We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Inn Spires, Leura, Blue Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
St Helens, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leisure Inn Spires, Leura, Blue Mountain”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in March 2013.
The apartment is ok in terms of size and facilities, but the whole apartment building (Named Bass) is very close to a busy road and railway, it is very noisy all the times and especially at night, just can't rest well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sisi C

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us in April. From time to time we do receive feedback on the noise overnight from particular areas of the property. This is beyond our control and is the result of the proximity of the property to the local railway and only affects a couple of our rooms from time to time.

Rest assured we are working on this and currently investigating the option of double glazing in some of the rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and I welcome the opportunity to hopefully see you again at Leisure Inn Spires.

Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    211
    98
    32
    16
See reviews for
114
254
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at this property 15-20 times in last 2 years mainly for work purpose but also twice in last year with my family with 2 young children during weekends/school holidays. These apartments are very nice size and offers convenience of full kitchen in 1 bed room apartments which is very useful when traveling with young children. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Freddie and Nathan. Check in/Check out is usually quick and efficient. For afterhours arrivals they do have a safe box outside and they issue a code if you contact them prior to arrival or ring after hours phone. There are lot of positives especially its location, very close to Leura Mall and also onsite restaurant. Only drawback is loud noise especially at night as it is very close to highway. Another problem for people with mobility issues is there is no elevator and they have very few rooms on ground floor available but I think they do offer ground floor rooms on request most times.I recommend asking room away from road to reduce outside traffic noise. Perhaps management should consider better insulation/noise reduction options if feasible as it is perhaps only drawback for an otherwise nice property.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main highway preferably on south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Travelfan 123456

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I was happy to read your positive feedback and all feedback has been past onto relevant staff members.

We are always more than happy to offer ground floor rooms when available especially for guests who may be less mobile than others.
We are also currently working on noise reduction measures such as the possibilities of double glazing and further insulation to assist in this area.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome the opportunity to see you again at Leisure Inn Spires.

Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights in a one bedroom apartment at Leura Spires Inn (Leura, Blue Mountains, NSW) and unfortunately would not recommend this place.

Pros:
* Close to the main road from Sydney
* Close to the Leura railway station
* Close to the shops and restaurants of Leura Mall
* Spacious one bedroom apartment
* Good parking and access to apartments (no lifts for the less mobile)

Cons:
* Because it is close to main road from Sydney, the traffic noise is easily transmitted across the field into the apartment. Car noise is ok, but the trucks using their air brakes is really loud
* Because it is close to railway station, the local trains run approximately every hour and are not too bad, but the freight trains are really, really loud, especially in the middle of the night
* Indulgent neighbours who do not close doors quietly as each door slam reverberates up and down the stairs into each apartment. This could be easily fixed by proper signage and fixing the door closers on each door of the building
* Indulgent noisy neighbours who tromp around upstairs in their high heels, yes high heels and move furniture around at random!
* Thin walls, so that TV and conversations can be heard between one bedroom and studio (dual key entry) apartments

There are much better places we have stayed in Leura and the Blue Mountains, but you know what they say, you pay for what you get. Leura Spires Inn is not 5 Star!

Room Tip: Better to stay somewhere more remote in another part of Leura and walk everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLouSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear PaulLouSydney,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear that you encountered some difficulties during your stay at the Leisure Inn Spires.
As you’ve pointed out, our location nearby the train station is both an advantage and a disadvantage. An advantage as a lot of our guests arrive by train and only need to cross the road to reach our hotel. A disadvantage as the freight trains carrying coal from Lithgow run every 4 hours. The noise is unfortunately unavoidable, especially against the quiet backdrop of Leura.
We have taken your suggestion and have adjusted the door closer of the building doors so that they close more quietly.
We do encourage all our guests and tenants to be respectful and considerate of their neighbors and to avoid very loud noises and conversations, especially at night time. The walls in the rooms are all made of fairly thick solid concrete and under normal circumstances, noise between units is usually not an issue. It seems that during your stay, you unfortunately had noisy neighbors. If it is in our control, we respond to noise complaints very promptly and if all else fails, we can usually organize a room change in another building away from the source of the noises.
Again, I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was spoiled due to the noise issues but we will definitely take your suggestions and feedback on board for our future refurbishment plans on improved sound insulation for the apartments.

Best regards
Freddie Hauva
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 1 night for my birthday in February. The apartment we stayed in was a perfect size and having the kitchen was a brilliant so we were able to keep all our picnic food cold. We also had 2 balconys which was great. The location is perfect and close to all the sites in the Blue Mountains, as well as some amazing restaurants and shops in Leura. We were also happy that we were offered secure parking for our car which we gladly took advantage of.


I'd recommend this place for anyone who is looking for an affordable and lovely spacious place to stay in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincesskceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

this place was nice enough - underground parking, right across from Leura train station.
cute little town, hotel right at the beginning of the main street.
just a no frills place.
clean, comfortable bed and good heating.
rooms smelled a bit stale.

Room Tip: the Bass section where we were was facing another building, no view whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Leisure Inn, Leura for two nights while we explored the blue mountains area. We stayed as a family of three. The overall stay was just perfect with no problems at all. The room was done up perfectly. All the appliances and services functioned well. The kitchen which we used extensively was well equipped and stocked up.
The bathrooms were immaculate.
We had no issues at all during out stay, It was quiet and hassle-free.
The area is pretty calm and nice, much less crowded and tourist-y like Katoomba. Few good restaurants, super-market(Woolworths) and large basement parking.
We did not have much interaction with the staff as there was no need.
nice place. will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PranavDatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had considered staying for two nights, but thankfully for us the one bedrooms were all full. The studios are very small indeed, whilst the one bedroom are very spacious, but that is where the plus points end. The noise from the freight trains is VERY LOUD, but worse was the damp smell which pervaded the room. The balcony was covered in leaves, there was a kitchen unit door hanging off, the jacussi bath didnt work, the shower was broken and you could feel every wire on the electric blanket through the sheet. All in all an experience I would not wish to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Gillian,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that you encountered some significant difficulties during your stay with us.
Our location nearby the train station is both an advantage and a disadvantage. An advantage as a lot of our guests arrive by train and only need to cross the road to reach our hotel. A disadvantage as the freight trains carrying coal from Lithgow run every 4 hours. The noise is unfortunately unavoidable, especially against the quiet backdrop of Leura.
I sincerely apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues that you found in the apartment. We have pushed our housekeepers and maintenance to look into the issues you pointed out and to ensure that it does not happen again. Unfortunately, Leura being in an elevated area with colder climate, we sometimes experience very misty weather which can sometimes create a damp smell, especially in the units that are closer to the tree line at the back as they are shaded from the sunlight. During the month of February and early March, we experienced a lot of thunderstorms, strong winds and heavy rainfall, which resulted in a daily barrage of falling leaves and branches.
In regards to the maintenance issues that you encountered, I wished that you had reported it to us during your stay so that we could have immediately arranged the necessary repairs or organized a room change. I do sincerely apologize for the problems with the spa bath and the shower. We are usually on top of the maintenance but it seems as though we have failed in this case. I have addressed the issues with our maintenance department to ensure that we do not allow any issues like yours to fall through the cracks.
I do hope that you will decide to return to our hotel so that we can have another opportunity to show you a higher level of service and standard as it looks like you have caught us on our worst side. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any future bookings with us and I will ensure that you are allocated a room away from the train line and in a room free of any maintenance issues.

Freddie Hauva
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains

Property: Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Address: 100 Leura Mall, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Oaks Spires Leura)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains Hotel Leura
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains Leura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing