We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Leura Dairy
Nearby Hotels
$130
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort(Leura)(Great Value!)
$110
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$94
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$93
$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$95
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
77
25
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
25
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuttercup barnmoo manorhot tubmilking shedrecycled materialsstraw baleclaw foot bathmodern kitchenapricot jamquirky place to stayblue mountainsmountain attractionsleura townbrilliant locationperfect familyfamily gatheringcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were blown away by how charming and lovely the Buttercup Barn is the moment we pulled up to the driveway. We booked for a night and it was with regret that we had to leave the next day! Old Leura Dairy was nestled in an residential area but we felt as if we were way out in the countryside. We had complete privacy to ourselves, Old Leura Dairy had thought of everything and put everything in place to ensure that we kept that privacy. I loved the information booklet and Blue Mountain brochures, we found everything we need/wanted to know in it!

We were amazed and extremely impressed with both the interior and exterior of the building. I felt so comfortable and at home (a rare feeling to be experienced while travelling!), it made me forget about everything else and I felt great just enjoying being in the barn. The electric BBQ was a great addition, along with the table bench outside the barn. I had a great time eating and having coffee with my friend outside.

Old Leura Dairy is pricer than most places but I reckon that the price was well worth it! I will definitely want to visit again when the opportunity rises!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and others. We are delighted that you loved Old Leura Dairy and our little piece of paradise so much that you regretted not staying longer, that is the highest compliment!
Our aim is for our cottages to feel like a home away from home, a place to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. We wish to offer our guests a wonderful experience and from your comments I feel we have achieved this. We are thrilled.
I hope your opportunity to visit us again is sooner rather than later, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Old Leura Dairy is the star of any workshop or holiday you may have in the Blue Mountains. I have tried spotting the people who run it but i think they are akin to Lepracorns! The buildings are recycled timber done in the most elegant, tasteful, charming way it's hard to describe. Just when you think the tin under the bench is rusty old metal you are swept into massive timber beams, beautiful tiles, north facing solar passive, high ceilings, bathrooms with old baths, rendered straw bale, simplicity, glass, decks. Like Dylan says in Blood on the Tracks (Shelter from the Storm), "beauty walks a razors edge someday I'll make it mine." The Straw Bale house sleeps ten and has a great kitchen well stocked and where many hands can make light work. As a conference space it's great for up to twenty. The Moo manor is also great conference space. Just changes the game. Leura residents are going there for their annual holidays cutting down on fuel bills. However, beware, can be a bit boring after five years, I can vouch for that!

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness centre are in Katoomba, I am not kidding. It'a great for couples and friends too. i could only choose one. there are smaller cottages in the complex.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielM358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a lot of expectations from Leura when coming in, given the high ratings and the general feedback on this property. All of our expectations were met. The cottage is quaint, with well appointed rooms, lovely linen and a fantastic kitchenette that has every facility that you think you would need. There are small nick-knacks in the cottage that each tell their own little story. There is something for everyone here; we were 2 families with a child, and all of us had a wonderful one night stay. We were sad to leave the next day, if only it were less heavy on the wallet, we would have stayed more!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank apso0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Worker's Cottage that fit 6 people and this was a lovely little place with full facilities - fire place, heaters, kitchen. Quite old fashioned so you feel like you are at a get away.
Gardens are lovely and you feel like you are well away from anything city like, busy and more like another era.
Its also all eco friendly which blew me away and I left quite inspired about small changes I could make to my home.
The staff were also super friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had booked in for 2 nights in The Studio. Forget the descriptions and all the gushing reviews as it is little more than a wooden shed with a corrugated metal cladding and roof. It is cramped (no room to open our 2 suitcases), has nowhere comfortable to sit other than two ancient wooden chairs which have been shabbily painted. The "dining table" was a plank of wood on an old sewing machine base. The kitchen area was very tiny and as for the sink, well we've seen larger ones in a caravan!!! The microwave above head height was positively dangerous. The room was basically clean, but there were dead insects around the windows and in the bath. The barbecue was new and virtually unused and we cooked on it but struggled to find enough space on the table to eat dinner, and the outside table and chairs were unusable because it was pouring with rain. The private parking facility could not be recommended for anything less than a 4x4 vehicle. Risk of damage to any other vehicle is almost a certainty. This was pointed out by the person who booked us in, so of course you then have to struggle up various steps and through pathways with your luggage. We had no sleep due to rain on the tin roof and then sqawking parakeets and other birds from 3 a.m. onwards. The properties are in the middle of a housing estate a long way from Leura centre. We checked out after the first night and would NEVER go back or recommend.

Room Tip: Dont' bother - find somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We are extremely sorry to hear that 'Roamingroto' had such an unexpected experience at our property. Unfortunately they brought none of their concerns to our attention while they were with us and therefore we did not have the opportunity to address them. We were not even aware that they 'checked out' as they simply left without any advice to us.

We are a 'specialty' property with a distinct character that does not fit into the square box. The heading of Roamingroto's comment probably sums it up well in that we are not for everyone. An unfortunate situation when a booking is made through a travel agent is that it can sometimes be sold to a client that we really don't suit. However those that appreciate what we offer LOVE it, our return guest bookings and word of mouth bookings are in the vicinity of 80% which is exceptionally high.

We're not sure what is meant by a 'housing estate'. Old Leura Dairy is located in a residential area approximately 1 kilometer from the main shopping street of the village. We provide accurate imagery, information, and noted amenities on our property on all our marketing vehicles. Apart from their challenge of personal taste in general, we cetainly don't support the claim that they were advised in the context of a '4 X 4 vehicle' being the only vehicle that does not risk damage in parking. We do point out that lower than average cars may need to take the driveway at an angle.

Lastly I would like to comment that we have just had a very well known British celebrity stay with us in The Studio. She liked it so much that her entry into our guestbook ended up in the Sydney paper (not our doing) and she recommended us to one of her exceptionally high profile celebrity friends to come and stay with us (which she and her celebrity fiancé did). We have also recently hosted the US Ambassador to Australia and his booking came to us through positive word of mouth. We think this speaks highly to the quality and experience of Old Leura Dairy.
Linda Hukins
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews