We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks so much Denise and Larry”
Review of Leura House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leura House
Ranked #6 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks so much Denise and Larry”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. I chose to go away on my own for a quiet weekend away. Denise and Larry were two of the most friendly, kind and hospitable people you could meet. The lounge area had a lovely fire place with gentle labradors helping to make the stay relaxing and calm. The hosts were always willing to chat and to help out in any way. This helped to make other guests feel comfortable and I chatted to quite a few people. Without the host's friendly attitude it would have been just like any other hotel where none of the guests speak to each other. D and L were always willing to help in any way. Breakfast was lovely and everything was definitely value for money. The Victorian style building is well maintained and has old world charm not to mention the beautiful grounds surrounding the house. I would definitely recommend this place and I'm sure I'll be back again. Thank you Denise and Larry!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Operator until 31st July 2012 at Leura House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Annie, for your lovely comment. We enjoyed helping you to be as comfortable as possible. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    59
    25
    17
    30
See reviews for
28
120
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A group of us stayed at Leura house for the weekend for a Christmas in July weekend. The rooms were overpriced and ours smelt damp and musty.
The Christmas dinner for $55 per person was like something you would get at the RSL for under $10 and the service was begrudging.
The hosts used the guest lounge as their personal drinking spot and we had to put up with the host and his friend drinking andsmoking outside our room in the evening and in the morning. Not very romantic at all. This weekend was memorable but for all the wrong reasons. Go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyPKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Previous operator until 31st July 2012 at Leura House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
The majority of our guests enjoyed their stay with us; however we did get people like yourself from time to time.

Show me the RSL Club where you could get mulled wine, entree, main meal, dessert, discounted drinks and free bottles of wine for less than $10. We'd all flock to the place.

To be sure, to be sure, I wouldn't have thought going to a B&B with a group was romantic.

Run, rabbit, run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leura hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Leura House for 1 night and we found the house to be beautiful, the rooms large and very clean and the owners lovely and down to earth.

The highlight was breakfast. The owners were so quick and organised in preparing our fry up breakfast and it was lovely. I was very touched also when the owner Larry presented all the ladies at breakfast with a chocolate roses saying that everyday at Leura House was Valentines Day. I loved it. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeesaH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Previous operator until 31st July 2012 at Leura House, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful kindness. We put our hearts and souls into the business and hopefully it showed with the way we looked after you, our treasured guests.

We have since ceased operating as the lessee of Leura House, due to safety concerns with the building, which has made it very difficult to conduct our business to the best of our ability. We both hope you find somewhere else in the mountains, on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hello everyone!

We LOVED our stay at Leura House and couldn't recommend it more to anyone wanting a bit of a break from the city (or country, or life)!

The room was delightful and cosy, the view spectacular, and the location just a moments walk to the city centre- which proved immensely convenient.

Denise and Larry were perfect hosts. If you do stay, please take the time to sit down and have a glass of wine with them- they have great stories to tell.

We can not disagree more with some of the ridiculous comments on this site. We like to have a weekend away fairly regularly, and it was so refreshing to finally stay in a place with so much heart. This place is a billion times nicer than any fancy pretentious hotel we've stayed.

We had an absolute blast and will definitely be back there again soon.

5 stars from us.

Clare and Ryan

Room Tip: We had Room 11- highest point in Leura!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you Clare and Ryan, for your heartwarming comments. You are the kind of guests who understand the house for what she is and you make our very demanding job just that little easier. Cheers to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Leura House is totally overpriced so failed to meet expectations.

Our room was spacious but basic it had none of the touches that one would expect for the price. The television is connected to a VCR, that’s how old the styling is. The décor is non-existent with tired furnishings (old cheap brown coverlets). Being seasoned travellers we decided to soldier on as we were only in town for two nights and had been looking forward to our time away.

Unfortunately the house had an overwhelming smell of toilet spray which got worse and worse during our stay. We discovered that the proprietors had two Labradors that had run of the house and we assume that was the reason the toilet spray was being deployed constantly. The house smelled of dog and toilet spray. It was very off putting. They were lovely dogs (we love dogs) but if you allow pets to have run of the B&B then they should be groomed regularly.

Our room was not made up from the first night which wasn’t a big deal but again for the price it should be the standard.

Breakfast was included, both a continental and hot breakfast option was offered. Both were fine and the addition of hot cross buns and Easter eggs on Easter Sunday was a nice touch.


Unfortunately the standard of the room and lack of anything that would make this B&B cosy and inviting for the price means that we would not book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is a shame you did not come to us when you had an issue with things in the house. We take immense pride in keeping the place clean and tidy, as well as constantly keeping our labradors as clean as possible.

We don't use the "toilet spray" to hide any smells. except to take away the 'old' smell in the house. The house is over 100 years old. I'm sure you have been in houses of that age and encountered old smells. This 'aroma' is not of our doing, but the fresheners are the only thing we have found to keep the place smelling fresh.

I would hope you had looked at our website before booking with us. We advise all those looking to stay with us, that we have two labradors and they do stay in the ground floor area (the lounge only.) Our dogs are washed every three weeks, as we are very aware of the 'doggy' smell that can be offensive to people. We find it offensive, ourselves.

As for the room, we have not increased our rates since we began here in July 2010. I could go on and on about the increases in utilities costs that we have not passed on to our rates structure. But I won't bore readers with that information. I'll let others make their own decisions based on what we charge.

Regarding room servicing, we have made it perfectly clear, in our information book which is in all 13 rooms, that we do not service rooms if people are staying for only two nights, unless you ask us. That expectation is relevant for 4 star accommodation houses.

We have 12 rooms with televisions, and 14 rooms with beds and bedding that needs upkeep. It takes time and money to replace all the out of date furnishings. Some guests like the idea of reverting back to watching a video. Obviously not everyone, though.

Leura House B&B is owned and operated by two people, myself and my partner. We try our best to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. We try to welcome all our guests as if you are the only ones in the house. Our dogs love and adore people, so we make no apologies for their welcoming style.

We always ask guests how their stay was, and we have a motto -

"If you enjoyed your stay, tell your friends. If you didn't, please, tell us before you tell others."

We can't fix things if we don't know about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I see that two earlier negative reviews were by british visitors, well we're not all 'whingeing poms'!
We recently spent 2 nights at Leura House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Though the room we had on our first night was spotlessly clean and well equipped,it was dark and I wasn't too happy with it.When this was mentioned to Denise she was more than willing to move us to a superior room at no extra cost for our second night which we greatly appreciated.
A very good selection available at breakfast and Larry excelled himself with his bacon and eggs.
We found Denise and Larry to be friendly, accomodating and helpful and we loved their 2 yellow labradors!

We had supper at the Bon Ton Restaurant in Leura which we can thoroughly recommend......loved the Aussie Basil Fawlty!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExmoorAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you from all of us at Leura House. Anything we can do, to make our guests comfortable and have a memorable stay, is important to us. We love our labradors too. Bon Ton's owner, David, is one of the nicest people we have had the pleasure of meeting. We're happy you enjoyed yourselves there too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoomba
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Denise and Larry are two of the nicest and kindest people that you could ever encounter ... and the 2 dogs make the visits here even more welcoming! Unfortunately it seems on this site (and others like it) some people like to whinge about all manner of PETTY things (ash trays and animals) ... people who are just NOT HAPPY in themselves. Leura House has improved dramatically from the last owners - and had you really wanted a bad experience they would have been the ones to be "entertained" by! Keep up the good work Denise and Larry and don't change who you are ! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okkie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for your words of encouragement. We do try our best to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Property: Leura House
Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing