We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moo Manor was delightful!”
Review of Old Leura Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Leura Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Moo Manor was delightful!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here as 2 couples and decided on Moo Manor. What a charming and delightful place! We only stayed one night, but will definitely be back. It's a cute place, with 6 different places to choose from, ranging from a studio for two, to a 5-bedroom house for larger groups. Moo Manor was perfect for 2 couples, with 2.5 bathrooms, 2 bedroom (both with king-size beds), living room, separate sitting room, fully equipped kitchen, and balcony. The place had a view of the life-sized chess game below, and the jacuzzi was just a few short steps away. The free wi-fi was a nice bonus. Old Leura Dairy was such a wonderful place to stay, and close to Leura's Main Street and Katoomba next door, it's the perfect Blue Mountains retreat. We will definitely be back. :)

Room Tip: Moo Manor was perfect for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of Moo Manor and your overall brief description of Old Leura Dairy.

I do agree with your title "Moo Manor is delightful!"

So glad that you found us and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Linda Hukins
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in The Studio and loved it so much we booked an extra night while we were there. It was charming, clean, and had everything you could possibly wish for – a clawfoot bath, its own little terrace with a barbecue and, of course, the nearby hot tub which was the perfect way to end our activity-filled days in the Blue Mountains. We absolutely loved the recycled factor – an old metal cooking pot for a sink; a table made from a vintage sewing machine; an oven door the door of the wooden cupboard etc. The staff were super friendly, helpful and very discreet and it really is a totally wonderful away-from-it-all home-from-home bolt-hole...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsterholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at Old Leura Dairy as part of a group. Most of us were very impressed and agreed it was comfortable, charming & rustic. However rustic should not extend to the hot tub.
Eeeeko friendly??? well it bleached my black bikini brown. Also temperature was not hot
enough and the water felt and smelt dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that for the most part your group was impressed by Old Leura Dairy.

It is such a shame that you didn’t enjoy our hot tub as the overall consensus of feedback we receive is that the hot tub is a wonderful experience whilst staying with us.

The maintenance of our hot tub is a priority of ours with readings and recordings taken several times daily as well as thorough cleaning done routinely.
It is noted in all of our cottage manuals that if our guests intend to use the hot tub we recommend that the temperature of the water is checked prior to use. If it is felt that the temperature could have dropped our guests can switch on the pump to heat the water and raise the temperature. This information is also noted in our important information documents which are emailed at the time of making a booking.

If this procedure is followed the water temperature of the hot tub is very pleasant.

Kind regards,
Linda Hukins, Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the old dairy as part of a work trip. We could have stayed in a 5 star hotel but were instead put up this some might say alternative accommodation. It was a real experience to stay here, it's like self catering without the effort. A huge amount of thought has gone into the dairy, we stayed in the "milking shed" which had a main lounge/kitchen and then the bed is the hayloft up stairs. Staying in mid winter we made use of the wood burner which gave the place an extremely warm and welcoming feel. It is an extremely quiet area. The entire place has a heavily rustic feel to it with paint artistically peeling of the doors, blankets stored in a beaten up old metal box. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting get away from the usual bland chain hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

The Milking Shed is one of the original buildings of the dairy and it does have a gorgeous rustic appeal. Very comfortable and very charming.

Thank you for your recommendations for those that are looking for a unique venue that offers quite a memorable experience.

Kind regards
Linda Hukins, Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with our two children at Moo Manor. Perfectly appointed with everything you would ever need, great outdoor deck with BBQ, open fire, two lounge areas, large dining table and spacious modern kitchen. Wonderful shabby chic decor and beautiful serene surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyable!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank familyhols_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband researched this place and requested our travel agent book it. It was an amazing place. It was quiet, relaxing, and just plain fabulous! Quaint and inspiring the way everything was recycled and repurposed. Breakfast was organic museli, fruit, butter and jam, fresh bread, and milk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caboothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Old Leura Dairy for a work conference with 12 colleagues. We have taken up 4 of the buildings onsite and have had a blissful 3 night stay here. While our days have been filled with meetings, the gardens, the peace and quiet and the luxury accommodation have hardly made it feel like work at all. The staff are unobtrusive but obliging; i have hardly seen any of them but our accomodation has been serviced when we return. We walked into Leura for dinner last night and contrary to some other posts it was a relatively short and enjoyable walk even though its on the other side of the GWH, so no trouble really. It is uphill on the way in, but all downhill on the way back. The Straw Bale house is large enough to accommodate 3 families and its a great location for exploring all the mountains have to offer. Congrats to the management team who have done a great job with a beautiful and charming establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berowramum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Front Office Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
We all take great pride in what we offer at Old Leura Dairy and it is truly wonderful to receive such positive feedback. We will be sure to pass it on to the entire team.
We hope you left feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and inspired!

All the best
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.0 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Leura Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Leura Dairy

Property: Old Leura Dairy
Address: 61 Kings Rd | Blue Mountains, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Leura Dairy 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Leura Dairy is leading the way in Australia's luxury, boutique, eco accommodation; offering a unique and exclusive travel experience in the beautiful World Heritage Blue Mountains. Nestled in the quaint village of Leura you are central to all the rugged beauty, attractions, dining experiences, pampering and shopping that the upper mountains have to offer. The eye of an artist appears throughout our wonderful, intimate and sensitive sanctuary. Come & experience Old Leura Dairy ...Where our goal is for our guests to leave taking "something" with them; an experience, a memory, an inspiration, a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Leura Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Leura Dairy Hotel Leura
Old Leura Dairy Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing