We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Old Leura Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Leura Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We absolutely loved this place. We stayed in the Studio, and were lucky to do so (as our tour operator had messed up our booking, and we almost had to go elsewhere). But the lovely folks at Old Leura Dairy sorted things out for us, for which we are really grateful as I could tell it was the kind of character place we would love. And we weren't disappointed. It is so unique, fun, and really, really comfortable. All of the folk working at The Dairy were so kind and helpful too. I loved the cockatoo dawn chorus - not as tuneful as I'm used to, but I was immensely excited to see and hear these fabulous birds everywhere. Excellent, excellent place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoochMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was great to have you stay with us. I know this trip was a very special one and I am so thrilled that Old Leura Dairy was a part of it. Treasure your memories on your return to the UK.

Thank you for your review of our property, we are unique with loads of character and we certainly aim to look after all of our guests. We are pleased you loved your stay.

Kind regards
Linda Hukins
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the sight of shanty buildings had US wondering what our travel agent had been thinking about. We soon changed our minds. The interior of the studio was excellent and the breakfast provisions were delicious and comprehensive. The grounds were attractive and the bird life noisy but fascinating. The whole concept of ecological sensitivity was refreshing and in keeping with the blue mountain location.

Room Tip: The fitness centre is all around you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have stayed for work and for recreation. I have also recommended many people to stay here.
The photos do not do the place justice. It is an amazing experience. This is not the sort of hotel experience that can be created by a high end chain of hotels. The owners have created a vision that is truly unique. The decor is made up of very unlikely combinations of pieces but it works so well. Not to mention the beds are very comfortable. Can't bet a real fire.
It really is amazing on every level.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneansin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days before Christmas. Leura is a great location from which to explore the Blue Mountains, not too far to drive to lots of great sights and Leura itself is a delightful old town full of lovely restaurants and quaint old shops.
The barn itself was delightful and had everything we needed for a very comfortable three night stay. The beds were great, lots of hot water for the shower and good wifi for the internet. We enjoyed eating and drinking out on the patio and using the BBQ too. Hope to come back one day!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SDW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The route directions were excellent.
Checking in perfect.
The room (we were in the Studio) was marvellously eclectic with everything one could need for a weeks stay let alone overnight. After 3+ weeks on the road it was a pleasure to make our own breakfast and eat it on the shaded but sunny porch.
Enjoyed the hot tub whilst drinking a nice cold tinnie!
Loved the tin bath whilst looking out at the sky.
The apricot jam was to die for, shame we couldn't take used jar back but still on holiday for three weeks.
As you will gather from this review - we liked this place quite a lot. Also lived the location as easy stroll into town for bars and restaurants and plenty if sightseeing and walking in Blue Mountains.
Well done with design and construction of this little village.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

very nice Cottage. best Installation + equipment we met till now in Australia. really all in that Cottage what you wish: coffeemachine, dish-washer, wash-mashine + dryer, top equiped kitchen, grill for barbeque outside, and, and, and.
we would like to have more of These perfect accomodation on our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way to the Blue a Mountains & our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We stayed in the Milking Shed, is so quirky, lots of little details & with great facilities. We didn't venture into Leura in the evening because we loved the shed so much, we ended up staying in and having dinner, was probably one of the most relaxed nights of our holiday. Also had great fun using the hot tub, fantastic way to chill with a cool beer! This is such a peaceful place and the mezzanine bedroom was fab. Don't expect a lie in though, the dawn chorus is noisy (but then we're just townies!). Great individual place, would love to return

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Leura Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Leura Dairy

Property: Old Leura Dairy
Address: 61 Kings Rd | Blue Mountains, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Leura Dairy 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Leura Dairy is leading the way in Australia's luxury, boutique, eco accommodation; offering a unique and exclusive travel experience in the beautiful World Heritage Blue Mountains. Nestled in the quaint village of Leura you are central to all the rugged beauty, attractions, dining experiences, pampering and shopping that the upper mountains have to offer. The eye of an artist appears throughout our wonderful, intimate and sensitive sanctuary. Come & experience Old Leura Dairy ...Where our goal is for our guests to leave taking "something" with them; an experience, a memory, an inspiration, a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Leura Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Leura Dairy Hotel Leura
Old Leura Dairy Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing