We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Leura Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Leura Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent a fantastic weekend with friends, 15 of us in total at Old Leura Dairy. We had a great time creating gourmet meals in the well equiped kitchen, great comfy sofas and beds all set amongst buildings with great character very cleverly decorated to create a unique spot in the Blue Mountains. I enjoyed eating my breakfast in the sunny courtyard watching the beautiful native birds enjoying themselves in the garden who could ask for more. Hope we get the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much and do hope we have the opportunity to wecome you back once again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
58
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were blown away by how charming and lovely the Buttercup Barn is the moment we pulled up to the driveway. We booked for a night and it was with regret that we had to leave the next day! Old Leura Dairy was nestled in an residential area but we felt as if we were way out in the countryside. We had complete privacy to ourselves, Old Leura Dairy had thought of everything and put everything in place to ensure that we kept that privacy. I loved the information booklet and Blue Mountain brochures, we found everything we need/wanted to know in it!

We were amazed and extremely impressed with both the interior and exterior of the building. I felt so comfortable and at home (a rare feeling to be experienced while travelling!), it made me forget about everything else and I felt great just enjoying being in the barn. The electric BBQ was a great addition, along with the table bench outside the barn. I had a great time eating and having coffee with my friend outside.

Old Leura Dairy is pricer than most places but I reckon that the price was well worth it! I will definitely want to visit again when the opportunity rises!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and others. We are delighted that you loved Old Leura Dairy and our little piece of paradise so much that you regretted not staying longer, that is the highest compliment!
Our aim is for our cottages to feel like a home away from home, a place to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. We wish to offer our guests a wonderful experience and from your comments I feel we have achieved this. We are thrilled.
I hope your opportunity to visit us again is sooner rather than later, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Old Leura Dairy is the star of any workshop or holiday you may have in the Blue Mountains. I have tried spotting the people who run it but i think they are akin to Lepracorns! The buildings are recycled timber done in the most elegant, tasteful, charming way it's hard to describe. Just when you think the tin under the bench is rusty old metal you are swept into massive timber beams, beautiful tiles, north facing solar passive, high ceilings, bathrooms with old baths, rendered straw bale, simplicity, glass, decks. Like Dylan says in Blood on the Tracks (Shelter from the Storm), "beauty walks a razors edge someday I'll make it mine." The Straw Bale house sleeps ten and has a great kitchen well stocked and where many hands can make light work. As a conference space it's great for up to twenty. The Moo manor is also great conference space. Just changes the game. Leura residents are going there for their annual holidays cutting down on fuel bills. However, beware, can be a bit boring after five years, I can vouch for that!

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness centre are in Katoomba, I am not kidding. It'a great for couples and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielM358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a lot of expectations from Leura when coming in, given the high ratings and the general feedback on this property. All of our expectations were met. The cottage is quaint, with well appointed rooms, lovely linen and a fantastic kitchenette that has every facility that you think you would need. There are small nick-knacks in the cottage that each tell their own little story. There is something for everyone here; we were 2 families with a child, and all of us had a wonderful one night stay. We were sad to leave the next day, if only it were less heavy on the wallet, we would have stayed more!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank apso0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Worker's Cottage that fit 6 people and this was a lovely little place with full facilities - fire place, heaters, kitchen. Quite old fashioned so you feel like you are at a get away.
Gardens are lovely and you feel like you are well away from anything city like, busy and more like another era.
Its also all eco friendly which blew me away and I left quite inspired about small changes I could make to my home.
The staff were also super friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had booked in for 2 nights in The Studio. Forget the descriptions and all the gushing reviews as it is little more than a wooden shed with a corrugated metal cladding and roof. It is cramped (no room to open our 2 suitcases), has nowhere comfortable to sit other than two ancient wooden chairs which have been shabbily painted. The "dining table" was a plank of wood on an old sewing machine base. The kitchen area was very tiny and as for the sink, well we've seen larger ones in a caravan!!! The microwave above head height was positively dangerous. The room was basically clean, but there were dead insects around the windows and in the bath. The barbecue was new and virtually unused and we cooked on it but struggled to find enough space on the table to eat dinner, and the outside table and chairs were unusable because it was pouring with rain. The private parking facility could not be recommended for anything less than a 4x4 vehicle. Risk of damage to any other vehicle is almost a certainty. This was pointed out by the person who booked us in, so of course you then have to struggle up various steps and through pathways with your luggage. We had no sleep due to rain on the tin roof and then sqawking parakeets and other birds from 3 a.m. onwards. The properties are in the middle of a housing estate a long way from Leura centre. We checked out after the first night and would NEVER go back or recommend.

Room Tip: Dont' bother - find somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that 'Roamingroto' had such an unexpected experience at our property. Unfortunately they brought none of their concerns to our attention while they were with us and therefore we did not have the opportunity to address them. We were not even aware that they 'checked out' as they simply left without any advice to us.

We are a 'specialty' property with a distinct character that does not fit into the square box. The heading of Roamingroto's comment probably sums it up well in that we are not for everyone. An unfortunate situation when a booking is made through a travel agent is that it can sometimes be sold to a client that we really don't suit. However those that appreciate what we offer LOVE it, our return guest bookings and word of mouth bookings are in the vicinity of 80% which is exceptionally high.

We're not sure what is meant by a 'housing estate'. Old Leura Dairy is located in a residential area approximately 1 kilometer from the main shopping street of the village. We provide accurate imagery, information, and noted amenities on our property on all our marketing vehicles. Apart from their challenge of personal taste in general, we cetainly don't support the claim that they were advised in the context of a '4 X 4 vehicle' being the only vehicle that does not risk damage in parking. We do point out that lower than average cars may need to take the driveway at an angle.

Lastly I would like to comment that we have just had a very well known British celebrity stay with us in The Studio. She liked it so much that her entry into our guestbook ended up in the Sydney paper (not our doing) and she recommended us to one of her exceptionally high profile celebrity friends to come and stay with us (which she and her celebrity fiancé did). We have also recently hosted the US Ambassador to Australia and his booking came to us through positive word of mouth. We think this speaks highly to the quality and experience of Old Leura Dairy.
Linda Hukins
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for one night in the studio and it was really to short! Old Leura Dairy is a beautiful place. The room was very clean and furnished with attention to detail. The hot tub is enjoyable after making a bushwalk through the blue mountains.

Room Tip: The studio is worth the money and perfect for couples (romantic and cozy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Leura Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Leura Dairy

Property: Old Leura Dairy
Address: 61 Kings Rd | Blue Mountains, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Leura Dairy 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Leura Dairy is leading the way in Australia's luxury, boutique, eco accommodation; offering a unique and exclusive travel experience in the beautiful World Heritage Blue Mountains. Nestled in the quaint village of Leura you are central to all the rugged beauty, attractions, dining experiences, pampering and shopping that the upper mountains have to offer. The eye of an artist appears throughout our wonderful, intimate and sensitive sanctuary. Come & experience Old Leura Dairy ...Where our goal is for our guests to leave taking "something" with them; an experience, a memory, an inspiration, a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Old Leura Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Leura Dairy Hotel Leura
Old Leura Dairy Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing