrived at Leura House where they were more than happy to accommodate us. We took 2 standard rooms in the stately mansion and were more than happy at the standard of the room.
The property is at the top of Leura Mall, so only a couple of minutes walk into town to the restaurants and shops. We were very happy with the lovely welcome we received, the rooms and the property and lovely gardens. We would happily recommend it to others for a beautiful old world experience with modern facilities..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
591 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#6 of 10 in Leura
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: $86 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing