We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!!”
Review of Leuralla

Leuralla
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Leura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fabulous place to spend a couple of hours! There is a lot to see and it is very interesting. It is a grand old house that incorporates many interesting things. There was plenty of comments about
seeing those toys when we were kids! The railway section out the back and the grounds are all worth a visit. Do'nt miss going across rhe road to the park. The view is spectacular! We will visit here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    28
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely house and garden, eye-popping toy collection”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

$40 for a family is a very fair price to see this home, gardens, and toy collection. This is a classic wealthy family's Blue Mountains holiday home, with a magnificent garden and a stunning toy collection. The toy collection is a bit odd..... so much is here, from some of the most famous names in toy collecting (Steiff bears, Tri-ang toy cars, massive original Meccano sets, 1950s and 1960s Barbie dolls etc) all packed into massive glass display cases in several rooms, but with almost no information about the items, so unless you are an Antiques Roadshow/American Pickers fan you will have little idea how special the toys are. Re the dreaded "Nazi toys", we felt uncomfortable about them too, but they are part of toy history. Toys have always been used for propaganda purposes, and other politically unsavoury toys are there including a massive procession in India, with elephants, clearly put on for the entertainment of the one or two white figures in the crowd of hundreds. Also a Vietnam War era soldiers playset with American soldiers kindly holding up a sign to the Vietnamese fishermen telling them to surrender or be shot (!) The only suggestion I could make to the managers is to have a notice on the doors of the rooms with "Nazi toys" so people could avoid those areas if the need to. The offending toys themselves were just processions in front of Herr Hitler.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too expensive!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We got there 40 minutes before closing, the grumpy man at the desk didn't even great us just asked for $40, we thought it may be a little cheaper as we only had limited time before closing as other museums have done this in the past, no map no information was given, when we asked some questions he answered them but in a very grumpy manner. Yes the house was beautiful and yes there was a good variety of toys but $40 for a family was very steep, it would be nice for them to also add in some later types of toys so the younger generations can enjoy too, we then went into the garden to look at the trains, great display but you had to pay $2 to get them going, the garden across the road also owned but the musuem also costs an extra $2 per person, over all very dissapointed this wasn't included in the admission price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Toy Museum”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved Leuralla - great old house with connection to Australian historical past. However, the Toy Museum was stunning. It was very nostalgic with many of the tours I knew in my childhood looking back at me. An excellent display and then outside were 5 acres of another gorgeous garden together with loads of train history from throughout NSW. A must see when you visit the Blue Mountains

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tourist spot! Great gardens and museum”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Well worth the visit, great gardens plus railway and toy museum all on the one location! Train displays are fantastic! Very informative staff and helpfull. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peakhurst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leuralla also viewed

 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Leuralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing